Dem nuh ready fi Drivah !

sorry, it wasn't my intention!

Yuh nuh ear T.G a bawl fi Eddie ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Don 1 you are arguing as If any potential M.P for P.M has to seek T.G Gunmen blessing to govern , that is just not the case .
        Any potential JLP MP for W Kingston has to get the blessing of the Tivoli don to be successful.

Since for the past 4 decades the JLP W Kingston MP has been party leader and been PM in JLP administrations.... Tivoli gunmen are serious power brokers in the JLP and Jamaica.

I can't be much plainer than that.
        These rumours are a sign of smoke and where you see smoke you see fiyah.You have admitted alot with the below statement , rumours of revolt means the party isnt happy and if as you claim it centers on T.G ....then you can conclude the obvious , T.G influence isnt what you think it is.
        I am just hearing of these so called rumours on this forum... don't know if they're true or not.

Even if true that doesn't disturb the fact that the Tivoli power base is a central part of Golding's standing in his party.

I don't share your conclusions.

I will bet money , the next leader of the JLP will have nothing to do with the T.G set up , nothing !

I will even go further and state Bruce own M.P status of representing west kingston as a JLP candidate is under threat.

What I am hearing from the man on the streets is this idiot is expendable like Duduss !

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

suh who then is the real power broker?

The people , I see people tired of the same ole , same ole , we are at a crossroads where people want change and they are willing to take a risk , with a new leader or party or both .

Look what happened in the U.K eletions ? the lib dem advocated constitutional change for representational politics for the people , its something that Jamaica needs .If the westminister system can be calling for constitutional change , basically admitting its system is broken , then how so, why not ours ?

Its the people , it always was always will be.

The question is will the option deliver something new ?

X;227504]I will bet money , the next leader of the JLP will have nothing to do with the T.G set up , nothing !
                not impossible...but that person will be a weak leader
                I will even go further and state Bruce own M.P status of representing west kingston as a JLP candidate is under threat.
                not impossible...but unlikely...unless the criminal is extradited

What I am hearing from the man on the streets is this idiot is expendable like Duduss
                As Islandman said...is that 125th ST?

the question is will the people go for the option. i am not optiimistic

If the right candidate /party comes along and can sell the arguement of true voter representation even declaring some form of constitutional change to achieve this , where the common man believes its thier constitutional birthright to be represented and respected by his M.P , they will demand it.

The common cry I have herad from Jamaicans from my childhood far and wide is that MPs tek dem fi fool, dem nuh see dem until election time !

To me its logical that a candidate/party will tap into that resentment and bring about some form of change.

I watched the U.K elections recently and the Lib dem Nick Clegg ran on that said platform , all the other views they espoused didnt light a fire into the people like voter representation , they even argued changing the constitution to achieve this.

Jamaica is ripe or spoiling to jump on that bandwagon.All these other contracts that Don 1 espouses (social and diaspora) will come to naught if the people believe it isnt thier birthright or if they see it running in the same broken Parlimentarian nepotistic system.

The people will have to believe its thier right to play a centered part in the process ! Thats not the case now.

I am optimistic because the bottom is about to fall out of the bucket , 40 odd years of tribal politics and Bruce has taken us to a new low , People fear it being taken lower by the PNP .

Thats a damming statement!The fruits are ripe waiting to be tapped !

• You realize that the LibDems LOST seats compared to last election, right? The party Leader's popularity did not translate into votes/seats.

• You realise they cost labour thier government , you realise they form a coalition government ?

They lost seats like everyone else except the torries but gained more power than labor and have a good chance of gaining more in 5 years.

Maybe sooner.

• Originally posted by Don1 View Post
                          Your lack of a substantive response to the question probably means that you have had minimal if any exposure to Jamaica's reality on the ground. Not that this condition disqualifies you from holding opinions or expressing them ...but it certainly explains your naivete.
                          My lack of "substantive respone"? You haven't commented on the subject at hand since the first page and the use of emoticons cannot hide this fact. But anyway.......

• Rear View (LOL) #7: The ChessMaster Chronicles

Dis reminds me of di hapless Republicans VS Bill Clinton..

Comrade dem used to tic-tac-toe... a Chess Master dem ah try trap.. if Babylon cyaan manage him how Sistah 'p" and Peter expec fi manage ?

lol !

"Christopher Coke is wanted for an alleged crime in the US for which he ought to be tried and the Government of Jamaica, consistent with its obligations under the Treaty, will do everything necessary to facilitate his extradition once it is done in accordance with the provisions of the Treaty and the laws of our country," the prime minister said.
                            The Jamaican Government has maintained that the US has acted in contravention of the Interception of Communications Act, arguing that evidence gathered by the US was illegally obtained.
                            "The Government maintains that the information presented in support of this particular request is unacceptable because it has been used in violation of Jamaican law and in contravention of the expressed order of a judge of the Supreme Court," Golding said, noting that from as far back as September of last year, the Government formally requested additional or separate information from the US authorities that would enable the minister to fulfil the request.
                            "We assured the US authorities that once this is done, the minister will sign the authorisation to proceed," Golding added.
                            Yesterday, under persistent questioning from Opposition Member of Parliament, Dr Peter Phillips who had first questioned the engagement of the US law firm in March this year, Prime Minister Golding sought refuge in Standing Order provisions governing the conduct of questions when asked why he had not admitted to being the one to 'sanction' persons within the party to seek legal representation in the first place.

"...Why didn't you say so then?" Phillips asked.

"The question I was asked was whether the Government of Jamaica had engaged the services of Manatt," Golding said emphatically, noting that he had answered what was asked of him at the time.
                            When Phillips continued to press he said: "There is a great deal of latitude, many courtesies extended in this House but the member ought to be aware that in Standing Order 16 he can only ask a question of a minister in his official capacity in relation to his portfolio responsibilities; you cannot ask in the House anything about my responsibilities as party leader."

Is wheh Babylon a wait pon ? Drivah put Dudus pon a platter.. all dem haffi duh is provide evidence without violating Jamaican Law.. ah really hope di PNP dem nuh eff up di plan wid dem 'tactics'
                            Driva...Doan tap atall!! woiiee mi Belly!!

• what a shame

>Comrade dem used to tic-tac-toe... a Chess Master dem ah try trap.. if Babylon cyaan manage him how Sistah 'p" and Peter expec fi manage ?<

• Originally posted by Don1 View Post
                                Only idiots believe that this is ultimately a legal matter of treaty violation or not..... legalisms are the pretext and sub-text being sold to the public as the core issue..... but the public aint buying it.

Most know that the heart of the matter is political... a power (aka shower) issue.

unfortunately this is not a battle that Golding can win...anywhey im tun makka juk im.

In his political calculus he has chosen a path that to him is the most favourable... defying the US. He will lose to the US one way or another....meanwhile his political capital in Jamaica is going down the drain.

A wicked lose/lose position with no upside.
                                Yep mi ah Scientist..no doubt

Driva...doan tap atall!!! woiiee mi spleen!!