How the diaspora can save Jamaica from its 2 corrupt tribes

• How the diaspora can save Jamaica from its 2 corrupt tribes

Learning from the UK elections (and echoing some of Willi's third party views) Jamaica needs an honest broker/kingmaker to save us from the worst predations of the 2 tribes inflicted on us... and hopefully generate some needed reforms.

We can achieve this by virtue of a 3rd party (Jamaica National Party?) funded by money raised by the diaspora.... say US$30m or so. It's important that the money raised should be free from the influence of the corrupt & destructive Jamaican politicians and their corrupt & greedy & self-serving private sector bedfellows.... for obvious reasons.

The mission of this party would not necessarily be to achieve state power ...but to positively influence the policies of both tribes... with a manifesto of aggressive reform, competent & honest administration and of course de-tribalization & de-garrisonization of the society... (including some version of a formal, wide-ranging Social Contract).

The party would select demonstrably competent, independent and patriotic Jamaicans for its leadership.... tribalists cyan tek whey demself.

This new party could achieve its honest broker mission by focusing on representing ONLY 6-7 swing constituencies... wherever located.

With as few as 5-6 seats in Parliament and given the generally close nature of our elections the JNP will be a kingmaker...able to decide which party forms the government...which would be a de facto coalition with the JNP.

The party selected as a coalition partner would be REQUIRED to adopt the reforms of the JNP platform.... on pain of withdrawal of support which would cause govt collapse and new elections.

Over time we would have a fair shot at improved governance and sustained progress.
    With a little investment and much vision...the diaspora can save Jamaica from itself.... much as in the 1930s the diaspora out of NY was an incubator for the self government movement.

Selah

Selah

That's what I think the NDM should have done and should still try to do.

I wouldn't call it the National Party though. Too many of those parties in the past and present have had....unsavoury associations; The National Party in South Africa, the BNP or National Front, The National Party of Australia.

Plus even if was to be different the name unfortunately combines the names the 2 current domineering parties: Jamaica Labour Party and People's National Party. It might be confused as a puppet of the PNP, rather like if a party was called the People's Labour Party some might think it was associated with the PNP or JLP.

How about "Progressive Democratic Party"? Goals would be clearly outlined in the name: progress away from the current tribalism and towards effective and real democracy.

EDIT: Or if the acronym ends up being too close to "PNP" then just substitute "Progressive" with "Liberal" or maybe call it the "Democratic Reform Party".

Jamaica need fi start over from scratch

Your 4th paragraph is extremely important.

Thorough backbround check is critical.

I would add that the minimum educational qualification for candidates must be a BS degree from an accredited college.

stay deh. As long as people will elect known criminals in the name of party, god save our souls.

I notice you didn't say as long as people will protect known criminals from extradition. Interesting.

Originally posted by ReggaeMike View Post
              That's what I think the NDM should have done and should still try to do.

I wouldn't call it the National Party though. Too many of those parties in the past and present have had....unsavoury associations; The National Party in South Africa, the BNP or National Front, The National Party of Australia.

Plus even if was to be different the name unfortunately combines the names the 2 current domineering parties: Jamaica Labour Party and People's National Party. It might be confused as a puppet of the PNP, rather like if a party was called the People's Labour Party some might think it was associated with the PNP or JLP.

How about "Progressive Democratic Party"? Goals would be clearly outlined in the name: progress away from the current tribalism and towards effective and real democracy.

EDIT: Or if the acronym ends up being too close to "PNP" then just substitute "Progressive" with "Liberal" or maybe call it the "Democratic Reform Party".
              whatever the name is.....as long as the goals are progressive

NDM suffers from a fatal flaw... no true independence from the corrupt political and business structure..... ergo...failure is assured

we need outside help...from our own people of goodwill

stay deh. As long as people will elect known criminals in the name of party, god save our souls.
                as usual you miss the point of the thesis

how many times you see me come pon yah and say I in no shape or form support Bruce Golding not extraditing Dudus. How else can I say it for you to understand. Tell me in what language I should say it.

BRUCE GOLDING IS WRONG and I don't support criminality in any party.

Well reality a look we in the eye. We have to start with the basics. It all sound good but the basic fact still stand.

yes-sir-eeeeee...!

cho.. the usual ting when PNP not in power...

Disaffected Comrades...

The Law is not a shackle ??

Do you believe Golding would have/ could have taken a stance if the the Extradition request was not tainted ?

Ahwhofa fault ?

Anyting with PNP shenanigans at the root is bound to fail.. dem nuh learn yet ?

PNP try ah ting and did hope seh dem would get back in power if rubber stamp di ting.. like dem nuh know Dudus have Lawyer..

it backfire and di fool-fool USA have egg on dem face.. now dem haffi wheel and come again.. simple.. mi nuh know wheh di drama is about.. dem seh dem preparing a next request.. if it clean den ebryting cris and good luck to missa Dudus ovah suh..

I am sure y'all don't want the Govt to break the law or trample on the rights of its citizens..

"Progressive Democratic Party", Ah it dat, nuh second guess yuhself - Thanks.

Matter of fact NDM members should not be accepted for high post.