Golding issues statement: jus chill Tivolites

• Golding issues statement: jus chill Tivolites

...JDF should drop these leaflets so the people can scatter.

We note that he has NOT called on his associate Coke to surrender himself to the authorities.

'Stay Calm' PM Urges West Kingston Residents

KINGSTON (JIS):
    Friday, May 21, 2010

Prime Minister and Member of Parliament for West Kingston, Bruce Golding, has called on members of the constituency to remain calm, continue to go about their legitimate businesses and allow the courts to deal with the extradition matter.

The Prime Minister said he was concerned about roadblocks that have been mounted in sections of the constituency, which he has represented for the past five years.

"I have been assured that the security forces are determined to carry out their duties in a professional manner, in order to prevent any recurrence of the terrible atrocities that occurred in 2001," Mr. Golding said. About 27 persons died and dozens more were injured in July, 2001 when the security forces entered the community allegedly looking for weapons.

Mr. Golding urged his constituents to cooperate with the security forces in the lawful execution of their duties.

The Prime Minister gave the re-assurance, in the wake of widespread media reports that the residents of Tivoli Gardens were under siege and citizens were being held hostage, as well as concerns about unlawful activities in the constituency over the 'extradition' issue.

He noted that, despite the tense atmosphere, commercial and social activities in West Kingston remain normal and people continue to go about their business.

"Schools are fully functional, Coronation Market and the rest of the market district are doing brisk business and persons who travel to work or do business in the area continue to do so," Mr. Golding said.

The Prime Minister said he was concerned about roadblocks that have been mounted in sections of the constituency, which he has represented for the past five years.

"I have been assured that the security forces are determined to carry out their duties in a professional manner, in order to prevent any recurrence of the terrible atrocities that occurred in 2001," Mr. Golding said. About 27 persons died and dozens more were injured in July, 2001 when the security forces entered the community allegedly looking for weapons.

Mr. Golding urged his constituents to cooperate with the security forces in the lawful execution of their duties.
    I suppose that was as close as the statement could get to saying "please lift the roadblocks".

I suppose he can't be seen to his Tivoli pals as being too close to the police and enforcement of the law on this particular matter

i doubt the statement came from bruce. i heard he committed suicide.

what? whey yuh say? oh, it was political suicide!? my bad!

darn!

i doubt the statement came from bruce. i heard he committed suicide.

what? whey yuh say? oh, it was political suicide!? my bad!

darn!
          That was in rather poor taste Mosiah.

With very few exceptions (Pol Pot, Hitler) very few leaders deserve death for what the did or did not do. For some prison is what is required. For others retirement from politics along with an apology. For others (Clinton) a neutering.

But then again since it seems that someone has declared war on the JLP in Trelawny: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...elawny_7637251

It could well be that the whole of them might end up six feet under.

sorry. i would fix it up but your post also has it in there.

Well it certainly isn't as bad as those low ranking JLP people being targets though. Don't know if it is politically motivated or if some in Trelawny just now see politicians as regular joes and they're subject to be victims of crime.

something is going on in Trelawny. let's hope the police get on top of this one quickly! what with the new pier and ting!

Seaga would have visited and lead from the front!

Mi think you never like Seaga tatics. If Bruce did that you woulda say something else

I certainly do not. That bringing in of the garrison politics as you can see has brought the entire island to its knees.

...but he would not be hiding from Tivoli. He would be down there and his command would be followed. He was the real 'big man'. ...no hiding in his closet like Likle Brucie!

Is Dudus and not Bruce why dem eat and youth dem can go school,strangely enough Bruce has more control over the PNP communities(police remains a viable option) than his base. He leads nobody.

Blessed

What is the Prime Minister doing down there? A assume there are other channels that the street he can use. Any sitting PM who take to the street is worst than Bruce, Portia and Seaga inna one.

...because he would be wearing his MP of Tivoli hat!...and would be telling his constituents 'face to face'/'straight up' to obey the law!