LoL! Woooiiee!! JLP ah kall PNP CIA Agent...

• LoL! Woooiiee!! JLP ah kall PNP CIA Agent...

...how things and times have changed.

Hostile Parliament tackles Golding on Manatt affair

Published: Thursday | May 13, 2010

PRIME MINISTER Bruce Golding was in hostile territory for just over two hours on Tuesday as the parliamentary opposition went in search of more clues in the Manatt Phelps & Phillips mystery.

Golding admitted he had sanctioned the move to engage the law firm to lobby the United States government in a treaty dispute with Jamaica.

At the centre of the stand-off is the request by the US for alleged crime lord Christopher 'Dudus' Coke to be extradited.

Coke is also a supporter of the governing Jamaica Labour Party (JLP). Golding told Parliament that when he sanctioned the move it was in his capacity as JLP leader and not as prime minister.

The following are excerpts from exchanges between Golding and members of his government and the Opposition People's National Party after the prime minister's statement to Parliament on the issue.

Dr Peter Phillips (MP: East Central St Andrew) : The prime minister asserts in his answer to the questions that he stands by his statement in this Parliament and quoted to us in Hansard (soto voce from Dean Peart, MP for North West Manchester: Bwoy mi neva know seh man can lie suh). Does the prime minister recalls that he also accused members of the Opposition of various motives, including searching for headlines and other things? My question is simply, if the prime minister had authorised the arrangement which he said that he had authorised Mr (Harold) Brady to enter into this scheme, purportedly on behalf of the Jamaica Labour Party, why did he not say so then?

Golding: Mr Speaker, the question that I was asked is whether the Government of Jamaica has engaged the services of Manatt. I am going to urge, Mr Speaker, I am going to suggest to you, because it is an approach that I am going to adopt. I am going to start staying scrupulously by the rules. There is a great deal of latitude that is allowed, there are many courtesies that are allowed in this House, including extended statements on questions - a courtesy. And yet in my effort to deliver a statement today, I had difficulty because of the lack of courtesy.

The member ought to be aware that in Standing Order 16 he can only ask a member a question in his official capacity in relation to his portfolio responsibilities. You cannot ask anything in the House, anything about my responsibilities as party leader. (soto voce from Robert Montague, MP for West St Mary: Out of order!).

Phillips: Mr Speaker, I do not appreciate the attempt of the prime minister to intimidate. He once said that political parties
    are not private clubs and this is the reputation of the people of Jamaica that has been affected. Don't try come here and intimidate no one. Nobody not afraid and I don't think it is an appropriate way to treat the business of Jamaica.

Golding: This rule is going to apply to everyone of us in this House, including the member for East Central St Andrew. (soto voce from Luther Buchanan, MP for eastern Westmoreland: You are the prime minister, you talk on everything).

Phillips: Can we ask the prime minister when was this scheme to engage Manatt Phelps & Phillips developed?

Speaker: Delroy Chuck: The prime minister is saying this is a matter outside of Government (soto voce from Dean Peart: It can't be. foolishness!) (soto voce from Robert Pickersgill, MP for North West St Catherine: Mendacity fills the atmosphere).

Golding: The member cannot be allowed to walk all over the Standing Orders in this way. The fact that I made reference to something in a statement does not mean that you are not obliged by the rule of Standing Order 16. Ask any question of me of my official responsibilities and I am prepared to answer that. (soto voce from Pickersgill: There is no minister of Labour Party).

Speaker: That is why you can't ask the question if there is no minister of Labour Party.

Phillips: Where in the Standing Orders is it not possible to ask about Jamaica's relations in the international community where the issues regarding Jamaica's reputation, the reputation of the government of Jamaica for which he has responsibility, where is it in the Standing Order that it says we cannot ask about it?

Speaker: A number of issues were addressed that had nothing to do with government. It had to do with party matters and you are seeking to ask questions relating to the party.

Michael Peart, MP South Manchester: The prime minister gets up, makes a statement and specifically states that he did something, in whatever capacity he said he did it. Which Standing Order prevents a member from asking the prime minister on the specific matter that he spoke?

Speaker: The prime minister has given a statement which is for information to the House.

