Bangarang a Britain. No majority party

Interesting, I really did not realise that.

I guess my views were being overly influenced by celebrities like Leona Lewis, and the current crop of professional athletes, most of whom to me come across, as, well, "black British" . But clearly thier experiences are not typical and the PR behind them calls for a different kind of image than the typical black person in Britain.
    Yes, black people are "British" when they are famous and well liked, watch when those famous people do something wrong.....

Btw, black and Asian people in Britain tend to identify with their parents, grandparents countries as well.

nice to get in from the "inside".....i suspected this was the case. what chance would a black briton have of becoming prime minister.

also. how does the black community in the uk view baroness scotland?

nice to get in from the "inside".....i suspected this was the case. what chance would a black briton have of becoming prime minister.

also. how does the black community in the uk view baroness scotland?
          None to zero! LOL.... well there maybe a very slim chance for a light skinned or mixed raced person in a few decades.

I don't think most black people know who she is Gamma.

is she a baroness because of her political position?

latest results

Predicted seats

Conservative 305
              Labour 258
              Liberal Democrat 57
              Other 28

Election: Cameron makes offer to Lib Dems on government

David Cameron on his party's 'big, open, comprehensive offer' to the Lib Dems
              David Cameron has reached out to the Liberal Democrats in an effort to form a government - after the UK general election resulted in a hung parliament.

REALLY they don't???!!! only the youngest QC EVER black or white male or female.

regarding the prime minister, i had a chuckle when the view from that side of the pond was how "proud they were of americans" yadda yadda yadda....knowing fulll well, "not in my country"!! LOL

i don't think it was a heriditary title....can't swear for that though....

well, you know some of us got our titles that way.

just saying.

REALLY they don't???!!! only the youngest QC EVER black or white male or female.

regarding the prime minister, i had a chuckle when the view from that side of the pond was how "proud they were of americans" yadda yadda yadda....knowing fulll well, "not in my country"!! LOL
                      Successful black people are not really visible in Britian, unless they are American etc!

And I found it funny as well, for some reason British people think Britain is much less racist than America, even though black people have achieved no where near as much.

did britain have whites only rest rooms? did britain lynch and burn black people? did britain prevent blacks from attending certain schools? did britain have their own version of the tuskegee experiment?

Mo, cho man you been living in a cave all this time. Sure there is racism in Britain, but I don't think it was embedded in the legal codes like a lot of American states.

just saying, bredren! trying to make a point.

i think that is why the perception is still there. america's was more institutionalised but they confronted it head on, while britain thought everything was rosy. america still has a way to go, but that is true for even our own jamaica!

did britain have whites only rest rooms? did britain lynch and burn black people? did britain prevent blacks from attending certain schools? did britain have their own version of the tuskegee experiment?
                              No, but Britian has only had a sizeable black population for the last 40 years, compared with 400 years in America.

just saying, bredren! trying to make a point.

i think that is why the perception is still there. america's was more institutionalised but they confronted it head on, while britain thought everything was rosy. america still has a way to go, but that is true for even our own jamaica!
                                Well this is the problem, Britian doesn't think its racist so nothing is done. America knows its racist or was racist so its dealt with up front. In my experience, Americans are more upfront with their racism, whereas British people are all smiles to your face, but as soon as your back is turned......

I prefer the upfrontness personally, at least you know what your dealing with.