Ellington says tougher sentences & speedy trials needed ...

• Ellington says tougher sentences & speedy trials needed ...

Ellington says tougher sentences & speedy trials needed to fight crime

The Commissioner of Police has noted possible solutions to the high murder wave sweeping the country.

st1\:*{behavior:url(#ieooui) }Up to Sunday May 9, 2010, 609 persons had been killed in violent crimes.

Owen Ellington, who was speaking in an interview with the BBC Caribbean Service, said Jamaica's murder rate can best be dealt with, implementing tougher sentences and speedy trials.

According to Commissioner Ellington, much of the crime and violence in Jamaica is generated by conflicts arising out of relationships developed in trans-national organized crimes.

"In Jamaica, we solve an average 150 murders per year. We have a court system that is overwhelmed by the volume of cases going before it and because of this; cases have to be postponed for extended periods.

"In Jamaica, accused person have the right to bail, so even though people may be charged for several serious crimes, they're very often granted bail," Commissioner Ellington said.

The Police Commissioner thinks the right approach to decreasing the murder rate is to build the kind of capacity criminal justice system that can assure swifter trials for violent offenders and longer term prison sentence for violent offenders.

"If we are able to do that, we'll then be able to take a significant cohort of violent offenders off the streets," Mr. Ellington said.

http://www.radiojamaica.com/content/view/27263/26/

really!!!... and he is just realizing that... i've been saying that on this site for over 8yrs... he is light years behind... although, i've got to give him credit for stating the obvious since he hasn't been at the helm for too long... lets see what the legislature come with...

mi nuh rate him. any commish who is loved by the rank and file cannot mean good for jamaica. rank and file cops should be quaking in their boots, because a significant number of them are corrupt!

Maybe BBC Caribbean Service nevah know...

exactly and he should add no bail for violent crimes and especially gun crimes.

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
            really!!!... and he is just realizing that... i've been saying that on this site for over 8yrs... he is light years behind... although, i've got to give him credit for stating the obvious since he hasn't been at the helm for too long... lets see what the legislature come with...
            Sounds like ppl need fi lobby their party regarding some crime bills whey a gather dust.

well, a large part of the reason for the delay is gathering evidence...whose fault is that? the kinda expedience he's looking for coupled with the ineptitude...more acquittals.

cho baxide, we tired fi hear wha who said, time fi wi hear wha who did.

I Agree

mi nuh rate him. any commish who is loved by the rank and file cannot mean good for jamaica. rank and file cops should be quaking in their boots, because a significant number of them are corrupt!
                  You have made a very important point here, Mo!!