• From AmLaw Daily today

May 18, 2010 7:32 PM
    Jamaica PM: "Profound Regret" for Extradition Fight, Manatt Hiring

Posted by Brian Baxter
    UPDATE: May 19, 8:00 a.m. The tenth paragraph of this story has been updated with a statement from Manatt, Phelps & Phillips general counsel Monte Lemann II.

In a televised speech to his country Monday, Jamaican Prime Minister Bruce Golding said he would finally turn an alleged international drug lord over to U.S. authorities and offered his "deepest apologies" for dragging out an extradition dispute and hiring Manatt, Phelps & Phillips to lobby in connection with it.

But even as he announced that he was ready to end the nine-month-long standoff over whether Christoper "Dudus" Coke would indeed by extradited to the U.S., Golding continued to insist that it was his ruling Jamaica Labour Party (JLP)--not the Jamaican government itself--that hired Manatt and paid the firm roughly $50,000 to intervene in the matter with U.S. officials.

Nonetheless, Golding, who said his offer to resign his post over the Coke-Manatt matter had been rejected by JLP leaders, said the entire episode had been a mistake and that it was time to move on.

"In hindsight," the prime minister said, 'the party should never have become involved in the way that it did and I should never have allowed it, but I must accept responsibility for it and express my remorse to the nation."

Local media reported late Tuesday that Jamaican officials had in fact signed the extradition order for Coke and obtained an arrest warrant. Other outlets reported that residents of the West Kingston neighborhood the alleged strongman is said to rule had barricaded local streets and were bracing for violence as a result.

Golding's Monday announcement came less than a week after he admitted sanctioning the hiring of Manatt for lobbying help in connection with Coke, indicted last August by a federal grand jury in Manhattan on drug and gun trafficking charges and labeled by the U.S. Department of Justice as one of "the world's most dangerous narcotics kingpins."

Until Monday, Golding had balked at turning Coke over because, he claimed, the wiretap evidence used in the indictment was illegally obtained.

His political foes said the real reason for Golding's intransigence was a political alliance between the JLP and Coke and the "Shower Posse" gang he allegedly leads. Both Golding and Coke have their base in Kingston's Tivoli Gardens garrison.

In March, Golding's critics pressed the issue by calling attention to documents filed with the Justice Department under the Foreign Agents Registration Act. Those FARA filings showed that about a month after the Coke indictment was unsealed, Manatt received a payment of $49,892.62 under an agreement brokered by private Kingston attorney--and prominent JLP member--Harold Brady.

The pact called for the firm to represent the "Government of Jamaica" on "existing political and economic matters, including existing treaty agreements" between Jamaica and the U.S. The filings further showed that between October 13, 2009 (when the agreement went into effect) and February 8 (when it ended), Manatt had five separate contacts with U.S. State Department officials in connection with unspecified "treaty issues."

Separately, Golding has acknowledged, two top government officials--including Jamaica's solicitor general--met with a Manatt lawyer in Washington, D.C., while the extradition dispute played out.

Manatt has declined to comment on the details of the work it did under the contract--except to steadfastly state that its client was indeed the government--Golding, Brady, and other Jamaican officials never denied the firm was brought in specifically for the Coke matter, but maintained it was a JLP initiative. Manatt general counsel Monte Lemann II said in a statement to The Am Law Daily on Tuesday that the firm "did not represent Mr. Coke nor were we retained to deal with the Coke matter."

"In our contract signed by Mr. Brady, he acknowledges that he was authorized to contract with Manatt on behalf of the Jamaican government," Lemann said. "We facilitated meetings between representatives of the U.S. and Jamaican governments in their official capacities; and we had formal communications with Jamaican government representatives related to our representation."

On Monday, Golding said he should have been more candid about he entire affair when first asked about it in March.

"When I was asked in Parliament whether the government had engaged the services of Manatt, Phelps & Phillips, I answered truthfully and definitively that it had not done so," he said. "It is felt that I should, there and then, have acknowledged the party initiative led by Mr. Brady. On reflection, I should have and tonight I express my profound regret and offer to the Parliament and people of Jamaica my deepest apologies." (Brady declined to comment when contacted by The Am Law Daily Tuesday.)

At least some of Golding's critics were unmoved by those apologies--and Golding's about-face on the extradition.

"This subterfuge is absolutely unacceptable and should be subject to criminal sanctions," says David Rowe, a former Holland & Knight partner and current Fort Lauderdale solo practitioner who has been critical of the Jamaican government's conduct in the Coke case. "Lobbying should not be done on behalf of fugitives accused of narco-trafficking. The solicitor general of Jamaica is not Coke's lawyer."

