Jamaica and conflict of interest

• Jamaica and conflict of interest

Where does our constitution protects us in a case like this .

A lawyer represents a Drug Baron on an extradiction case , he is also a JLP senator affiliated to the ruling government that is embrioled in a fight against said extradiction.

Out of no-where the extradiction gets singed , the governments goes after the Drug baron and the lawyer resigns from defending the Drug Baron.

You see the problem with our shitstem , a man can choose when it is a conflict of interest to his interest , not the nation, individual or citizens without any worry of penal penalty.

WEAK CONSTITUITION , and wi waah 1st world status ...lol

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

isn't it innocent until proven guility? How will the law defend that? Many of the politicians are lawyers currently practising. Yes he can do the right thing in the public interest but I doubt any constitution can change that.

KD knight is also representing Kern and the Lawyer bredda from St. Anns is representing Hibberts and until they are proven guilty there is nothing you can do unless you are going to say no practising lawyer can't be in the house or cabinet.

what does innocence have to do with conflict of interest?!?!

You do live in America ? You do know they have judicial laws that have penalties for such conflict of interest ?

Which planet are you from ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

The fact is how can you legislate that specific law when the lawyer who resign was not even before the Jamaican court. He claims he is defending an innocent man. In the public interest he should resign but I know if say it was an "innocent" man he was represent there would be no conflict.

The fact is our politicians and people have to use better judgement.

Dis bredda serious ????? People like you dem will always tek fi fool.

Show me the law. People act as judge and lawyer at the same time. They can advice any client, only thing is if they are judge they can't go before the court.

The case is now before the court and the lawyer resign.

Again tell me what law can you legislate

Boss guh study yuh books , mi nuh ave nuh time fi it dis mawning !

Sass, I will not even comment on what you just said.

And by the way, Don Foote, his new lawyer, is also a JLP man and has run for office as recently as the last election.

Do you think there is a conflict of interest there?

He is not representing the government so he has all right to challenge them in court.

Is KD also a conflict? as a member of her majesty opposition represent an accuse of crimes against the state?

There is a small line between representing the guilty and the innocent. While we want politican to do what in the public interest we can't determine that they only represent people who are presumed innocent.

Thank the Lord fi google ....Bwoy mi a tell some man

http://www.uscourts.gov/RulesAndPoli...OfConduct.aspx

Code of Conduct for United States Judges

Federal judges abide by the Code of Conduct for United States Judges, a set of ethical principles and guidelines adopted by the Judicial Conference of the United States. The Code of Conduct provides guidance for judges on issues of judicial integrity and independence, judicial diligence and impartiality, permissible extra-judicial activities, and the avoidance of impropriety or even its appearance.

Judges may not hear cases in which they have either personal knowledge of the disputed facts, a personal bias concerning a party to the case, earlier involvement in the case as a lawyer, or a financial interest in any party or subject matter of the case.

Conflicts of interest related to the practice of law

In the legal profession, the duty of loyalty owed to a client prohibits an attorney (or a law firm) from representing any other party with interests adverse to those of a current client. The few exceptions to this rule require informed written consent from all affected clients. In some circumstances, a conflict of interest can never be waived by a client. In perhaps the most common example encountered by the general public, the same firm should not represent both parties in a divorce or child custody case.

A prohibited or undisclosed representation involving a conflict of interest can subject an attorney to disciplinary hearings, the denial or disgorgement of legal fees, or in some cases (such as the failure to make mandatory disclosure), criminal proceedings. In the United States, a law firm usually cannot represent a client if its interests conflict with those of another client, even if they have separate lawyers within the firm, unless (in some jurisdicitions) the lawyer is segregated from the rest of the firm for the duration of the conflict. Law firms often employ software in conjunction with their case management and accounting systems in order to meet their duties to monitor their conflict of interest exposure and to assist in obtaining waivers.

Many federal judges devote time to public service and educational activities. They have a distinguished history of service to the legal profession through their writing, speaking, and teaching. This important role is recognized in the Code of Conduct, which encourages judges to engage in activities to improve the law, the legal system, and the administration of justice.
                        Last edited by Karl; May 23, 2010, 01:14 PM.

Is he representing the Party ? Boss yuh and Bruce a fren ?

mi just tell you that before down a the bottom. They can advise you but can't take anything before the court.

Again did Dudus lawyer who resign went before the court? No he resigned right before it had to go to court.

Yes there is a moral compass but not everything can be legislated.

a government senator...yuh know what, i'm not sure anyting i say will be understood, so a gwine mek it rest.