Dem nuh ready fi Drivah !

• Dem nuh ready fi Drivah !

Dis reminds me of di hapless Republicans VS Bill Clinton..

Comrade dem used to tic-tac-toe... a Chess Master dem ah try trap.. if Babylon cyaan manage him how Sistah 'p" and Peter expec fi manage ?

lol !

"Christopher Coke is wanted for an alleged crime in the US for which he ought to be tried and the Government of Jamaica, consistent with its obligations under the Treaty, will do everything necessary to facilitate his extradition once it is done in accordance with the provisions of the Treaty and the laws of our country," the prime minister said.
    The Jamaican Government has maintained that the US has acted in contravention of the Interception of Communications Act, arguing that evidence gathered by the US was illegally obtained.
    "The Government maintains that the information presented in support of this particular request is unacceptable because it has been used in violation of Jamaican law and in contravention of the expressed order of a judge of the Supreme Court," Golding said, noting that from as far back as September of last year, the Government formally requested additional or separate information from the US authorities that would enable the minister to fulfil the request.
    "We assured the US authorities that once this is done, the minister will sign the authorisation to proceed," Golding added.
    Yesterday, under persistent questioning from Opposition Member of Parliament, Dr Peter Phillips who had first questioned the engagement of the US law firm in March this year, Prime Minister Golding sought refuge in Standing Order provisions governing the conduct of questions when asked why he had not admitted to being the one to 'sanction' persons within the party to seek legal representation in the first place.

"...Why didn't you say so then?" Phillips asked.

"The question I was asked was whether the Government of Jamaica had engaged the services of Manatt," Golding said emphatically, noting that he had answered what was asked of him at the time.
    When Phillips continued to press he said: "There is a great deal of latitude, many courtesies extended in this House but the member ought to be aware that in Standing Order 16 he can only ask a question of a minister in his official capacity in relation to his portfolio responsibilities; you cannot ask in the House anything about my responsibilities as party leader."

Is wheh Babylon a wait pon ? Drivah put Dudus pon a platter.. all dem haffi duh is provide evidence without violating Jamaican Law.. ah really hope di PNP dem nuh eff up di plan wid dem 'tactics'

Lets be honest, "the violating jamaican law" is a smoke screen. He doesn't want to sign it because he knows the Jamaican state cannot deal with the after effects.

Originally posted by MissLondon View Post
      Lets be honest, "the violating jamaican law" is a smoke screen. He doesn't want to sign it because he knows the Jamaican state cannot deal with the after effects.
      MissLondon, ever since I asked a question, I've been accused of defending criminality. However, I will ask it again, what if they are actually correct about the evidence being illegal? None of the experts here has considered that. The former AG was being interviewed and when the argument about the evidence was brought to his attention his get out of jail line was take it to the courts.

However, when there was a previous standoff with the US gov't and the previous admin, how was it handled?

Actually, the violating Jamaican Law is a real issue that Babylon haffi deal wid. I am surprised at their carelessness in this matter.. then again, anyting which di PNP stooges concoct usually end up in failure..

Yuh can ah try tek down a man like Dudus wid anyting less dan a bulletproof submission ?

hmm, some sense creeping in, i see.

give it some company. come up with others, quickly!

MissLondon, ever since I asked a question, I've been accused of defending criminality. However, I will ask it again, what if they are actually correct about the evidence being illegal? None of the experts here has considered that. The former AG was being interviewed and when the argument about the evidence was brought to his attention his get out of jail line was take it to the courts.

However, when there was a previous standoff with the US gov't and the previous admin, how was it handled?
            It may well be true, its not far fetched however, had it been a different person, I don't think there would have been so much attention to detail. I think the after effects of the would-be extradition are weighing far more on Bruce's mind than the legality of the evidence.

Originally posted by MissLondon View Post
              It may well be true, its not far fetched however, had it been a different person, I don't think there would have been so much attention to detail. I think the after effects of the would-be extradition are weighing far more on Bruce's mind than the legality of the evidence.
              Well I don't know about what is weighing on the PM's mind. One thing is certain, the AG is in between a rock and a hard place, as she said the other day its all politics. She the uproar because she is yet to sign the request. Flip it now, if she had signed it and it reached the courts and get thrown out because of the same evidence, the same set that mekking up noise now would be asking for her resignation, complaining that she is incompetent.

it seems to me that the way the US acquired the evidence is illegal. OK. but MY question is, didn't the JAMAICAN authorities have this SAME information in hand BEFORE the americans got it?

If it is that the information does not suggest that a crime has been committed by the jamaican authorities (gun and drug smuggling) then how can that same information be sufficient for the US authorities? i think that in all of this those questions are not being asked. in my opinionm the authorities would have amore difficult time justifying not doing anything than claiming that the evidence was obtained illegally, which it very well may have been!

bwoy yuh have it een fi misslondon eh? yuh nuh get yuh bikini pics yet?

it seems to me that the way the US acquired the evidence is illegal. OK. but MY question is, didn't the JAMAICAN authorities have this SAME information in hand BEFORE the americans got it?

If it is that the information does not suggest that a crime has been committed by the jamaican authorities (gun and drug smuggling) then how can that same information be sufficient for the US authorities? i think that in all of this those questions are not being asked. in my opinionm the authorities would have amore difficult time justifying not doing anything than claiming that the evidence was obtained illegally, which it very well may have been!
                    Didn't you get an answer already? The court order for the wire tap was for the investigators to LISTEN AND INVESTIGATE. Using it as evidence would be inadmissible (According to the legal experts).

huh? i guess i was absent from school that day but it appears to me that such an explanation is balderdash!

if during the course of the investigation they overhear information about, say.... an imminent assassination, the assassination would have to take place first?

huh? i guess i was absent from school that day but it appears to me that such an explanation is balderdash!

if during the course of the investigation they overhear information about, say.... an imminent assassination, the assassination would have to take place first?
                        If the Feds get a warrant to search yuh car, but found evidence in your house, couldn't that evidence be thrown out because it was obtained during an illegal search? Ask mi a ask boss!

Let's talk about violating Jamaica law - is this really the issue in a lawless, free-or-all society where rape, murder, killing of children, beheading people, robbing is par for the course??? Where politicians use their hired gunmen to intimidate, harrass and mureder people for their political beleifs?? Violation of Jamaican law - spending the people's money on everything except for the people?
                          Maudib - YOU know the reality - stop defending the indefensible, stop being a puppet, a stooge and a rampant apogist for less than a noble stand.

us law is different from jamaica law.

feds?!? what the hell is that?!?

not a good analogy, but to answer you yes...BUT if they find evidence in your car that leads them have a reasonable belief that a crime has been committed in your house and they follow that evidence...eg....there is a trail of blood from the car to the house...they have to go back and get a warrant to enter the house?

this is more akin to finding evidence in the car that a crime has been committed and then not doing anything about it, the US obtained it illegally and come to the conclusion that a crime has been committed but cannot use the same evidence because it was obtained illegally by them to begin with.