• Pot Growers Troubled by Falling Prices

Pot Growers Troubled by Falling Prices

Decriminalization has led to pot crop deflation

By JACKSON WEST

Updated 10:23 AM PDT, Tue, May 18, 2010

var trkcid=93964829;var partnerID=521477; var _hb=1; window.onerror=function(){clickURL=document.locati on.href;return true;} if(!self.clickURL) clickURL=parent.location.href;

TheTruthAbout... / Flickr

Longtime Humboldt resident Charley Custer tells National Public Radio that back in the early days of President Ronald Reagan's "War on Drugs," locally grown marijuana was selling for as much as $5,000 a pound.
    Now, pot farming is going mainstream. Legal distribution through medical marijuana dispensaries and a ballot initiative in November offering to make recreational use legal are creating a legitimate commodity. A flood of supply means prices have dropped considerably.
    The East Bay Express calls some of the claims in the report disingenuous, suggesting that unsubstantiated claims and the vast difference in product quality could account for price fluctuations.
    "What's happening is the people that don't have quality product aren't selling it," said medical cannabis grower Tim Blake.
    $(document).ready(function(){ $('#jqm_wrp_2') .jqDrag('.jqDrag') .jqm({ trigger: '#sseTrigger_2', ajax: 'http://www.nbcbayarea.com/i/dispatcher/?command=LoadSlideshow&id=82967167&sectionId=52147 7&path=/news/local-beat&viewer=modal', target: '#jqm_cont_2', overlay: 0, onShow: function(h) { h.w.css('opacity',1).fadeIn("fast"); nbcSlideshowTitle = nbcSlideshowTitle_2; G.doPixelTracking(51, true); }, onHide: function(h) { h.w.fadeOut("fast",function() { if(h.o) { h.o.remove(); } }); nbcSlideshowTitle = ""; SS.killInterval(); } }); }); Tour Oakland's Pot-Growing Megastore

var nbcSlideshowTitle_4 = "Weird News Photos";
    While obviously getting reliable historical data from a violently marginalized market is difficult, more and more stories are popping up suggesting a significant fall.
    It also has implications for efforts to tax what's possibly the state's largest cash crop, because a drop in prices from increased supply might invalidate current estimates of the trade and its value.

why go at the dispensary go buy herb for $40 an 1/8 or $320 an ounce or over $5,000 a pound when I can plant my own twelve plants and with skill honed from years of farming in the country and reading the high times "growers bible" and guide I can pluck the top of my herbs and make one plant spread out outdoors to where I can get between 1 and 2 pounds per plant growing in 8 to 9 weeks!

I mean what self respecting Rasta man who no stop beg and bawl fi dem legalise it and who uses it to get intouch with my inner god would spend the rest of his life buying chemical herb when I can retire to the hills and grow my own 12 plants?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KqgnGqFZWgM

stop argue with people mi just retire to the hills and watch the gideo unfold as it was predicted.

Have fi tek weh you self from dem people yah as dem out fi get dem beaten oh so badly bad.

Imagine mi can grow herb inna bablyon legal and it illegal inna paradise.
    Mek me medi pon that with a bighead for a minute