suh is who box di mayor?

well, whether dem can read or not the jamaican law enforcement has to cover dem bases... remember, there is still the good jfj and other well meaning civil rights activist organizations around... can't afford to hear the security forces did not inform the people of the pending armageddon...

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
        i wonder how bruce feels now... this is the innocent law abiding businessman he expended the country's resouces to the point of lying to parliament and deceiving the jamaican people to defend...

this man has his own militia for the defense of 'his' republic... what's next, negotiation for the secession of tivoli gardens from jamaica...

Maybe that is the solution?

I mean why just let all of them go? Tivoli and all the garrisons aligned to it. Throw in Newport East and impose border controls.

After all if the majority in those areas aren't being held hostage as those women who marched to Grant's Park claim then they shouldn't have a problem with Tivoli and company being independent and be able to freely do what they want. Granted, the Republic of Tivarli (working name until an all-encompassing name can be found) would have to apply for membership in the UN, OAS, Commonwealth (no more Commonwealth scholarships unless they get in and they can't vote in Britain and some other countries as they wouldn't be Commonwealth citizens anymore, Caricom, ACP, FIFA etc. but that shouldn't be a problem. Heck, maybe Tivarli might mek the World Cup.

The benefits would be there for both Jamaica and Tivarli. Tivarli won't have to worry about any "armed invasions" from the state because Jamaica would be a foreign country and any violation of the border would result in condemnation in the UN and an American-led Coalition to free little Tivarli. Jamaica would also lose a heavy burden. Access to electricity and water would have to be negotiated on a state-to-state basis of course and any shenanigans by either side could be settled in the ICJ.

You might appreciate this. Them say short people lick hot nuh r a a s. Next time you sight up Desmond ask him. All mi say you just try and stay safe the chickens are coming home to roost before our very eyes. I cant figure out what the fuss is about though since there is no crime in Tivoli and Arnette have all the guns. If this was a real crisis then surely the leader of tha nation would have spoken to the nation already. Wouldn't he? Maybe he can send Samuda to do a fact finding mission to find out what's really happenning since the last one turned out so well. Thank God for America as Ben would say.

After him go down deh a pick up a right hand, you want the boss dem give him a next one. LOL

Better him guh somebody yard and just watch TV

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
              Maybe he can send Samuda to do a fact finding mission to find out what's really happenning since the last one turned out so well. Thank God for America as Ben would say.
              Rudi, how yuh rude suh?

Just stay safe mi bredrin. This whole thing is surreal. It borders on the obscene that the PM has said nothing. That I think speaks volumes.

My guess is that he is busy doing backdoor negotiations.

Given where we are today maybe that would not be not such a bad thing.

On the cusp of what could be the biggest military uprising in the Caribbean since the Bay of Pigs invasion and what do we get from the Prime Minister?

Again, that would not be good enough!!! He needs to show us that he is on top of things!!!!

On the cusp of what could be the biggest military uprising in the Caribbean since the Bay of Pigs invasion and what do we get from the Prime Minister?
                        Come now Mosiah, that can't be right.

I'm sure the Dominican Civil War in 1965 at least matched Bay of Pigs in scope (and I think it exceeded Bay of Pigs). Many rebellions in Haiti would probably also be in the running as well.

So if we stick to Jamaica, how far we would have to go back?

Paul Bogle, Daddy Sharpe? Cudjoe ?

Hmmmm , maybe we have a National Hero in the making here!

So if we stick to Jamaica, how far we would have to go back?

Paul Bogle, Daddy Sharpe? Cudjoe ?

Hmmmm , maybe we have a National Hero in the making here!
                            Hmm...maybe not that far. There was some unrest in the 1930s and 40s I think and then there were the Gas Riots.

EDIT: We certainly wouldn't want to go back to anything even remotely resembling what happened with Bogle though. People strung up and shot on sight.

And which National Hero in the making would this be? Dudus? Bruce? The police officer leading the operation to arrest Dudus and clear the roadblocks?

I dunno, sometimes events just don't have heroes.

The gov't should either call out the army or resigne. There has a been direct attack on the authority of the state by the mini Republic. If the state is not prepared to enforce the laws of the land in the face of this direct and barefaced challenge to the state. If the state is not prepared to reply then for more than the lies they should resign including the ooposition. Hardle Lewin was right no wonder Bruce fired him.

There was the Rodney riots in the 1960s too.

This one seem more ominous though, blood in the streets is expected even before it has started.