• Diaspora wants ease of visa restrictions on athletes

Diaspora wants ease of visa restrictions on athletes
    Friday, May 07, 2010

JAMAICA will be leaning on the lobbying efforts of its estimated three million members in the Diaspora to help convince developed countries to ease visa restrictions on the island's athletes and other groups.
    Professor Neville Ying, executive director of the Jamaican Diaspora Institute, told yesterday's media launch of the 2010 Jamaican Diaspora Convention at the foreign ministry in Kingston that the issue would be put on the table at the forum, which will run from June 14 to 17 at the Sunset Jamaica Grande in Ocho Rios, St Ann. Some 700 Jamaicans from the United Kingdom, United States and Canada are expected to attend.

"You are well aware of the restrictions that are being placed on some of our athletes; we want to determine the cause and how can the Diaspora help to work on issues like that," Professor Ying said.
    He said the Diaspora held some sway and was confident that it could use those powers to effect change.
    "The whole Diaspora movement operates at several levels; for example, the Jamaican community in Britain are in pockets where they can actually influence the elections so that the politicians there actually listen to them. It's that kind of force we are trying to bring by strengthening the Diaspora," added Professor Ying.
    The lobby proposal by the Diaspora comes just weeks after high school track and field teams from Holmwood Technical and St Jago High were forced to whittle their squads after several members were denied US visas to travel to Philadelphia, United States for the annual Penn Relays. Eight of 15 St Jago team members had their visa applications turned down, while of Holmwood's three male athletes, only one was accepted. The school was also left uncertain about the position regarding another six applicants at the time.
    In the meantime, Professor Ying said the convention is being held outside of Kingston for the first time this year, in keeping with its theme "Partnering for Transformation -- Jamaica and its Diaspora". It will focus, he added, not only on the value of the group in terms of tourism and investment, but also its well-being.
    "One of the things we have to recognise at the convention is that we are not only concerned with what we can get from the Diaspora, but we are concerned with how they are coping where they are and the struggles they have to build their communities and be vibrant where they are..." he said.
    Digg
    Reddit
    Facebook
    StumbleUpon
    Twitter
    POST A COMMENT

You must first register and then login to be able to post a comment.

HOUSE RULES

1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper – email addresses will not be published.
    2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.
    3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.
    4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.
    5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed: advertising@jamaicaobserver.com.
    6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email: community@jamaicaobserver.com.
    7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy, and before commenting you need to register, conveniently, by clicking the link above.

Comment (required):

You have characters left.
    For information about privacy please read our Privacy Policy.
    I have read and accepted the Terms and Conditions

COMMENTS (10)

