The middle class much other average people are not likely to demonstrate in the streets. Solutions to the problems at home will not come from them, also many self-employed people pay taxes to organized gangs in lieu of payment to the government.
We need a Revolution
Originally posted by Islandman View PostI wonder what it will take for middle class Jamaicans to take a stand. We don't have a history of that in recent times.
Even University students these days only demonstrate when thier fees go up or the food in the cafeteria is not up to standard. (very true) Nothing like the Walter Rodney days.
We need to encourage more activist groups like JFJ, wether we agree with all thier positions or not.
“Life is a system of half-truths and lies, opportunistic, convenient evasion.”
lol !
Good one
In all this 'uproar' however fundamental change is occurring.. I am looking forward to my Latte.. is 18 years of corruption and mismanagement mi witness while the economy goes to ********************.. I am enjoying the change of a properly managed Economy and real sensible action... look like mi all haffi guh work pon mi Poker and Black Jack skills..
If it is one thing I will not tolerate it is 'corruption' without consequences and ineptitude.. hallmarks of the Patterson era..
12 More years of di 'corruption' and development..(Trinidad have nuff 'corruption')..den unnuh can put back in di PNP if unnuh insist.. mi ah beg yuh...
Originally posted by Maudib View Postlol !
Good one
In all this 'uproar' however fundamental change is occurring.. I am looking forward to my Latte.. is 18 years of corruption and mismanagement mi witness while the economy goes to ********************.. I am enjoying the change of a properly managed Economy and real sensible action... look like mi all haffi guh work pon mi Poker and Black Jack skills..
If it is one thing I will not tolerate it is 'corruption' without consequences and ineptitude.. hallmarks of the Patterson era..
12 More years of di 'corruption' and development..(Trinidad have nuff 'corruption')..den unnuh can put back in di PNP if unnuh insist.. mi ah beg yuh...
Originally posted by Plush View PostCan the US do poor Jamaica a favor and recject the visas of all JLP officials....Keep the government members visa intact but reject visas for all JLP leaders since it's the JLP leaders and not the government leaders who are defending criminals.
We need a revolution to overthrow this government. Back in the days, this is when Union members and the like show theire resolve and strength...organize a mass demonstration and put the entire country on strike
The solution is to demand more from the present government, hold them accountable, not to replace them with a party who have failed repeatedly. If the whole of Jamaica protested and demonstrated, the government would have to listen eventually.
I doubt that this will result in the PM stepping down, unlikely given our politics. But I have to say it is nice to see some outrage among regular Jamaicans about how dishonest he has been.
I am hoping that this will result in some kind of turning point in the whole criminal-politician connection in Jamaica. What this whole episode has shown is that even though the major underworld figures operate more or less independently thse days, it is clear that thier political connections still matter."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass