• Tivoli residents plead for help

Tivoli residents plead for help

Published: Tuesday | May 25, 2010 0 Comments and 0 Reactions

A little boy holds his sister's hand as they navigate around a road block on Mark Lane in Kingston yesterday. Children's advocate Mary Clarke has urged parents to protect their kids.

Residents of Tivoli Gardens took to the airwaves appealing for help yesterday afternoon as the security forces moved determinedly to take back the streets from thugs who had established defence positions across west Kingston for almost one week.
    With the Jamaica Defence Force leading the push into the barricaded community, residents claimed that excessive force was being used against all and sundry.

"A nuff shot dem a fire and all bomb a drop from helicopter," said one caller to our news centre.

"Me hear say me daughter-in-law dead and all people house bomb down. Dem a go kill we off in yah and decent people live yah," another woman said, in tears.

"A true me neva have nowhere fi come out go. Me 'fraid, me 'fraid, me 'fraid," added the woman as she held her phone close to the window to allow the news team to listen to the explosions.

"Where is the prime minister? Him is we member of parliament and now that them a kill we, him not here. When them want votes, them come down here come party, but now that the police dem a kill we, nobody not here.

"Call Bruce for we, call Bruce for we," said the woman in reference to member of parliament for the area, Prime Minister Bruce Golding.
    last call

The police had repeatedly appealed to women and children in Tivoli Gardens to leave the community as it became clear that militants were determined not to remove the blockades they had mounted.

On Sunday, as the criminals reinforced the blockades and attacked four police stations, the cops provided buses to transport women and children from Tivoli Gardens and Denham Town but residents told The Gleaner that they were unable to leave.

Some persons claimed that if they left, they would not be able to return to their community. Others pointed to the danger they would be exposed to if they were to attempt the more than 400-metre trek along Industrial Terrace to get to the buses.

Up to press time, the security forces did not reveal how many civilians - including insurgents - had been killed in Tivoli Gardens.

Insurgents!!! we have insurgents now, lol. Gunman get international title now, lol.

Its a pity the Tivoli women could not see what was to come before they came out in their hundreds to boast that they would die for Dudus. Sheeps being led to the slaughter by Dudus and his republican guards.

DiGlor if someone pays our kids school fees, and puts food on your table, then we would be no different from those women.

It seems like the military, which is less corrupted is the ideal organization to root out gangs and dismantle garrisons. There WILL be a significant power vacuum after "peace" is restored, and non-governmental institutions need to step in and assist the survivors since the Gov't will once again allow its responsibilities to be usurped by a future gang leader, aka Don.

Well my Grandma use to tell me nuh tek nothing from nuh criminal.
          We walk barefoot go a school even when we can't buy textbook. A time to stop live behind we means and start LIVE.

I wish that these kids don't have to repeat the vicious cycle that they are in.

I have said it before that I am sure that not every single one who were there had a choice and those who were more upfront could have been those who did not know of any other existence but from hand outs from the Dons... I noticed the women who spoke on camera were all young, no older than mid 30s..

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                DiGlor if someone pays our kids school fees, and puts food on your table, then we would be no different from those women.

This is where personal responsibilty comes in. There must be a re-education of people in these areas. As people living in a society we have rights and responsibilties. People must take responsibilty for the choices they make and the children they produce. If you can't afford to clothe, feed or send 5 children to school, then you don't have 5, you have 1 or 2. The few dollars Dudus gives them is worth their freedom and possibly their life?

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
                  Tivoli residents plead for help

Published: Tuesday | May 25, 2010 0 Comments and 0 Reactions

this picture should get some kinda award. it's deep.

I just hope these children survive and have a decent future freed of the cluthches of dons and politicians..to hell with awards

lionpaw...you sentimental old soul....agree though. you must have an artistic soul.

All these radio calllers saying is only soldier and police troubling people.

Suh is how these soldiers and police getting shot at.

so unnuh nuh know say lion have heart?

Originally posted by MissLondon View Post
                            This is where personal responsibilty comes in. There must be a re-education of people in these areas. As people living in a society we have rights and responsibilties. People must take responsibilty for the choices they make and the children they produce. If you can't afford to clothe, feed or send 5 children to school, then you don't have 5, you have 1 or 2. The few dollars Dudus gives them is worth their freedom and possibly their life?

Quite so! If you can't afford to help yourself, why have 5 children. Family Planning has been a staple in Jamaican society since the 60's - thanks to Dr. Lenworth Jacobs (an alumni of my school) and his wife Beth.

Guess the "Two is better than two many" ad campaign didn't work?