Dem nuh ready fi Drivah !

and the cabinet ministers just sit and listen to the chief servant, drivah, hide behind a series of lies and half-truths.

wi change course fi real!

I can't imagine this is still just about Tivoli. Not even Seaga would have gone this far.
      I hope for his sake it's just about Tivoli. It's possible that Golding himself or some senior JLP peeps (perps?) are compromised by the tapes or by what Dudus may be forced to testify to in a US court.

That would not be pretty.

It is irrelevant at this time what Bruce wants or does not want to do...

Both he and the US are bound by the terms of the Extradition treaty..

The US has violated it.. let me know when Bruce has.. den wi can talk bout what him want or don't want..
        Only idiots believe that this is ultimately a legal matter of treaty violation or not..... legalisms are the pretext and sub-text being sold to the public as the core issue..... but the public aint buying it.

Most know that the heart of the matter is political... a power (aka shower) issue.

unfortunately this is not a battle that Golding can win...anywhey im tun makka juk im.

In his political calculus he has chosen a path that to him is the most favourable... defying the US. He will lose to the US one way or another....meanwhile his political capital in Jamaica is going down the drain.

A wicked lose/lose position with no upside.
        Last edited by Don1; May 12, 2010, 11:32 AM.

What about the other pieces of evidence...dem waus..."collected in contravention of accordance with the provisions of the Treaty and the laws of our country" tuh?

Cho Dryvah...yuh full a ....!

MissLondon, ever since I asked a question, I've been accused of defending criminality. However, I will ask it again, what if they are actually correct about the evidence being illegal? None of the experts here has considered that. The former AG was being interviewed and when the argument about the evidence was brought to his attention his get out of jail line was take it to the courts.

However, when there was a previous standoff with the US gov't and the previous admin, how was it handled?
            Lazie, what you are suggesting does not wash!
            The wiretap evidence is merely one piece of the evidence!

Lazie, what you are suggesting does not wash!
              The wiretap evidence is merely one piece of the evidence!
              Thats why they're asking for more evidence because (according to them) the wiretap was obtained illegally.

Gamma: Can help me here...as I have a problem with how Bruce and his cohorts frame their argument -

If irrefutable facts are presented that a crime was committed but those facts were not collected illegally (Likle Bruce agrees with that) but the facts were used or presented in an illegal manner/outside law governing same, can the State not still prosecute?

In fact, has the State not even as per the wire-tap referenced...in similar circumstances gone on to prosecute?

That is one way to spin it...

so are we dun with the US request then.. we finally all agree they need to wheel and come again ?

naive or disingenuous.

he doesn't want to sign because he will lose support in Tivoli and may not even be able to freely enter that republic. The gunmen of Tivoli are his power base within the JLP.

Whoever controls Tivoli...controls the JLP... he cannot afford to lose that.
                      Tivoli is one consituency is it not? Out of how many in Jamaica? Im not buying that explanation at all. What is the likelihood of Tivoli switching to the PNP? None really.

Its either because he knows what the back lash would be and that the state could not contain it or, like some else said, that either he or others in the government can be directly implicated in any charges. This is way more than just solidifying the support in one consituency (however "powerful" that constituency may be).

Originally posted by MissLondon View Post
                        Tivoli is one consituency is it not? Out of how many in Jamaica? Im not buying that explanation at all. What is the likelihood of Tivoli switching to the PNP? None really.

Its either because he knows what the back lash would be and that the state could not contain it or, like some else said, that either he or others in the government can be directly implicated in any charges. This is way more than just solidifying the support in one consituency (however "powerful" that constituency may be).
                        I ask again...how much time have you spent in Jamaica?

Give him reality Ben ...The Chinese Utopia !

They will come from the far east with thier trillions and set up a chiney shop in Jamaica on the door steps of the Great Eagle , all will prosper , roads , piers and industries will flourish and Dudussism will spread far and wide to every corner of the Island and all will be happy , if only the Great Eagle flys away.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

All this speculation is fun !

It somewhat ignores the fact that the US has acted outside the boundaries of the Treaty..

A small matter in some minds.. those that do not understand the power of precedent..

lol !

Yes Ben I get you , if only they think like us , The Great Eagle invaders and conquers of many Great nations , The breaker of many Indian & latin american treaties,will honor the one it has with Jamaica because we are so self righteous , and militarily powerfull backed with the chinese dollars.

Futhermore Jamaica with the Great prophet Bruce will terminate this treaty and write up a new one with a JLP letter head proclaiming the new era of Dudussism.The Great Eagle will abide by it out of fear !

Why dont they see it like us ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Tivoli isnt the heart of the JLP , it is more symbolism more than anything else , i agree with her , Eddie was Tivoli , since he went that has been it for T.G.

It is my belief that Bruce made an error representing T.G , he could have been P.M without T.G , only one man can run that Garrison oopps one M.P and that is Seaga, im buill it , im can tear it down.