What I calculated ...Dudus/Golding goes Global

Originally posted by MissLondon View Post
    My interest in Jamaican politics stems from my desire to see Jamaica progress. Its difficult from the outside to understand how an Island such as Jamaica is still so poor and crime ridden. In fact my brother asked that question over the dinner table recently and there were vague comments about "corruption" and "american interference". But there was no definative answer. The truth is Jamaica is in the position its in because of the way its been run pretty much from Independance. My grandfather is probably the only one in my family who is political. He is a Manley fan and a staunch PNP supporter, but yet he complained non-stop under the PNP about where the country was heading, but yet he won't vote for anyone else. I love my grandfather to bits but its this type of mentality that needs to eliminated if there is to be any progression in Jamaica.
    ...dinner table, huh?

Do you wonder on the numbers that may be having just such discussions at their dinner tables?

...just saying...

btw - I have quite a few family members (extended family members?) in England and at times they seem to know more about 'the happenings' in JA than I do.

Like I said, go to a British (I can only speak for Britain) forum and see how much interest this story is gathering. Lots of things are printed in the middle to back pages of newspapers, most of which nobody in said country really cares about. If you want to feel that Jamaican politics is of big international interest thats up to you, again, that doesn't make it any less important, but how many of your non-jamaican friends/work colleagues are talking about this issue?
      I tire of instructing you in basic logic...you are impervious.

Continue in ignorance ...mi nuh ave nuh more time fi waste pon dis

Thats when it would make the news in Britain.
        is like yuh tink Britain is di world...speak fi Britain if you can....lef di res ah di world to the more enlightened

I would rather the majority had interest and not those few.We Jakans are subjected to unparalleled scrutiny at your airports, in the tackle to fight crime,the outdated Jamaican gangs handle is still being used...
          Our reputation is subjective, I am sure the Irish perspective(and a few others) of England is quite different from yours,we remain the only victims of our dreadful government(s).

Blessed

yuh grandfather name karl? LOL!!!!

anyway it still does not explain YOUR interest as i am quite sure that your family dynamic is not that much different from so many other british families of jamaican descent. what set you apart from the apathy of your generation in general, where jamaican socio/politico/econo issues are concerned.

mmmm?

i would ask you to indicate where i said this was big international news, but you would never find it. this thing, brucitis, may be more contagious than we had imagined!

i said it matters to those who matter. and those would be jamaicans who care about jamaica, governments who may want to know what type of a govt they have to deal with in jamaica, human rights organisations, charity organizations, etc. i don't expect this will take up top spot on CNN or BBC, but it is important news for those who do direct business with us one way or the other, i.e., those that matter.

A whakinda man??? LOL!

I think we are getting deep into the subconcious of MissLondon with this line of questioning, counselor. I smiled to myself the other day when in one of her rounds with Mosiah she said something like "I am not even Jamaican", because you can tell from the interest and passion that that is simply not the case.

A whakinda man??? LOL!

I think we are getting deep into the subconcious of MissLondon with this line of questioning, counselor. I smiled to myself the other day when in one of her rounds with Mosiah she said something like "I am not even Jamaican", because you can tell from the interest and passion that that is simply not the case.
                  I think I said I wasn't a Jamaican citizen, which is correct. I do consider myself Jamaican.

i would ask you to indicate where i said this was big international news, but you would never find it. this thing, brucitis, may be more contagious than we had imagined!

i said it matters to those who matter. and those would be jamaicans who care about jamaica, governments who may want to know what type of a govt they have to deal with in jamaica, human rights organisations, charity organizations, etc. i don't expect this will take up top spot on CNN or BBC, but it is important news for those who do direct business with us one way or the other, i.e., those that matter.
                    Well I already said it matters to Jamaicans abroad, thats a given. To others who know or do business with Jamaica, its just another scandal out of many. Do you think those people are going to completely alter their view of Jamaica because of this? Jamaica is already seen as a violent banana republic. This scandal just confirms their perceptions. As for the vast majority, its a non-story.

I would rather the majority had interest and not those few.We Jakans are subjected to unparalleled scrutiny at your airports, in the tackle to fight crime,the outdated Jamaican gangs handle is still being used...
                      Our reputation is subjective, I am sure the Irish perspective(and a few others) of England is quite different from yours,we remain the only victims of our dreadful government(s).

Blessed
                      Unparalled scrutiny? I think many Africans and muslims would disagree with that. But I agree, Jamaican gangs have been unfailry blamed for the crime problem in Britian in the past. And Jamaican nationals make up the largest group of foreign nationals in British prisons. However, I haven't heard much about "yardie" gangs in recent years. The blame is on British born blacks now.

is like yuh tink Britain is di world
                        I made it clear before that I was speaking for Britain, I can't speak for anywhere else.

Yes I do believe that is what you said. I didn't pick up the distinction you were making at the time.