'Massacre in Tivoli Gardens?' - NDM

still, we saw pictures of a soldier lorry, 2 in fact!, taking bodies in coffins to May Pen cemetery. they say it's standard practice to get rid of bodies before they rot.

OK!
    ...so as far as you know those were bodies of...?

The jury is still out on that Jawge, wether the operation failed or not.

I am still not sure about the report that only 4 guns were found. I saw a report where Nelson suggested it was a lot more, including bulletproof vests and other such equipment.

Let us wait and see.

It undermines any subsequent investigations into those particular deaths, my question with so many bodies what is the selection process, the ones that are more conclusive, women, children?
        The presence of the security forces in May Pen... is however welcome, they should be digging up bodies not burying them.

Blessed

Well at least some time is being bought. Why? if those thugs were allowed to operate without opposition from the security forces, Ja would have imploded, hence success in that direction.

The jury is still out on that Jawge, wether the operation failed or not.

I am still not sure about the report that only 4 guns were found. I saw a report where Nelson suggested it was a lot more, including bulletproof vests and other such equipment.

Let us wait and see.
            ...plus police uniforms, etc.

What was the primary objective(stated and otherwise) of the operation?
              Yeah FAILED!

Blessed

Agreed, but it will only have been worth it if some long-term change begins as a result of this.

True, those long term change would require empowering the local populace economically (to blunt the lure of the Dons). I just don't see that happening in Ja right now.

It can BEGIN right now though. Has to start some day if there is any hope whatsoever.

Yes but it won't. Not wanting this argument to take a political slant but look at the way Portia (who is symbolic of the general populace) was treated? A buffon and dunce. I even see post on this site calling her higgler (nothing wrong with being and higgler though; to me a higgler is someone with excellent business skills but without opportunity).In short the disdain for the general populace (i'm sure you can think in the abstract and understand symbolism) The truth is some are just happy that the dragon has been slain because they couldn't control it anymore.

Don't look for any sweeping changes akin to 1972 where the populace had a chance at economic empowerment.

Well I will leave that history for you and Maudib to debate.

All I know is it is a time for everybody who wants the best for Jamaica to give some thought to what they can do (or what more) to help start the change.

"Nothing will ever change" is too defeatist for me.

What if I tell you that the people's chances lie in that security initiative that the US is offering. Think about it deeply with your knowlwdge of Ja and how Ja operates.

Which security initiative? Well them can start by using their vaunted technology to find the fugitive that has caused all this upheaval.

Then again them still nuh find Bin Laden.

huh ?

Economic empowerment ??

What was the plan then, re-distribution of existing wealth ?