• One Don arises - Let my people go!

Only One Don in a Tivoli now.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...ead/lead1.html

Let my people go!

Published: Thursday | May 27, 2010 0 Comments and 0 Reactions

A woman searches through items yesterday at the entrance to a wholesale store located at the intersection of West and East Queen streets which was looted as downtown Kingston was rocked by gun battles between gangsters and the security forces. - Ricardo Makyn/Staff Photographer

Seaga

1 2 >
    //Define: ContentSlider("slider_ID", [autorotate_miliseconds], [custompaginatelinkstext], [customnextlinktext]) ContentSlider("slider1", 15000) //OR ContentSlider("slider1", 10000) //OR ContentSlider("slider1", 3000, linktextarray) //OR ContentSlider("slider1", 3000, linktextarray, "Foward") //OR ContentSlider("slider1", "", linktextarray) //OR ContentSlider("slider1", "", "", "Foward")
    Mark Beckford, Staff Reporter Former Prime Minister Edward Seaga criticised the Government yesterday for betraying its vow to protect residents of embattled Tivoli Gardens, arguing that the assault by the security forces had caused widespread suffering for the most vulnerable.
    Seaga, the former member of parliament for West Kingston who has been praised as the ideological architect of Tivoli Gardens, demanded that the lockdown be lifted to grant trapped residents access to food and medication.
    "I am absolutely not happy. This is not what the minister of national security promised. He promised the people that they would not be harmed, and now they are fearful and starving for food and drink," he told The Gleaner yesterday.
    "The Government should lift the embargo they have over the area and allow the people to leave to look for food and drink," he continued.
    Seaga, who represented the West Kingston constituency - in which Tivoli Gardens is located - for more than 40 years, said he had been receiving calls from his former constituents about their ordeal.
    "People have been calling for food and water, that they are not allowed to leave, and that they are penned in. It is a desperate situation and they are calling me. But I am powerless. I tell them to contact their member of parliament (Bruce Golding)," he said.
    The army and the police attacked gunmen who had barricaded Tivoli to prevent them from arresting suspected drug lord Christopher 'Dudus' Coke.
    Seaga was the leader of the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) for more than 30 years and was replaced in 2005 by Golding, the current prime minister, who represents Tivoli Gardens in Parliament.
    Seaga, who is still involved in the affairs of Tivoli Gardens through his chairmanship of its football team, said the ongoing offensive echoed the July 2001 security operation, which claimed more than two dozen lives.
    Then, security forces, led by retired Senior Superintendent of Police Reneto Adams, invaded Tivoli, looking for gunmen and weapons.
    Seaga had criticised Adams' operation as "an atrocity of the worst order".
    The ex-prime minister also rejected claims that he was responsible for Tivoli Gardens morphing into what former army chief Rear Admiral Hardley Lewin described as "the mother of all garrisons". Tivoli has been labelled an untouchable crime den from which gangsters have extorted businesses, peddled drugs and killed mercilessly.
    Said Seaga of that assessment: "The work that I put in was not to create any community of that sort. What I wanted to do was to create a model community, including all the social amenities you would want. These included a maternity centre, a basic school and a primary school. This is what I created."
    Seaga, who is a distinguished fellow of the University of the West Indies, said the genesis of Tivoli's notoriety lay in its resistance to strongmen from adjoining areas who felt it might sway People's National Party supporters to switch to the JLP.
    He said Tivoli Gardens residents had been forced to defend themselves in the past.
    "You don't make decisions for the people of West Kingston. There is not one person in Jamaica who could make a decision for them, and the people made a decision to defend themselves. If it was I there, or if Santa Claus was there, they would have made the same natural decision to defend themselves," he said.
    When asked if he had received any information about the whereabouts of Coke, the subject of the operation, Seaga said, "I haven't got a clue. Mr Coke is not my concern. My concern is the people."
    mark.beckford@gleanerjm.com

Redy fi rebuild it Eddie ? Yuh see the narco political terroristic potential so many young ignorants desperate brutes waiting to be used.

Ripe fi Eddie ! Laborite a cuss laborite ...lolol

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

The legacy salvation project has commenced.

what kinda journalist dis? "defend themselves", with what licenced firearms? so he doesn't know coke? what does he know of coke? what about the funding to build these amenities, where did that come from?

Did you see how Daryl looked a the CVM fellow grilling him the other night? The look alone said "Hey fellow enough now okay..."

never saw it, but he must have been as nervous as a long tailed cat in a room full of rocking chairs!

Tivoli still looks better than most "ghetto" communities in JA.

http://cdn.cloudfiles.mosso.com/c54102/x2_170e995

That really could be anywhere - Spanish Town (Tawes Pen?), Jungle?

High rise building don't mean a ting!

In terms of housing, in a country when nuff people still live in wood shacks, I disagree.

In terms of violence, opportunities, yes.

Dam - I though the place was maintained by the JLP!

true, but my point is, Tivoli is really not much better than many other ghettos in terms of infrastructure.

they can pay people $100,000 per day to fight for Dudus, but...

Gamma, Gamma, Gamma....give us a better one than that....more Jamaican...please.

ok .... fiyah deh a mus mus tail him tink a cool breeze!