Cuba poised to become No. 1

I thought we already spoke English.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Cuba vs. Jamaica!

true. that prediction about cuba killing our tourism will not come true, unless we allow it to!
      I was the one on this forum who always pointed at Cuba as being the most likely Caribbean country to take the lead, but I never ever suggested that it would end up “killing” Jamaica’s tourism.

There are distinct advantages that Cuba has, with the most obvious being its immense size and geographical diversity (simply take a look at a map). Then there is the culture, which is known worldwide (despite Cuba having no “Bob Marley”). Salsa, for example, is a much older genre than reggae or dancehall or ska.

Cuba’s population is a vastly more disciplined set of people when compared with Jamaicans, but at the same time they are just as forward-thinking and aggressive as Jamaicans. They are also a vastly more impressively educated people (in the sciences, mathematics, engineering, etc. etc.), and they have a Diaspora than has real influence. There is also the “romanticism” behind its history. I could go on and on, but I think I’ve made my point….

Originally posted by Historian View Post
        I was the one on this forum who always pointed at Cuba as being the most likely Caribbean country to take the lead, but I never ever suggested that it would end up “killing” Jamaica’s tourism.

There are distinct advantages that Cuba has, with the most obvious being its immense size and geographical diversity (simply take a look at a map). Then there is the culture, which is known worldwide (despite Cuba having no “Bob Marley”). Salsa, for example, is a much older genre than reggae or dancehall or ska.

Cuba’s population is a vastly more disciplined set of people when compared with Jamaicans, but at the same time they are just as forward-thinking and aggressive as Jamaicans. They are also a vastly more impressively educated people (in the sciences, mathematics, engineering, etc. etc.), and they have a Diaspora than has real influence. There is also the “romanticism” behind its history. I could go on and on, but I think I’ve made my point….
        Whilst this is true, Jamaica is known world wide, I have not been to a country where I don't see someone displaying a Jamaica t-shirt, flag or some other apparel. Brand Jamaica is very strong, its just hindered by a high murder rate, and by people who don't seem to be able to utilise it.

This Matter of Spanish

Originally posted by Jangle
          A conscious effort needs to be made in getting our tourist workers to learn at least one foreign language with the emphasis being on Spanish because of our proximity to South America, Cuba and Dominica Republic.

Now, you’re all beginning to sound a bit like Historian! Isn’t the inclusion of Spanish (not some “other language” but rather, Spanish) into the curriculum of ALL Jamaican high schools something I’ve been calling for over the past two years (despite the objections of several members of this forum)?

Also, why limit the potential Spanish-speaking tourists to just South America? What about Central America which comprises seven countries, six of which speak Spanish (Belize, a former British colony, is English speaking). Then, there is the huge North American country of Mexico….

our spanish-speaking neighbours are not travelling to jamaica, so why prepare fot them!!?

We do, but....

I thought we already spoke English.
              While English is Jamaica’s national language, the average Jamaican speaks a broken form of English (a dialect we refer to as patois), and this can be extremely challenging for the foreign ear to decipher. This is NOT unique to Jamaica, of course, as all nationalities have their dialect forms.

Those small countries in central america lack the income to go on vacations to Jamaica. Germany, Russia, China & S. Korea can be a great market for Jamaica.
                Last edited by Hortical; May 7, 2010, 01:15 PM.

our spanish-speaking neighbours are not travelling to jamaica, so why prepare fot them!!?
                  Exactly, what percentage of the visitors to the caribbean come from spanish speaking countries? How many can afford to travel for leisure? Like I said before, speaking English will not put people off, it is the global langauge.

There are distinct advantages that Cuba has, with the most obvious being its immense size and geographical diversity (simply take a look at a map).
                    True! For every beautiful waterfall Jamaica has, Cuba probably has 10! For every white sand beach we have, Cuba probably has 20! But are they accessible?

Then there is the culture, which is known worldwide (despite Cuba having no “Bob Marley”). Salsa, for example, is a much older genre than reggae or dancehall or ska.
                    It coulda ole likkle more, the popular world culture is about American music first, then Jamaican. Mi seh suh!

As Cuba's tourism picks up, they should expect crime to go up as well, but I doubt the govt. will allow it to get to our levels any time soon.

Cuba's diaspora? Yuh mean Miami?!? For all intents and purposes that may be the start and end of their Diaspora!

Yes, the romanticism of Cuba is a good selling point, but we have our equivalent.

Please....

How much emphasis has been placed on marketing Jamaica on the continent, save for Canada and the USA?

This is not a joking matter! Please look at your map and identify the Spanish-speaking countries in the region of the Americas. In South America, the notable EXCEPTIONS are Brazil, Guyana, Suriname and French Guiana (I don’t have a map with me, and so I hope I haven’t left any country out), while in Central America the only exception is Belize. It’s almost irresponsible and certainly very short-sighted not to try and tap into this Spanish-speaking market of millions and millions of people (despite the general poverty of South and Central America)!!

How much emphasis has been placed on marketing Jamaica on the continent, save for Canada and the USA?

This is not a joking matter! Please look at your map and identify the Spanish-speaking countries in the region of the Americas. In South America, the notable EXCEPTIONS are Brazil, Guyana, Suriname and French Guiana (I don’t have a map with me, and so I hope I haven’t left any country out), while in Central America the only exception is Belize. It’s almost irresponsible and certainly very short-sighted not to try and tap into this Spanish-speaking market of millions and millions of people (despite the general poverty of South and Central America)!!
                        But how many can afford to travel for leisure?

English vs. Spanish

Originally posted by MissLondon View Post
                          Exactly, what percentage of the visitors to the caribbean come from spanish speaking countries? How many can afford to travel for leisure? Like I said before, speaking English will not put people off, it is the global langauge.
                          May 5 2010
                          Here's a listing of the ten most popular languages spoken worldwide, along with the approximate number of primary or first language speakers for that language.
                          1. Mandarin Chinese - 882 million
                          2. Spanish - 325 million
                          3. English - 312-380 million
                          4. Arabic - 206-422 million
                          5. Hindi - 181 million
                          6. Portuguese - 178 million

7. Bengali - 173 million
                          8. Russian - 146 million
                          9. Japanese - 128 million
                          10. German - 96 million

Various sources were used to compile this listing of the most popular languages of the world but the primary source was the CIA World Factbook.

My Source: http://geography.about.com/od/culturalgeography/a/10languages.htm

and what would they be looking for in jamaica? sun, sea, sand - many of them already have that! reggae? perhaps, since reggaeton sucks!

more than you can imagine. Don't underestimate the spending power of the South Americans.
                              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015