Murderer sentenced to death, cronies get life

• Murderer sentenced to death, cronies get life

ANDRE Reid, also called 'Chadwick Gordon', who was found guilty of the macabre murders of two women, was today sentenced to death in the High Court.

His accomplices, Desmond Kennedy , Marlon Duncan and Carlton Heath were given life sentences. They were told by Justice Gloria Smith that they will have to serve 35 years before being eligible for parole.

The prosecution successfully argued that the men abducted three women from a bar at Newport West at night and robbed them, before taking them to the football field in the area where they were brutally gang-raped by a number of men.

Two of the three women were shot and killed and their bodies dumped in a sewage pit on premises belonging to the National Water Commission along Marcus Garvey Drive.

The men thought they had killed the third woman, who managed to climb out of the pit. She later identified the men and testified against them during the two-week trial.

The bodies of the other two women — Catherine Webb and Simone Vernon, one of whom died leaving behind a child — were never found.

The murders are believed to be reprisals for the killing of a man in the Greenwich Town community.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/lates...onies-get-life

If unuh nuh have rope mi have a extension cord.

I really hope the JFGay keep quiet on this one.

JFGay now? I hope the day never comes when you or your loved ones have to reach out to them.

He Will NOT Hang!!

Until as recently as three or so years ago, I had been totally against the death penalty. Today, of course, all that has changed for me, but I still pray that DNA evidence will become a regular thing in Jamaica’s crime investigation arsenal.

I recall reading the online news report of this sick incident a few years ago, and so I’m pleased at the excellent verdict by the jury, and the appropriate sentencing by the judge!! There is still hope for Jamaica!

One thing, though, and it’s that this guy will NEVER see the death penalty as long the London-based Privy Council remains in our constitution as Jamaica’s highest court. In fact, no Jamaican murderer who has a defense lawyer with an ounce of common sense will ever hang!!

Ironically, the Port of Spain-based Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ), which in theory provides a welcome alternative to Britain’s Privy Council, has only two Caribbean members: Barbados and Guyana! Not even Trinidad, which former (Trinidadian) Prime Minister Basdeo Panday campaigned so relentlessly to have as the headquarters of the CCJ, is a member today!

JFGay now? I hope the day never comes when you or your loved ones have to reach out to them.
            mi nuh haffi reach out to unnuh. if mi fi dead a so, mi rather go dan affi reach out to unnuh. too much hypocracy deh deh so. u guys are insane. it's obvious that unnuh dont realize say jamaica is at a point where the powers that be(barring brucie who par wid criminals) have to fight fire with fire. gunman fi get executed on spot right ya now. unnuh always come defend criminal wha a kill woman and pickney. follow mr vegas and tek whey unnuhself yah mon.

Summary execution is against the law, asking law enforcers to break the law is ill-advised,especially in light of the fact breaking the law in any other way pales in comparison;hence cops left, right and center are getting arrested for breaches of the corruption act.
              The strange thing about the death penalty is the research shows it isn't a deterrent.In any event, for the State to have someone in its custody(prison) and executes that person ranks as high as any of the terrible murders...
              I think the thin line between right and wrong has been blurred,as such there isn't that clear distinction NEEDED....

Blessed
              Last edited by Rockman; May 9, 2010, 06:16 PM.

Originally posted by Lionpaw View Post
                unnuh always come defend criminal wha a kill woman and pickney.
                really?!? news to me!