It should be a 2 frame piece. In frame 1 an entertainer a sing, "informah fi dead" with the crowd going wild, then in frame 2 on hearing one of his fellow artiste is shot, he is pleading with witnesses "duh please tell di police what unuh see!".
Lets see what the cartoonists come with today!
Exactly what i thought about yesterday, Lazie, as i watched the entertainers at Mandela Park talk about the need to stop glorifying guns and defending badness. Unfortunately, I'm not sure if those entertainers who do that constantly were there in the crowd. I could only make out Mr. Vegas, Tami Chynn and D'Angel.
I think what they did was noble, but can we galvanise like this for the common man, the way the JFJ does?!? Or do we only care when this violence comes to our front porch? It will be too late if we do the latter.
This is typical, a few entertainers were affected by violence when family members, friends or neighbours got shot or killed by police or gunmen but until one of their own was targetted they did not see the need to hold this vigil.
I recalled a few years ago this good foiotball freind was shot and killed while walking to his home form his father in law's wake and suddenly those in that neighbour hood and us who knew him realised that we were not immune to the senseless violence and it was indeed on our front porches and pushing its way into our living rooms.
A few years later my doctor's husband was shot and killed at his gate not even 100m from where I live and that fear factor racheted up several notches.
For most killings we hear taking place here in MoBay there is always some link but in the case of my doctor's husband, people say he was just very unlucky and might have been mistaken for some one else...other than that no one can come up with any other reaosn for his killing.Solidarity is not a matter of well wishing, but is sharing the very same fate whether in victory or in death.