How much do teachers get paid in JA?

• How much do teachers get paid in JA?

Im just curious, is it a set pay or does it vary from school to school? Can you live comfortably on a teachers salary?

Its been a while since my father was a career teacher in JA but as far as I know things have not changed that much. I will assume you mean teachers in the public school system, whose wages are not supplemented in some way by the school community (I understand this does happen at some schools maybe someone in the know can confirm this).

Most teachers are unionized and so thier wages are negotiated between the govt and the unions. So the pay is basically set based on seniority.

Wages are low for the skill level, the majority of teachers would not be able to buy a house for example.

To answer your question about living on a teachers salary, the answer is no ,along with nurses its one of the top migrant professions to the USA and Canada.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Awww well, teachers are underpaid everywhere from my experience, but at least in Britain they receive a decent wage. I don't want to live here my whole life though!

Me too, get into real estate, part time !Your options will open and you will see who holds the power in your world and how they use it.

Eye opener !

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Me too, get into real estate, part time !Your options will open and you will see who holds the power in your world and how they use it.

Eye opener !
            Real estate in Jamaica?

Mek mi tell a yuh a likkle ting, MissLondon - most of the forumites do not reside in Jamaica, despite their expressed love and concern for their bawnland.

I am one of the few who has chosen to return home and get my hands dirty in the rebuilding of the country. Maybe around 3 others are on the Rock. The rest live in God Blessed America and Europe

Mek mi tell a yuh a likkle ting, MissLondon - most of the forumites do not reside in Jamaica, despite their expressed love and concern for their bawnland.

I am one of the few who has chosen to return home and get my hands dirty in the rebuilding of the country. Maybe around 3 others are on the Rock. The rest live in God Blessed America and Europe
                In your opinion, can you live decently in Jamaica on a teachers salary?

Wow!

Dripping with sarcasm and self-rightousness!

then get yourself a towel, Islandman! good gosh! clean that up!!

I really don't know. I think teachers are badly paid, but the few that I know not living di worse life! Maybe dem do some drugs on the side?!? Just saying!!!

How Addi Di Teacher fi migrate and him nah nuh visa?

X is correct!
                          ...also many leave the profession within 2 years!

...as one teacher told me, "yuh caan guh a di cashier an seh let mi tru mi a teacha"!

So on the social and economic scale in Jamaica, teachers are what, lower class? Or should I say have a lower class/poor lifestyle?

no, not lower class and don't have a poor lifestyle, at least, not in my view. i think they are seeing as part of the struggling working class, the deportee driving crew.