Bruce fesses up...finally

Originally posted by Time View Post
    I don't think is was a mistake. From what I read it is illegal for a person to lobby on behalf of an indited person but I suspect that does not include a government an extradition because that is a political decision. The FARA form had to be filed irrespective of whether it was a political party or a goverment but I suspect that the for, could only be legal if it states Goverment of Jamaica instead of Jamaica Labor Party.
    Read the presentation

Justify its stance ???

Can they use Jamaican Law to do it ?

oh, i see! it's been happening for a while here in banana republic jamaica, so why do anything about it now.

thanks!

you are glad we are waking up but we should continue to hold this crap! why demonstrate and block roads? to what end? this man had months to APOLOGISE, because that was all that was left up to him to do. instead he lies some more. and you want us to block road.

thanks again!
        Im not talking about protesting over Dudus, though that can be done too, Im talking about protesting over the murder rate. If the whole of Jamaica protested and demonstrated until some concrete plans were formulated to deal with crime, how long do you think it would be before the gov had to act? Im talking about DEMANDING your politicians to do what they are suppose to be doing. Your mind seems clouding by the Dudus issue, Im talking about the crime issue in general.

Seems pretty clear, concise and final to me.

Any objections would have to stray into the political or emotional. The man provide precedent and demonstrate all actions to be within the ambit of law and procedure.

The only ting that surprise me is dat him did guh J.C. The only ting me can figure is dat J.C. was not always a sub-standard institution.. it must have had its glory days.

Mi proud ah him.. dem man deh yuh can sen anyway innah di World and him get ovation. Mi cyaan believe how wi lucky to dodge di alternative.. mi wondah if Sista 'P' coulda even unnastan dis presentation, much less deliver it.

Jamaica cyaan lose wid dem quality a intellect a lead di country.. 18 years undah dis level a leadership and wi PRETTY !

Originally posted by MissLondon View Post
            Your mind seems clouding by the Dudus issue, Im talking about the crime issue in general.
            you don't see it's all connected? okay, i am blinded by dudus.

sigh!

This is REALLY bad.

Bruce is pretty close to the line of making Jamaica a pariah or rogue state, if he hasn't crossed it already! Him better careful him don't end up like Noriega.

I thought I could never be disappointed by a JA politician anymore but this PM has managed to do it.

It really is. The coverup is now worse than the original crime.

yet some of us want this latest issue to be compared with the rest.

bruce said about trafigura that such scandals have been known to bring down govts. what a ra ss joke!

exactly!

yet some of us want this latest issue to be compared with the rest.

bruce said about trafigura that such scandals have been known to bring down govts. what a ra ss joke!
                      Government Ministers accepting bribes (according to the Dutch investigators). How can this be compared? All he did was handled the matter in a clumsy manner.

Clumsy ?

Is muss joke yuh a joke.

Nothing clumsy about Bruce. Yuh read di presentation ?

Yuh haffi laugh at all the clumsy antics of di PNP and the rather sensational approach of the media (clearly in absence of the facts).

This matter requires the coolest of heads... Drivah.. a man for our times..

Clumsy ?

Is muss joke yuh a joke.

Nothing clumsy about Bruce. Yuh read di presentation ?

Yuh haffi laugh at all the clumsy antics of di PNP and the rather sensational approach of the media (clearly in absence of the facts).

This matter requires the coolest of heads... Drivah.. a man for our times..
                          He could have killed this issue from day 1. Now he as given Peter Phillips relevance in politics again. Yes, he did answer the initial questions, but leaving the issue open has given the opp a chance to mek some noise.

The Opp will make noise regardless...

Bruce don't mind people absorbing themselves with dead-end issues.. especially the opposition..

Nutting wrong with Peter Phillips becoming relevant.. you want division in the ranks of the Enemy..

told Parliament just a while ago he "sanctioned" the MPP contact... but they are trying to say it was a party issue and not a governmnet one..stayed tuned for details

Wonder if this will need a letterhead???
                              For some people I doubt even a letterhead would be enough.

I'm still amazed that they can't get their story straight though, but then again the truth doesn't require a good memory and they haven't been telling the full truth and don't seem to have a good memory:

Just read Golding's statement and Samuda's statement:

Golding:

I sanctioned the initiative, knowing that such interventions have in the past proven to be of considerable value in dealing with issues involving the governments of both countries. I made it clear, however, that this was an initiative to be undertaken by the Party, not by or on behalf of the government.

Samuda:

In September of last year, persons within the JLP approached Mr Brady to see whether, through his wide network of international contacts, he could assist in facilitating the opening of discussions between the US Authorities and the Government of Jamaica, and thereby, seek to resolve what had become a treaty dispute between the US and Jamaica.

So how those two statements square now? Having an initiative assist in "facilitating the opening of discussions" between the US and GOJ isn't in some way acting on behalf of the GOJ?

These statements also don't seem to fit with the documents filed by Manatt and the background to their filing that can be inferred:

Golding:

From the investigations that I have made, Manatt, Phelps & Phillips were made to believe that Mr. Brady was acting for the government of Jamaica, rather than the JLP, and that their engagement was authorized by the government of Jamaica. Accordingly, in filing its representation with the Department of Justice on October 13th 2009, as it is required by law to do, it listed its client as "The government of Jamaica through Harold Brady & Company". I only became aware of this when it was brought to the attention of the House on March 16th. The Attorney-General subsequently wrote to Manatt, Phelps & Phillips stating that neither Mr. Brady nor his company was engaged as a consultant to the government nor was either of them authorized to act on behalf of the government or to engage their services on its behalf.
                              Samuda:

The Solicitor-General and the team that accompanied him [in December] met with representatives of Manatt, Phelps & Phillips at Mr Brady’s invitation. The discussions were exploratory and were focused on alternative approaches that have been taken in similar treaty disputes with the US. The Solicitor-General made it clear that the government of Jamaica saw no need at that stage to engage their services but would be prepared to consider doing so
                              should the need arise
                              For Samuda's statement to be true it would mean that the Manatt rep must have been deaf because long after the Solicitor-General supposedly "made it clear" that the GOJ saw no need to engage Manatt's services at the time, Manatt was still filing documents claiming it was working for the GOJ even though it could have filed for a correction.

For Golding's statement to be true it would mean that something funny is really going on in Manatt since the A-G supposedly wrote to Manatt subsequent to March 16th saying that Manatt never worked for the GOJ but in the final week of April (more than a month after the issue was raised in Parliament and Golding and the A-G supposedly first heard about it), Manatt general counsel Monte Lemann supposedly insisted to AmLawDaily that Manatt did indeed have a contract with the GOJ.
                              Last edited by ReggaeMike; May 12, 2010, 12:08 PM.

thanks for providing the evidence of the LIE. i don't think i would have found it, but I remember it distinctly.

but feel no way, somehow the shameless will find a way to tell us that nutten nuh wrong and is we nuh have nuh sense.