• G2K Asks For Support From Jamaica

G2K Asks For Support From Jamaica
    Published: Saturday | May 15, 20100 Comments and 0 Reactions

Daraine Luton, Senior Staff Reporter

AFTER TWO days of silence, the affiliates of the the governing Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) have come to the defence of its leader, Bruce Golding, who has been coming under intense pressure to resign as prime minister.

The Jamaica Labour Party's Women's Freedom Movement (WFM), the National Organisation of Women (NOW) and Generation 2000 (G2K), the youth group of the party, have expressed strong support for Prime Minister Golding.

Generation 2000 said Golding blundered by not speaking the whole truth earlier, but said he demonstrated strength of character in revealing his role in the engagement of the United States law firm Manatt, Phelps & Phillips to lobby the United States on an extradition issue.

"Political leaders who have the stomach to be fully honest, at their own political peril, are rare, and we think it would be strange and perhaps a bit unwise to seek to punish those who choose to do so," the group said of Golding.

It added: "G2K is of the view that the prime minister must confront the questions of trust being posed about his leadership in this matter. Nevertheless, he must continue with expedition, the many and heavy tasks that he has been elected to carry."

Similarly, the WFM and NOW said they saluted Prime Minister Golding for his strength and forthrightness.

"The WFM and NOW are firm in their conviction that no laws were broken, no public funds used, and that no impropriety took place in connection with US law firm Manatt, Phelps & Phillips," the groups said in a joint release yesterday.

Golding has admitted to sanctioning a move for Harold Brady to engage the US law firm to lobby the United States on an issue involving reputed crime lord Christopher Coke.

Since the prime minister's revelation, many interest groups have called for him to step aside. Many have taken the campaign to pressure Golding into resigning to cyberspace.

Call to join

However, Generation 2000 has responded by asking Jamaicans to join its Facebook page 'Should the Prime Minister of Jamaica (Bruce Golding) Resign - Why/Why Not?'

"Your support is extremely valuable on this. We need to put the truth out there and do our part to pacify this matter once and for all. There are far more important things to be dealt with," G2K said.

At press time yesterday, G2K was losing the cyberwar as other groups calling for the head of the PM had outstripped them.

G2K had 30 members compared to PRIME MINISTER BRUCE GOLDING MUST RESIGN, which had 591 members, and 2,010 persons who had joined the group BRUCE GOLDING MASH UP THE COUNTRY.

- daraine.luton@gleanerjm.com

*yaaaawnz*

there is an emoticon for that.

Bruce Golding Mash up up di Country ???

Dis remind me of di way di Republicans di guh mad after Obama win..

Now wi know Bruce on di right track !

Drivah ! Don't stap atall !

Jamaica cannot afford it !

Bruce Golding Mash up up di Country ???

Dis remind me of di way di Republicans di guh mad after Obama win..

Now wi know Bruce on di right track !

Drivah ! Don't stap atall !

Jamaica cannot afford it !
          cocaine has taken it's toll on u.

and your mentality and level of ignorance produced and supported 4 Terms of Failure in every aspect of country Governance..

all mi haffi duh is go cold turkey.. your problem is a natural state..

and your mentality and level of ignorance produced and supported 4 Terms of Failure in every aspect of country Governance..

all mi haffi duh is go cold turkey.. your problem is a natural state..

and the four terms of failure my alleged level of ignorance produced, cannot be compared to the half a term of chaos your biased, peasant-like, man-worshipping mentality produced.

Um.. well you clearly live in an alternate universe since for the first time in a decade the country looks like it is headed in the right direction... if yuh don't believe me ask di BOJ, EU, IMF, World Bank.. etc, etc..

lol !

The country is heading in the right direction with this year potentially being the most violent in history? Bruce a yuh Messiah still so mi cant blame u fi defend him. defend u god yah mon. yuh come in like the man dem wha par wid Bounty and Movado dem. tru peasant. I think u post on here out of boredom still. u jus want stir ppl up so big up yuhself.