Richie L
    5/7/2010
    What a travesty! This is a no no and someone's head will have to roll for this slight to our athletes.
    We can't have our athletes being denied entry into foreign countries now, can we?
    Let us organize a lobby blitz on Capitol Hill. Anyone want to join me?
    Richie
    Sandy Willi
    5/7/2010
    I have re-read this article, is Prof Ying for real?? Prof Ying nor any of the 3 sitting beside him cannot help the Diaspora with "coping where they are and the stuggles they have to build their communities and be vibrant where they are......" Prof Ying and his counterparts cannot help Jamaicas who are unable to eat a food, how the hell they are going to help people who no matter how bad it gets, have somewhat of a social service to lean on and for sure don't have to run home behind prison walls before it gets dark. This is such hogwash it is not even funny!!! I can't wait to hear what the minister will have to say about his half an hour drink recently. I will be sure not to miss any printing of the Observer!
    demus one
    5/7/2010
    We need the Diaspora to use their inffluence to clean up jamaica first. With crimes and corruption at this high level do you think any country is going to be happy giving visas to anyone athlete or not. The government and politicians in these countries should tell the Diaspora go lobby the politicians in your country to clamp down on crime and corruption and if they succeed come back to us.
    Sandy Willi
    5/7/2010
    What's wrong with this picture? How is it none of the Diaspora members who are coming in this 700 is not a part of this media event? Does the Diaspora people even know this is happening? Something smells! BTW, is crime on the agenda because if it nuh dey pon it is a waste a time. Visa restrictions/crime - heller, they are like gloves and hands. Pappyshow!
    Paul Lewis
    5/7/2010
    @ Pete Delisser, we are willing to help in whatever way we can....but we have yet to see where Jamaicans who are more intimately affected by this taking a stand. So if all you do is talk with no action... then what are we supposed to do ?.
    C. Brown
    5/7/2010
    The visa restrictions are due to our high crime rate. Therefore the Diaspora should be lobbying the Jamaican leaders to address it and not the foreign countries. Like I always say, if we take care of the crime problem, every thing else become easier.. Put pressure on Bruce and him fren dem…
    Everald Gillings
    5/7/2010
    Ask your Prime Minister Bruce Golding what are the causes for this, he knows. When he start to respect treaties and stop defending known suspected criminals Jamaica will return to the status of a nation of laws and integrity, and not a failed nation.
    pete delisser
    5/7/2010
    oh please..the diaspora chat a lot, they seem to want/demand a lot...and in the end, have nothing substantial to say or even contribute. Im so tired of these diaspora conferences. If they care so much, why dont they relocate to their roots, and do the work, from the ground up..not from a far distance (overseas), or via 1-2 international conferences held during a short visit to Jamaica!
    Kweli Simba
    5/7/2010
    It is true that the diaspora has some sway through our involvement in the political theatre. I noticed that the good Professor did not mention the Diaspora in America where the visa restrictions has affected the athletes. But there is something more deeper that has been at the fore of conversations in the pocket that this writer lives and that is the ability of the diaspora to participate in general elections. "The politicains there actualy listen to them" Maybe the politician in Jamaica might care to give an ear to that....it is called quid pro quo.
    John John
    5/7/2010
    Why you misguided souls. Leaning on who? You all ain't seen nothing yet.
    Beg yu lean on bruce to release the don and all your worries will be past.
    America will not acknowledge but as soon as dudus is extradited, by coincidence...wink wink..visa restrictions on our athletes will be lifted. America will say one has nothing to do with other. Okay. Whatever.
    In conclusion, if you all have any sense, lean on bruce to extradite and your worries will be gone.

the comments are more interesting!

This is one of those issues that have so many gray areas that it will be difficult to try and paint the US Embassy as the bad guys.

I cant for a minute think there is a conspiracy at Liguanea to keep certain schools out of the Penn Relays and the schools must take some blame as well as they wait until, the last minute to apply as as the Embassy spokesman said the other day that first time applicants who are 18 and 19 years old will be treated as adults.

One coach told me they cant start the process too soon as they are not certain who they will take but by Champs you must have an idea and that is one month away from Penn Relays.

ISSA should get back involved and try to get the schools interview dates at least three week ahead so if they dont get the visas they can protest.

...if not made in ignorance...I guess they dont understand that not every one who goes to the Embassy for visas top the Penn Relays or Miami Classics are legitimate athletes or plan to return to the island after the meet is over.

Re the US Embassy, perhaps true.

But when dis likkle ****************in' tail country, that wi use to administer out of the Savlamar parish council office, want our athletes to get dem expensive visa for Carifta...wrenk!

true! just the wealthy Wolmers athletes plan to return home!

mawnin, Time! lol!

That is a different thing bow but look at the bigger picture..they come from Jamaica that is exporting their criminals all over the place including the Caribbean but I do think that once the JAAA names a national team, they should wave visas.

In 2007 when the team went to Ostrava, Czech Republic, they allowed the delegation to pay for visas up on arival there and last year after holding up the team a few days, the Germany Embassy that was responsible for issuing visas to Italy waived all the fees for the entire delegation to the WYC

The hold up resulted in the team having to go to Cuba for a three day camp before flying to Italy via Spain and got there late hence out poor showing in the early part of the meet, not with standing the bronze by Smikle in the discus

true! just the wealthy Wolmers athletes plan to return home!

mawnin, Time! lol!
                That don't mean that we don't get checked out. The names of my boys who did not have visa were sent downtown for background checks before they went to see uncle sam, not sure how many other teams had that sort of checking.