Corruption begets corruption.

• Corruption begets corruption.

Chinese nationals in Jamaica, selling counterfeit cigarettes, and alcohol is no accident. International criminals study the global landscape, and target countries with corrupt govenments to ply their trade. Why didn't they go to Saudi Arabia, Dubai, or the UAE. Afterall there are more smokers there, and they are far wealthier than us in Jamaica, and alcohol is banned, so the black market would be far more lucrative. The answer is simple, these vermins assume that they are more likely to get away with it, and if cought, they can always bribe their way out, and if that doesn't work you can always find a don to threaten the autorities. The icing on the cake is, they can make enough money selling their poisons to buy a house in Beverley Hills in short order, while hard working Jamaicans labour for years in the burning sun and cant even pay their rents. Not a bad deal if you are a lowly gutter rat from China. Gets you out of the overcrowded, rat infested condition you are used to. And while you are it, you have a multitude of black people you can look down upon as your inferiors. Can't blame the Chinese, you have to blame the people who have created the condition, and perception for this to happen.
    Bruce, Portia, PJ, Vaz, Omar time for you all to be indicted for crimes against my people.

....and don't leave out Seaga-the-vampire for indictment.

nuh worry, a new day is dawning.

Yes I. Stand firm and keep the faith.

just like how bruce nuh have nuh choice but to resign, a same way di people a jamaica run out of options now. we must tek it to di next leader and mek dem know say di sexry dun! (thanks for that word, lionpaw!)

Mosiah: OPPORTUNITY exist in every crisis.

I get the feel of politics in Jamaica mainly from this site. And from the exchanges I have read--things are extremely bad.

If a new day is really dawning...I PRAY and hope that the change will be positive. That the right leadership will finally emerge. Does not matter which party.

SIDEBAR:

I cringe at the piece above... about the corruption now entered into by the Chinese.....................................

I think WE somehow validate the 'mismeasurement' theory. (ef yuh get my driff).
            Last edited by HL; May 15, 2010, 03:39 PM.

HL, it's all connected. The head of the Organized Crime Investigation Division has received very detailed death threats since they have started cracking down on these people.

The police have to go downtown with ample fortifications to carry out their raids, and we know who controls downtown.

HL, it has to end somewhere, and this is where it will end. The 17th of May will be a new day for Jamaica, but it's up to us, the people, to make sure that Bruce did not resign in vain. The diaspora is welcome to play its part to ensure that we don't go back to narco-politicians

i don't get that theory. please enlighten.

Why didn't Digicel invest in America and Spanish Hotel go a merica, them richer than us and have more tourists too.

Because Jamaica may have lower standards for lobour, wages, environmental rules, and higher levels of corruption in high places. Get the drift bredren.

If you really think bout it the answer is obvious. The American market is a mature saturated market with larger players than Digical and the Spanish hotels in their respective markets. The future growth in telco and to a lesser extent tourism will come from he so=called third world. Witness what is happenning in Africa vis=a=vis cell phones. Not sure what this has to do with the topic at hand.

Well what I don't like about the topic at hand is Reggaedoc is saying becuase Dubai etc. are richer then he is asking why the these people came.

I hate the fact that they are criminals stealing legitimate business but the fact is not because a country is poorer mean that they are not attractive investment. As you state there are oppurtunities in so called third world countries and even the wealthier companies going after them. The fact is there is still many oppurtunities in Jamaica.

Dont confuse the issues. The opportunity to do legitimate business and the opportunity to engage in criminality may not be the same. Illegal cigarette, and alcohol running are crimes. Plain and simple.

In enconomics it is the same thing. The fact that Jamaica have a lower percapital income don't mean it is not prime for business, legal or illegal.

Not necessarily Rudi. The New York city area gets more than a billion visitors every year. It is a well known fact that for many years New York city has not had adequate volume of hotel rooms. That is why the number of large conventions held in New York is far lower than one would expect for a city of that size. One would think that just based on the economics alone, New York would be a better place for the Spanish hotel chain to invest, but they have not. It would be interesting to fing out why Ja over NY.