Rowe, currently an adjunct law professor at the University of Miami and a registered foreign lobbyist during his time at Holland & Knight, is no stranger to controversial Jamaican extraditions. In arguing that he did nothing wrong in tapping Manatt to help resolve the Coke dispute, Golding specifically cited Rowe's representation of the Jamaican government in what the prime minister labeled a similar conflict 20 years ago involving onetime Shower Posse lieutenant Richard "Storyteller" Morrison.

But Rowe argues that the Morrison matter actually highlights what was amiss in the Coke case. At the time of Coke's indictment by a federal grand jury in Manhattan last August, Rowe says, he should have hired legal counsel in the U.S. to begin the process of fighting extradition, rather than relying on the Jamaican government--as Manatt's FARA filings indicate--or the JLP--as Golding claims--to represent him.

In any case, Rowe adds, Coke can now fight the extradition in Jamaica's courts, where the appeals process can take up to three years. In an added wrinkle, Coke's attorney of record Tom Tavares-Finson, a well-known Jamaican criminal defense lawyer and government-appointed JLP senator, withdrew from the case Tuesday and was replaced by two other Kingston attorneys, according to local press accounts.

Meanwhile, several U.S. lawyers and registered lobbyists at Am Law 100 firms, all of whom requested anonymity for permission to speak freely, offered varying opinions on how the fallout from the Coke extradition dispute might affect Manatt and the three partners named in the Jamaica FARA filings--firm founder Charles Manatt, a former chair of the Democratic National Committee and ambassador to the Dominican Republic, international trade partner Susan Schmidt, and litigation partner Kevin Di Gregory.

"For those of us who see the pot of gold and don't inquire carefully about where the pot came from, this should serve as a warning," says one partner at a Washington, D.C., firm. "I would like to think I wouldn't have allowed something like this to happen. But if a government comes to you and says they want you to represent a certain position, you're probably going to be more open to it than an individual asking you to help their dope-dealer friend."

Adds another partner: "[Manatt Phelps] has turned down work before for unethical or unethical clients--it's not a firm that takes anything that comes in the door. Chuck Manatt probably made a mistake and is chagrined by this. He's a very straight-up guy."

A third Am Law partner expressed a bit more skepticism. "We're talking about the proposed extradition of a warlord here, not representing the government on the exports of aluminum!" he says.

As for the actual extradition, a Justice Department spokeswoman told The Am Law Daily that "we are pleased with the decision to instruct the [Jamaican] Attorney General to proceed with the extradition process."

Still, bringing Coke to the U.S. could prove difficult--and wouldn't necessarily put an end the illegal activity he is alleged to oversee. His father, Lester Lloyd "Jim Brown" Coke, was a Shower Posse leader during the 1980s; U.S. prosecutors claim the younger Coke moved to the top of the organization after his father died in a 1991 prison fire while awaiting extradition to the U.S.

"The Shower Posse is a far-flung network that operates out of Jamaica, South Florida, and New York," says Baker & McKenzie partner Lee Stapleton, a former federal prosecutor in Miami who handled the government's case against another Shower Posse leader, the late Vivian Blake, who, as it happens, was once represented by Rowe. "Even in jail, the criminal enterprise could continue, as [Blake] had lieutenants on the outside running things."

Ten years after he was indicted, Blake pled guilty to various drug offenses and served nine years in prison before being deported to Jamaica, where he died in March.

In a sign of the possible immediate affect of Golding's decision to move forward with Coke's extradition, the U.S. embassy in Kingston issued an alert on Monday night about possible civil unrest throughout Jamaica. The statement urged American citizens in Jamaica to remain close to home and to avoid large crowds and carry cell phones with emergency contact numbers if they did venture out.

David Warner, an associate director in the office of international affairs at Main Justice, is handling extradition negotiations with Jamaican officials.

Assistant U.S. attorney Jocelyn Strauber, recently named deputy chief of a new drug-terrorism unit in the U.S. attorney's office in Manhattan, is working on the Coke case from New York.

A spokeswoman for that office declined to comment when contacted by The Am Law Daily, as did a spokeswoman for the U.S. attorney's office in Miami, where sources say there are sealed grand jury indictments against other Jamaicans implicated in drug smuggling.
    Last edited by Karl; May 19, 2010, 09:43 AM.

So questions are being asked in the US on, Who paid Manatt, Phelps & Phillips?

I wonder if any of our local Jamaica journalists have sent in written requests to the PM, the JLP and Manatt, Phelps & Phillips on this matter?

