• Cop who tapped Dudus' phone broke no law - Lewin

Cop who tapped Dudus' phone broke no law - Lewin
    BY KARYL WALKER Online Editor walkerk@jamaicaobserver.com
    Friday, May 21, 2010

FORMER Commissioner of police, Rear Admiral Hardley Lewin says Prime Minister Bruce Golding's call for the identity of the cop who acquired evidence against Tivoli Gardens strongman Christopher 'Dudus' Coke to be revealed is a massive red herring.

Golding had stated in parliament that the wiretap evidence was acquired in breach of the island's Interception of Communications Act and demanded that the cop's identity be revealed so he could be charged.

But Lewin, who spoke hours ago at the RJR Editors Forum, said the cop broke no laws and operated with the full approval of his superiors.
    The cop is now in protective custody in the United States.

"I am going to change his name to Constable Red Herring," Lewin said. "Constable Red Herring did his job with the full knowledge and approval of his chain of command. I am satisfied that all actions taken were in conformance with Jamaican law and protocols and I stand by and defend those actions."

The Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) has argued that the cop was not authorised to disclose any information in his possession arising from interception of Coke's telephone conversations as ordered by the court. The state contends that the court never intended by its various orders that the information would be released to anyone other than the authorised officers.

Coke is wanted for narcotics and arms running by the United States authorities who have requested that the Jamaican government extradite him to face the charges in a New York court.

Coke is the reputed don of Tivoli Gardens, a community that lies within Golding's parliamentary constituency of West Kingston. Coke is a JLP supporter.

The evidence was handed over to US authorities during Lewin's tenure as police commissioner and included recorded conversations between Coke, other persons and a cooperating witness about 'dealings' in narcotics and firearms.

Related story:
    Bruce's sternest test: A chronology of the Dudus extradition
    Last edited by Karl; May 22, 2010, 08:20 AM.

Every article I read on this thing, the more I wonder how this man is going to be able to continue as PM.

"conformance"??!!

not sure what the question is... but i think conformance, as in the act of conforming suggests that the cop acted within the jamaican law...

lewin himself isn't a lawyer, however from his purview, the cop acted appropriately with the approval of his superiors...

Cop who tapped Dudus' phone broke no law - Lewin
          BY KARYL WALKER Online Editor walkerk@jamaicaobserver.com
          Friday, May 21, 2010

FORMER Commissioner of police, Rear Admiral Hardley Lewin says Prime Minister Bruce Golding's call for the identity of the cop who acquired evidence against Tivoli Gardens strongman Christopher 'Dudus' Coke to be revealed is a massive red herring.
          Golding had stated in parliament that the wiretap evidence was acquired in breach of the island's Interception of Communications Act and demanded that the cop's identity be revealed so he could be charged.

But Lewin, who spoke hours ago at the RJR Editors Forum, said the cop broke no laws and operated with the full approval of his superiors.
          The cop is now in protective custody in the United States.
          "I am going to change his name to Constable Red Herring," Lewin said. "Constable Red Herring did his job with the full knowledge and approval of his chain of command. I am satisfied that all actions taken were in conformance with Jamaican law and protocols and I stand by and defend those actions."
          The Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) has argued that the cop was not authorised to disclose any information in his possession arising from interception of Coke's telephone conversations as ordered by the court. The state contends that the court never intended by its various orders that the information would be released to anyone other than the authorised officers.
          Coke is wanted for narcotics and arms running by the United States authorities who have requested that the Jamaican government extradite him to face the charges in a New York court.
          Coke is the reputed don of Tivoli Gardens, a community that lies within Golding's parliamentary constituency of West Kingston. Coke is a JLP supporter.
          The evidence was handed over to US authorities during Lewin's tenure as police commissioner and included recorded conversations between Coke, other persons and a cooperating witness about 'dealings' in narcotics and firearms.
          Related story:
          Bruce's sternest test: A chronology of the Dudus extradition
          So if the Ministry did not approve it will Bruce order the DPP to charge everyone in the chain of command?

What if it was handed over before the JLP took power and driva was is heading the wrong dirrection?

it is sticky on bruce... i think the best he could do is resign... it appears he has gotten himself in too deep...

i don't see how he can carry on when he doesn't have the confidence of the people...

i suspect that if everything is closely examined, bruce would come out on the weakened end of every issue relating to the extradition matter...

the thing that boggles my mind is how could bruce, a very intelligent man allow himself to be influenced and manipulated into making these poor decisions... that, i cannot understand...

Lewin is one tough cookie he doesn't mince his words at all. No wonder they undermined him out of the job.

Heh, heh the letterhead crew is about to be stamped. Did someone say dem right 99% of the time. Ben de a JA so him have to secure the Shanghai express but the way things a gwan there might not be enough space. We know that official politicians come first(VAZ, Robertson,PM & Crew). This is so ludicrous that the supporters like Lazie Letterhead might consider spinning for Kim Il Jung. They would be taken maore seriously.

Every article I read on this thing, the more I wonder how this man is going to be able to continue as PM.
                  another major lie revealed and another nail in that imbecile Golding's coffin.

...but why wait until now to state his opinion? the contention that the cop acted illegally has been out there for 2 months..

JLP next campaign slogan: Informa fi dead oh and pass those crime bills. Also report criminal activities to the police.

If anybody wrote what we se happenning before our eyes we who would have beleived it. Not even fiction good so.

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
                      JLP next campaign slogan: Informa fi dead oh and pass those crime bills. Also report criminal activities to the police.

If anybody wrote what we se happenning before our eyes we who would have beleived it. Not even fiction good so.
                      tragic

Did I not tell unnu (unnu mek mi a gwaan like some prophet now) that if he doesn't resign it will be worse on him? How much time mi tell unnu?

Had he just resigned, many of us would have moved on, but having been given that half-assed apology, we are left with more unanswered questions than before.

It's not too late, Bruce - RESIGN NOW!

and that is why this thing should have gone to the courts from the get-go!

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
                            Heh, heh the letterhead crew is about to be stamped. Did someone say dem right 99% of the time. Ben de a JA so him have to secure the Shanghai express but the way things a gwan there might not be enough space. We know that official politicians come first(VAZ, Robertson,PM & Crew). This is so ludicrous that the supporters like Lazie Letterhead might consider spinning for Kim Il Jung. They would be taken maore seriously.
                            LOL!

Kim il Jung?

No bwoy Rudi, you getting di faada and di son mix-up.

Father = Kim il-Sung also known as "Great Leader" and "Eternal President" (and he's dead)

Son = Kim Jong-il also known as "Dear Leader" and sometimes "Supreme Leader"