Phillips: I want to ask the prime minister whether he considers if the people of Jamaica can continue to have confidence in the attorney general and the solicitor general by virtue of their handling of this matter? (Shouts of "Shut up!" and "Sit down!" come from the government benches)

In light of the fact that the rules of FARA would not allow an observer to be present in the meeting ... in light of the public statements. (soto voce from from Karl Samuda, MP for North Central St Andrew: You are a CIA! CIA! CIA!) and soto voce from Montague: Agent! CIA! Agent!)

Phillips: ... all kinds of ... lies and abuse will not make me sit down here and not defend the rights of the Jamaican people. If they think the name of Jamaica is something to be trifled with, we on this side do not accept it. We hold it sacred. And let dem know dat nuh baddy ova yah nuh fraid a none a dem. Paint up wall as much as yuh like, threaten as much as you like.

Does the prime minister consider it that the government and the people retain confidence in view of the fact that it was obviously not true that Manatt Phelps & Phillps could have attended as an observer?

Shouts from the government benches: Grandstanding! Shut up. CIA.

Speaker: Can you allow him to finish?

Samuda: I will not allow him. CIA!

Opposition Leader Portia Simpson Miller: The issues that are being raised and the questions asked have relevance on the prime minister's statement, not only to Jamaica but to the international community of nations. (soto voce from Ernest Smith, MP for South West St Ann: Drama queen!)

Golding: Do I consider whether it is appropriate for the Jamaica Labour Party to engage Manatt, Phelps & Phillips? There is nothing wrong with it. Manatt, Phelps & Phillips is one of the most reputable law firms in the United States. What was wrong is that it was represented to Manatt, Phelps & Phillips that they were acting for the Government of Jamaica when they were acting for the Jamaica Labour Party. That was what was wrong.

I will challenge anybody, including those who I know have access to information, to produce one document from an appropriate officer in the Government of Jamaica, whether the attorney general , the minister of foreign affairs, myself, the solicitor general. Any document that represents a formal engagement of this legal firm by the Government of Jamaica.

Manatt Phelps & Phillips cannot produce one single document that represents any authorisation on the part of the Government of Jamaica to an engagement of their professional services for and on behalf of the Government of Jamaica.

LOL, they got jokes. Dem nuh see nutten yet: POOR PEEPLE broaden di treaty this way the FEDS can come and go as they please. wi poor an nuh haf nutten already. Only want to walk the streets late at night again coming from church.

Rasta George.. mi haffi start guh dem Parliament session.. Oliver nuh have nutting pon dem sotto voice quips..

'Drama Queen'

'CIA'

"There is no Minister of Labour Party'

LOL !! WHOEEE !!! Mi belly !

Drama Queen !

Since our destiny in Ja is to be poor and none of us is to have legit wealth. Let the feds run about in JA as termites would. Some military exercise too. A lot will be revealed if this happens.

They destroyed the Joshua model of self reliance, having our own business, making serious contributions to Ja's economy. Truth be told: If Ja had followed Joshua's social policy, Dudus would not be in the stew he is in right now. he would be a legit wealthy business man.

If we will remain poor broaden the treaty.

CIA !! Siddung CIA !

Really? That's not what the Dept. of stste, DOJ and other three letter agencies are saying. Yuh nuh see nutten yet.

Let the feds run about in JA as termites would. Some military exercise too. A lot will be revealed if this happens.
                tek whey yuhself wid dat deh fooliniss

look like yuh ah stooge

i know. a same ting mi duh when mi shame - try cover it wid humour.

oh yeah; I can tell you this: If it wasn't for the treaty you would have to send gifts to Prezi everytime you exit one of ja's airport. Continue yap yuh mout an miss di big pitcha.

fi yuh big pickcha is fi US army boots an CIA ah trample up an dung Jamaica..yuh cyan kip dat ****************

FBI ah CIA? Can the JCF prosecute any big time CRIMINAL in JA? Poor people fed up. FISH TANK treaty; come and go as you please the poor as nothing to lose. We will be able to walk late nights again go caroling, and attend ourr church meetings without fear.

whey yuh have gainst a simple latte on Ocean Boulevard?

diffrant strokes.....

whey yuh have gainst a simple latte on Ocean Boulevard?

diffrant strokes.....

Jawge?
                            nuh get stroke, now? Duh?

Shame ? Yuh cyaan spell shame..

"Comrades, on the road to the 4th Term..."

Mi deh yah long time.. wheel and come again..