So questions are being asked in the US on, Who paid Manatt, Phelps & Phillips?

I wonder if any of our local Jamaica journalists have sent in written requests to the PM, the JLP and Manatt, Phelps & Phillips on this matter?
      Here is a vital quote:
      "In our contract signed by Mr. Brady, he acknowledges that he was authorized to contract with Manatt on behalf of the Jamaican government," Lemann said. "We facilitated meetings between representatives of the U.S. and Jamaican governments in their official capacities; and we had formal communications with Jamaican government representatives related to our representation."
      It's guaranteed that Manatt can prove that..... if so it further exposes to Jamaica that Golding is STILL LYING...even in his confessional...where he insists that it was a strict JLP initiative.

If/when these formal communications are revealed and the lies further exposed.... Golding must resign.

There needs to be legal action in Jamaica against Brady...with Manatt required to testify and provide evidence of these communications.

We certainly will not get the truth otherwise.

While you are on vital quotes, look like yuh missed one:

Manatt general counsel Monte Lemann II said in a statement to The Am Law Daily on Tuesday that the firm "did not represent Mr. Coke nor were we retained to deal with the Coke matter."
        Orange eyes?

It don't fit dem agenda.

But that quote don't even fit Golding's statements! So is either we believe Manatt's general counsel Lemann in that the GOJ was the actual client and the subject matter was not Coke:

Originally posted by AmLawDaily
            Manatt has declined to comment on the details of the work it did under the contract--except to steadfastly state that its client was indeed the government--Golding, Brady, and other Jamaican officials never denied the firm was brought in specifically for the Coke matter, but maintained it was a JLP initiative. Manatt general counsel Monte Lemann II said in a statement to The Am Law Daily on Tuesday that the firm "did not represent Mr. Coke nor were we retained to deal with the Coke matter."
            Or we believe Golding in that the JLP was the actual client (and was therefore misrepresented as being the GOJ the moment Brady signed the contract) and the extradition request was at least partly the subject of the contract:

Originally posted by Golding
            On March 16th, I stated in this House that “the government of Jamaica has not engaged any legal firm, any consultant, any entity whatsoever in relation to any extradition matter other than deploying the resources that are available within the Attorney-General’s Department”. That was the position then. It remains the position to this day, save and except for the engagement of Dr. Lloyd Barnett to which I have referred.

The initiative which led to the engagement of Manatt, Phelps & Phillips by Mr. Brady started within the Jamaica Labour Party in September when he was approached to see whether, through his contacts with persons in the American political system, assistance could be obtained in finding a way to resolve what was seen as a treaty dispute between Jamaica and the US. Mr. Brady is a member of the Party and a former Executive-Secretary of the International Democrat Union, an organization of centre-right parties including the US Republican Party founded in 1983, currently headquartered in Oslo, Norway and of which the JLP is an associate member.

I sanctioned the initiative, knowing that such interventions have in the past proven to be of considerable value in dealing with issues involving the governments of both countries. I made it clear, however, that this was an initiative to be undertaken by the Party, not by or on behalf of the government.

Mr. Brady’s contacts referred him to the firm of Manatt, Phelps & Phillips, a highly reputable US law firm, which offered to assist on a professional, retainer basis. Mr. Brady’s firm retained Manatt, Phelps & Phillips in October of last year to pursue discussions with relevant officials of the US government. A payment of US$49,892.62 was made to Manatt, Phelps & Phillips on September 18th 2009. These funds were sourced from financial contributors to the Party. Rumours and speculation carried in the media that these funds were provided by Christopher Coke are completely false as the Party is fully aware of the source of these funds.

The engagement of lobbyists to act on behalf of foreign governments, political parties or corporations is a well-known practice in the United States governed by law. There is absolutely nothing illegal or surreptitious about it. Interestingly, in the Richard Morrison case, Professor David Rowe, whose firm was retained by the government of Jamaica to seek to secure his return after he was prematurely extradited, wrote in a memorandum to the government dated June 17th 1991 as follows:

“There are at least three options which we may pursue:

(1) Diplomatic – primarily through discussions with the Department of State;
            (2) Political – through discussions with interested members of Congress and the United States Attorney for the Middle District of Florida or appropriate members of the executive branch, for example, the National Security Advisor who we believe acts as the liaison between the Department of Justice and the National Security Council.
            (3) Legal – continue efforts to intervene in the criminal case against Morrison and to delay or stay his prosecution.
            We recommend proceeding on all three parallel tracks.”

