Seaga could intervene in West Kingston unrest – Professor Wi
Originally posted by Lazie View PostSeaga could intervene in West Kingston unrest – Professor Wilson
There are suggestions that Edward Seaga, former Member of Parliament for West Kingston should be called in to help quell the unrest in Tivoli Gardens.
The proposal has come from Professor Basil Wilson, Dean of Graduate Studies at the School of Criminal Justice at Munroe College in New York.
He says this will prevent a bloody confrontation involving residents and the police who now have a warrant to arrest Mr. Coke.
According to Professor Wilson, assistance should also be sought from other individuals, such as Councillor Desmond McKenzie, who have significant influence on the residents.
"I think it's important for Prime Minister (Bruce Golding) who represents West Kingston to make an appeal to Tivoli Gardens and to Coke to settle this matter peacefully. I think Mr. Seaga, who is an elder Statement and who represented that constituency for many, many decades, should also step forward and appeal for sanity.
"I think they need to also call on members of the clergy to make certain that this is matter than can settled peacefully," Professor Wilson said Wednesday evening on RJR's current affairs discussion programme Beyond the Headlines.
http://www.radiojamaica.com/content/view/27444/26/TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Rudi View PostErrr no Lazie for once (well maybe not once) you seem to find it hard to defend the indefensible. So in point of fact you are agreeing with me. OK on this issue ther would seem to be some agreement. Where is the PM pray tell.?
Isn't this issue a police operation? The PM get involved now, ppl start accusing him of protecting gunmen."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Hortical View PostDisagree, we should call Seaga to help settle the crisis to avoid bloodshed."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
I would be surprised if Seaga intervenes. To my mind, it makes no sense. The gunmen are at the stage where only forceful enactment of enforcement of our laws carries weight.
Seaga would probably be shot on sight as a turncoat.
Wah im a cum wid wi fi gi hup di president den a who safe haftah dat?"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
i agree with you... this is the time for the prime minister to exert his authority... if dudus, cannot listen to the prime minister who happens to be the representative of the consituency, then what does it say to the rest of the nation... what precedent will it set...
dudus is but one man... no one person should have that much power in any country...
suround tg and evacuate all who wants to leave... go in with the army... the rest of jamaica needs to know that the army is there to defend the state...
make the arena available for all who want to leave... especially children and elderly... those who chose to stand with dudus face the music...
then after the smoke clears, every inch of tg must be combed before anyone is sent back in...
enough is enough...'to get what we've never had, we MUST do what we've never done'
lazie is right.. first of all the police should have enough presence there so the roads cant get block or whomever man woman are child who try that get arrested. And as soon as they block it and one shot fire then let the chip fall where they may but TG would not be the same..
I think both the Mayor, and Bruce should make a statement and appeal to citizens to let the police carry out their duties. Short of that, their should an opeartion to go into Tivoli and Get Dudus at whatever cost. Criminality in Tivoli is going on for far too long. This is the perfect chance for the government and security forces to make a bold statement that crime and violence will not be tolerated. Can they declare a state of Emergence in Tivoli. Seriously, I would give the people there 24 hours to leave or they in their homes...Perform a door to door search for Dudus any any of his Allies. The help the Security force needs his some helicopters and a few tankers.. Deal with this issue and get it over so a nother Dudus doesn't raise his ugly head in Tivoli again..all dem Protesters, teargas all a dem...drastic measures is needed to deal with these people who don't believe in law and order
dem fi attack dem. a lot of the gunmen are there now. jus kill nuff bird wid one stone. if u done dem, u bite at least 25% a the major criminals outta society. di supporters dem who a plan fi dead fi him a jus collateral. i'm jus sorry for the little kids who are going to be practically forced by their parents to go out and stand up fi form human shield. believe mi, dem radical enough fi dweet.
Originally posted by Lionpaw View Postdem fi attack dem. a lot of the gunmen are there now. jus kill nuff bird wid one stone. if u done dem, u bite at least 25% a the major criminals outta society. di supporters dem who a plan fi dead fi him a jus collateral. i'm jus sorry for the little kids who are going to be practically forced by their parents to go out and stand up fi form human shield. believe mi, dem radical enough fi dweet.
Same way mi feel. Just damn well do like what Israel would a do!“Life is a system of half-truths and lies, opportunistic, convenient evasion.”