• Government waging war on environment

....say environmental groups
    JamaicaObserver.com
    Friday, May 07, 2010

var addthis_pub="jamaicaobserver";

ENVIRONMENTALISTS and sustainable tourism advocates are lashing the Government for what they say is a relentless war on the environment.
    Members of the Jamaica Environmental Advocacy Network (JEAN) point to the approvals of large projects as an arrow in the nation's heart.

Palisadoes Road to be converted to four-lane highway
    var caption4451881 = document.getElementById('photocaption4451881').inn erHTML; var mygallery=new fadeSlideShow({ wrapperid: "fadeshow1", //ID of blank DIV on page to house Slideshow dimensions: [370, 245], //width/height of gallery in pixels. Should reflect dimensions of largest image imagearray: [ ["http://assets.mediaspanonline.com/prod/4451881/Palisadoes_w370.jpg", "", "", caption4451881 ] ], displaymode: {type:'manual', pause:3000, cycles:0, wraparound:false}, persist: false, //remember last viewed slide and recall within same session? fadeduration: 500, //transition duration (milliseconds) descreveal: "always", togglerid: "slideshowtoggler" })

Palisadoes Road to be converted to four-lane highway

1/1

“We had the construction of very large hotels between 2004 and 2008, and the well documented damage these developments caused. At least one closed before it was even completed, others responded to the poor economic environment by dropping their rates to rock bottom, making it difficult for local tourism operators to compete,” Diana McCaulay, speaking on behalf of JEAN, said.
    “Then – Falmouth - the Disneyfication of an historic town, including destruction of a healthy coral reef, clearance of mangroves and sea grasses, and dredging of the sea floor. Associated with this project was the clear cutting of a watershed area in close proximity to the Martha Brae River, to quarry marl for the cruise ship pier construction," McCaulay said.
    The group is also criticising plans to quarry Puerto Bueno Mountain on the North Coast – one of the last remaining stands of dry limestone forest on the north coast and the planned conversion of the Palisadoes road into a four-lane highway as further environmental blunders.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
    ...and the planned conversion of the Palisadoes road into a four-lane highway as further environmental blunders.
    Do we really need 4 lanes here? I don't think so at all! But hey, if we can get the Chinese to build a nice mini-stadium in Sligoville, then let's get them to do this too!

Depends on the near term plans Mo.

From what I intuit, we may really need a SIX lane highway there!

We probably will need to raise it 10 ft and drill tunnels underneath to allow water to pass from the trapped stagnant harbour.

Well, considering the fact that we have a 3rd international airport and the cargo airport is destined for Vernamfield, maybe some traffic will be diverted from the NMIA for the medium term. Fact is, there is no traffic on the Palisadoes strip! If you are going to catch a flight from NMIA, you can't wait to get to the Palisadoes, because that is when you can cruise easily.

To my mind, there are more pressing things, but politicians like to leave monuments as evidence that they are doing...whatever that doing is, good or bad, sensible or senseless.

By the way, can anyone tell me when the downtown bus terminal suppose fi open?

Not a bad idea Willi...and in fact Port Royal was not always connected to Harbour view....certainly some flushing of Kingston harbour would be good.....whether it would occur along the spit... is another matter.

Yuh getting from bad to wuss..

Yuh really comparing Palisados Highway Project to Sligoville Mini-stadium ??

Look what yuh come tuh...

Sad.