Mr. Brady, from as far back as September, had contacted the Solicitor-General to discuss issues relating to the extradition request. These discussions included email correspondence sent to Mr. Brady at an email address provided by him which, it was subsequently discovered, is an address belonging to Manatt, Phelps & Phillips. The correspondence related to issues concerning the extradition request which the government of Jamaica had raised with the US government.

From the investigations that I have made, Manatt, Phelps & Phillips were made to believe that Mr. Brady was acting for the government of Jamaica, rather than the JLP, and that their engagement was authorized by the government of Jamaica. Accordingly, in filing its representation with the Department of Justice on October 13th 2009, as it is required by law to do, it listed its client as “The government of Jamaica through Harold Brady & Company”. I only became aware of this when it was brought to the attention of the House on March 16th. The Attorney-General subsequently wrote to Manatt, Phelps & Phillips stating that neither Mr. Brady nor his company was engaged as a consultant to the government nor was either of them authorized to act on behalf of the government or to engage their services on its behalf.
            So if Mr. Lemann is right in that they weren't retained to deal with the Coke matter, what business did Manatt have with all these email correspondences involving discussions around an extradition request as was said by Golding himself? Shouldn't they have emailed poor Mr. Leys back and say "why are sending us all this information about an issue unrelated to the treaty dispute?" instead of stringing poor Mr. Leys and themselves on?

So who dodging the truth now then? Lemann? Golding? Both of them?

The truth probably lies somewhere in between....

Orange eyes?
              LOL!

This statement doesn't help your case...or the JLP.

They were retained to represent the Government of Jamaica on matters of extradition.... fraudulently misrepresented by Brady..because the CLAIM is now that the JLP was the true client.... which may or may not be true.
              ... a bag ah lie

It's just more proof of Golding's deceit and your guillibility... or tribal nature....well...both.

Originally posted by ReggaeMike View Post
                But that quote don't even fit Golding's statements! So is either we believe Manatt's general counsel Lemann in that the GOJ was the actual client and the subject matter was not Coke:

Or we believe Golding in that the JLP was the actual client (and was therefore misrepresented as being the GOJ the moment Brady signed the contract) and the extradition request was at least partly the subject of the contract:

So if Mr. Lemann is right in that they weren't retained to deal with the Coke matter, what business did Manatt have with all these email correspondences involving discussions around an extradition request as was said by Golding himself? Shouldn't they have emailed poor Mr. Leys back and say "why are sending us all this information about an issue unrelated to the treaty dispute?" instead of stringing poor Mr. Leys and themselves on?

So who dodging the truth now then? Lemann? Golding? Both of them?

The truth probably lies somewhere in between....
                Golding and his frantic supporters have so twisted themselves in the lies...dat dem nuh kno fish fram fowl. LOL!

Well even if the engagement by the GOJ or the JLP with Manatt was not on Coke's specific extradition request, the question arises as to what interest a private political party has in inter-government business concerning "an extradition request" for which information was supposedly emailed to the law firm and private funds of J$4 million was raised to pay said law firm for a few months of work. What interest would a private political party have in such an extradition request even if it wasn't Coke's own? What if it was over the policeman who reportedly gave the information to the US? If so, why is the JLP getting involved when it should be perfectly fine for the GOJ to pay Manatt to lobby the US to accede to a request for extradition of a policeman that is accused of breaking the law? Why engage in the matter and specify that it should be a party initiative when it is government business?

Originally posted by ReggaeMike View Post
                    Well even if the engagement by the GOJ or the JLP with Manatt was not on Coke's specific extradition request, the question arises as to what interest a private political party has in inter-government business concerning "an extradition request" for which information was supposedly emailed to the law firm and private funds of J$4 million was raised to pay said law firm for a few months of work. What interest would a private political party have in such an extradition request even if it wasn't Coke's own? What if it was over the policeman who reportedly gave the information to the US? If so, why is the JLP getting involved when it should be perfectly fine for the GOJ to pay Manatt to lobby the US to accede to a request for extradition of a policeman that is accused of breaking the law? Why engage in the matter and specify that it should be a party initiative when it is government business?

ah bear lie dem ah tell kingman....strait

and unnu wonder why I still say Liad Bruce MUST RESIGN!

So you agree that Manatt was not contracted to lobby for Dudus on the behalf of the Jamaican government then? Good. Argument done.

Ahahahahahahahahaah spin like gig to rhattid...now a government cannot seek legal advice from law firms

Yes, I agree.

So, what were they contracted to do?

So you agree that Manatt was not contracted to lobby for Dudus on the behalf of the Jamaican government then? Good. Argument done.
                              yuh tink dat ah di argument? LOL! yuh comprehension skills nuh reddy yet. LOL!