• Stop yapping! - Butch to Minister of Tourism

Give attention to operations side of hotel sector, Stewart tells Gov't

BY INGRID BROWN Senior staff reporter browni@jamaicaobserver.com
    Thursday, May 13, 2010

HOTEL mogul Gordon 'Butch' Stewart yesterday chided the Government for not placing enough emphasis on the operations side of the hotel sector and urged Tourism Minister Edmund Bartlett to spend less time talking and more time getting to understand that vital side of the sector.

"My word of advice to Bartlett is to stop yapping and start fixing the operations side, which is making us less able to develop the quality tourism product we have and the competitiveness that we need," Stewart said.

STEWART... my word of advice is to stop yapping and start fixing the operations side

According to Stewart, who is chairman of the Sandals chain of all-inclusive resorts which operates properties across the Caribbean, Jamaica has never had a government that truly understood tourism and appreciated that the industry is an export and, as such, should be treated likewise. Instead, tourism has been constantly treated as a milch cow by successive governments, he said.

The hotelier, who spoke with the Observer -- of which he is also chairman -- during yesterday's three-day Jamaica Product Exchange tourism trade show at the Half Moon Shopping Village in Montego Bay, said of all the countries in which the Sandals resorts are located, Jamaica is by far the most difficult in which to operate as bureaucracy strangles and suffocates businesses.

"Every island we operate in, all put together, we find it much easier to deal with than Jamaica," he maintained, pointing out that this was due to policies that, because they are not properly defined, impact the cost of doing business.

He, however, commended tourism officials, particularly Jamaica Tourist Board Chairman John Lynch, for being diligent and using his vast experience to acquire comprehensive airlift at a time when Air Jamaica cannot be relied on for leisure traffic.

However, Stewart maintained that the success of the industry has been significantly due to the input of the hotel sector.

"If he (Bartlett) wants to be successful and deal with the substance of the operation side he must understand the product and its competitive needs," Stewart said, adding that greater emphasis needed to be placed on training and development of the sector's workers.

Citing an example, Stewart said a properly trained waiter acquires a profession for his entire life.

"I see some of my waiters working in New York, Boston, Germany and they live good quality lives because that profession is no different from that of a lawyer or doctor," he said.

How disrespectful!!! Speaking to the Honorable Minister like that. Does he thinks he owns Jamaica and the Government?

Doesn't he sound like an ex-slave owner in " "I see some of my waiters working in New York, Boston, Germany and they live good quality lives because that profession is no different from that of a lawyer or doctor".

it's the outlook on the populace of Ja.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
        How disrespectful!!! Speaking to the Honorable Minister like that. Does he thinks he owns Jamaica and the Government?

Doesn't he sound like an ex-slave owner in " "I see some of my waiters working in New York, Boston, Germany and they live good quality lives because that profession is no different from that of a lawyer or doctor".
        Apparantly he has been given that impression. Interesting comments by our numero uno businessman.

so right, Exile. Butch obviously feels he is Citizen No. 1.

Mek him gweh!

bad mind ah guh kill unnuh..

Emancipate yourselves from Mental Slavery..

Butch Stewart is a living Jamaican Legend.. but for the complexion y'all would be singing his praises..

If him did say that to a PNP admin you would hear say him a labourite

As I said Butch talk him mind all the time.

where dis come fram? if yuh rude yuh rude!

because of his complexion many of yuh singing his praises.

mi nuh frighten.

Because Butch damn rude and loud from long time but nuff people pon yah think he is just anti PNP.

i worked at one of his companies in the past and i did not find him obnoxious. Can't say our paths crossed very often, but his managers were slavedrivers, always looking to impress and suck up to him.

That is the thing with him. He was frequent at HEART when I was there and he was very nice to the trainees. Most of the hotels in Ja the managers are similar in that the second tier manager are used to drive the staff. I remember hearing some things over the radio that made me shake my head.

But if Butch have something to say he doesn't care, he is going to say it and loud, which is good sometimes but sometimes it is not. Trust me some a them manager willing fi sell themselves and others even when not requested.

um.. di man is a Jamaican that has created a World Class product.. that is reason enough..

Check yuhself..

no.

That was not a request.