• Portia wants civilian oversight of State of Emergency

Portia wants civilian oversight of State of Emergency

Monday, May 24, 2010

var addthis_pub="jamaicaobserver";

Opposition leader, Portia Simpson Miller yesterday urged Prime Minister Bruce Golding to establish a civilian oversight committee to monitor the State of Piublic Emergency, at the same time offering her support.
    In a letter to Golding, she said that the People's National Party (PNP) had taken note of the declaration of a State of Public Emergency in Kingston and St Andrew, but noted the party's alarm "that no curfew was imposed in any of those areas while breaches of the public order were allowed to escalate". This took place in certain communities with targeted criminal groups taking the attack to the security forces.

Residents of West Kingston look on as police flood the area yesterday. (Photo: Bryan Cummings

"We note also that powers that are exercisable under a state of pubic emergency are extremely wide and therefore it is of the utmost importance that the public be advised as to the regulations that are intended to be promulgated. It would be of public interest as to whether the full range of those powers is to be employed and whether, for example, media communication and freedom of speech are to be affected.

"I would urge that a civilian oversight mechanism be established to monitor the application of the emergency powers by the security forces. Should you accept this suggestion I stand ready to consult with you regarding any other proposal and the composition of the oversight body.

"I would urge that the State of Public Emergency be rescinded once the immediate threat to public security has been removed."

Comments

Dorlan H. Francis
    5/24/2010

When the trump- up one was declared on the 19 June 1976 by Michael Manley and the rest of you was there civilian oversight? When the August 2007 one was declared by you was there civilian oversight? It is hypocritical comments like this that has caused our country to come to what it has. This STATE of EMERGENCY has not gone far enough. It is WEAK. It should have been ALL ISLAND and indefinate. And should have been used to deal with the crime and murder problem once and for all.

com_count++;Brad Kerr
    5/24/2010

STATE OF EMERGENCY IN KINGSTON AND ST. ANDREW. This an amazing development. Mr. Matalon thinks we need consensus, I say we need guts. The residents of Tivoli must come their senses and rebel against their MP, and President. The Armed forces need to assault Tivoli and let the chips fall where they may.There is no need for a consensus on this issue. Bruce was governing Jamaica like a single party state, so he does not need the backing of the opposition. People that he has continually shown contempt in Parliament.@ Simply Saying name calling with not help this situation. Bruce Golding and his party created this anarchy, its his job to fix, he was elected to lead Jamaica not just Tivoli. The JLP 's silence on situation in TIVOLI IS DEAFENING. They are hoping the nation font have the stomach for an assault on TG, thus presi walk freely. No sir on this issue all law abiding Jamaicans have a consensus, Dudus must be arrested and brought to the courts. If not, worst is yet to come.

com_count++;Simply Saying
    5/24/2010

Madam Jezebel: This is no time for your grandstanding. No p!&&ing through yu mout now!!! Get with your shadow cabinet and come up with an honest-to-goodness plan and sit down and plan with the Prime Minister to design a strategy that is in the best interest of the people of Jamaica- not your constituencies, your constituents or your "Don Men". This is beyond the business of the GOJ. The PSOJ needs to also haul ass and now!!! Genuine attempts now! DO YOU HAVE ANY IDEA WHAT YOU HAVE DONE? ALL OF YOU? Get off your corrupt asses and fix this now!!!! You let a man...one man bring this country to its knees in front of the bleeping world!!!! How mi fi hol' mi head up a wok in a bakkra man country tiday????

com_count++;Brooklyn Jamaican
    5/24/2010

Portia, low di police mek dem do dem ting. Last thing we need is talking heads standing over the police back.

she knows why! as pointed out before she was invlolved in a couple of SOEs.

Her hands are very much tainted.

but there is nothing wrong with the statement.

portia needs to stay out of the fray... now is not the time to attempt to play politics...

But that is the nature of a politician.

In Jamaica, POLITICIAN, is a full time occupation, a profession..dont you know?

Oh shut up!!!

was it necessary?

i don't think it was necessary... portia appears to be grasping at relevance...

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
                      portia needs to stay out of the fray... now is not the time to attempt to play politics...
                      Thank you Baddaz!

But that is the nature of a politician.

In Jamaica, POLITICIAN, is a full time occupation, a profession..dont you know?

..And it's the ********************ed-up nature of politicians that put us where we are right now.

how exactly is she playing politics?

si di bes comment yah...enuff bellyaching...time fi a coordinated plan:

Madam Jezebel: This is no time for your grandstanding. No p!&&ing through yu mout now!!! Get with your shadow cabinet and come up with an honest-to-goodness plan and sit down and plan with the Prime Minister to design a strategy that is in the best interest of the people of Jamaica- not your constituencies, your constituents or your "Don Men". This is beyond the business of the GOJ. The PSOJ needs to also haul ass and now!!! Genuine attempts now! DO YOU HAVE ANY IDEA WHAT YOU HAVE DONE? ALL OF YOU? Get off your corrupt asses and fix this now!!!! You let a man...one man bring this country to its knees in front of the bleeping world!!!! How mi fi hol' mi head up a wok in a bakkra man country tiday????

again, how is she playing politics. i think she said the right things. and how do you explain no curfew in the affected areas?