What I calculated ...Dudus/Golding goes Global

Maybe we should first ask if there are ANY discussions as it related to politics or world events by said demographic.
    There are discussions related to British politics and sometimes American politics. There is not enough info about day to day Jamaican politics in the British media for people to really discuss.

Originally posted by MissLondon View Post
      Honestly I haven't, I read the Guardian and the London papers and haven't seen anything. Not saying there is nothing written about it, but it certainly hasn't been breaking news. No one really cares.
      As far as caring about the issue is concerned, perhaps you shouldn't speak for the "outside world"...but maybe only your circles whatever they may be.

The exposure given the issue in major media organs in the North America, Europe & the Caribbean...clearly indicates that the issue is very important and "cared about"

As far as caring about the issue is concerned, perhaps you shouldn't speak for the "outside world"...but maybe only your circles whatever they may be.

The exposure given the issue in major media organs in the North America, Europe & the Caribbean...clearly indicates that the issue is very important and "cared about"
        When I say no one cares, Im not trying to be rude, but the goings on in a small island in the caribbean already noted for its murder rate is not important to the vast majority of people outside of Jamaica (jamaican disapora excluded). This doesn't reflect on the importance of this issue for Jamaicans and Jamaica, but to put it simply, no one else really cares and why should they?

Also Im not sure what you mean by exposure, but in the UK atleast, its definately not made headlines, people are to concerned about the dire economic state of Britian.

hmmmmm ..... thanks.

OK, that makes sense. So if I may ask a personal question, why is it that you as a London born West indian have had such an interest in Jamaican politics?

Just a personal interest in Jamaica in general, or is it a topic of discussion in your circle of friends and family?

the question of the day!

When I say no one cares, Im not trying to be rude, but the goings on in a small island in the caribbean already noted for its murder rate is not important to the vast majority of people outside of Jamaica (jamaican disapora excluded). This doesn't reflect on the importance of this issue for Jamaicans and Jamaica, but to put it simply, no one else really cares.
                your argument is riddled with contradictions to the point where it's nonsensical.

The reportage on the issue in major international media gives the lie your statement that no one else, other than Jamaicans, cares about the issue.

Quit before you become really ridiculous.

OK, that makes sense. So if I may ask a personal question, why is it that you as a London born West indian have had such an interest in Jamaican politics?

Just a personal interest in Jamaica in general, or is it a topic of discussion in your circle of friends and family?
                  My interest in Jamaican politics stems from my desire to see Jamaica progress. Its difficult from the outside to understand how an Island such as Jamaica is still so poor and crime ridden. In fact my brother asked that question over the dinner table recently and there were vague comments about "corruption" and "american interference". But there was no definative answer. The truth is Jamaica is in the position its in because of the way its been run pretty much from Independance. My grandfather is probably the only one in my family who is political. He is a Manley fan and a staunch PNP supporter, but yet he complained non-stop under the PNP about where the country was heading, but yet he won't vote for anyone else. I love my grandfather to bits but its this type of mentality that needs to eliminated if there is to be any progression in Jamaica.

your argument is riddled with contradictions to the point where it's nonsensical.

The reportage on the issue in major international media gives the lie your statement that no one else, other than Jamaicans, cares about the issue.

Quit before you become really ridiculous.
                    LOL if believeing that the Dudus issue is big international news makes you feel better then so bit, but I can guarantee that very few people in London are giving this or any other issue to do with Jamaican politics much though, thats if they know anything about it. Why don't you visit a British based forum to see how much (or little) interest this topic has generated? I can direct you to one, if you like.....

I hear you and I agree with you mostly, although I don't think the historical events pre and post Independence can be totally ignored.

But there is no doubt that Jamaica should be in a much better position than we are today.

likewise, we have no interest in what you might feel is big news in britain.

yuh grandfather name karl? LOL!!!!

anyway it still does not explain YOUR interest as i am quite sure that your family dynamic is not that much different from so many other british families of jamaican descent. what set you apart from the apathy of your generation in general, where jamaican socio/politico/econo issues are concerned.

LOL if believeing that the Dudus issue is big international news makes you feel better then so bit, but I can guarantee that very few people in London are giving this or any other issue to do with Jamaican politics much though, thats if they know anything about it. Why don't you visit a British based forum to see how much (or little) interest this topic has generated? I can direct you to one, if you like.....
                            This is a question of logic. You either don't have it..or refuse to apply it here for some unknown reason.

London commentary is irrelevant. As is your red herring about big international news.

You stated that only Jamaicans have interest in the matter. This is demonstrably false by virtue of the international press attention the issue is generating.

What about this don't you understand?

its made a few Canadian papers cant say the world does not care. If the pm had resigned it would be news. if there is a flare up of violence it will be news.

Originally posted by OJ View Post
                                its made a few Canadian papers cant say the world does not care. If the pm had resigned it would be news. if there is a flare up of violence it will be news.
                                even the fact that he didn't resign was reported in the NY Times.... if he did resign that would have been bigger..yes