Part 1: Never a Dull Day

Note to self .. "travel to places other than US, UK and Canada". Miss London, suppose I've never been to those places?
    Then where have you been to think Jamaica is a failed state? Or have you never left Jamaica? In which case I understand, as Jamaicans can be quite insular and everything seems better on cable tv!

Originally posted by MissLondon View Post
      Then where have you been to think Jamaica is a failed state? Or have you never left Jamaica? In which case I understand, as Jamaicans can be quite insular and everything seems better on cable tv!
      Well if you live where I live where not even dogs want to walk on the road, where the police station doors are locked before the street lights are on, where being a menace to society seems to be the norm, can you blame me? Cable TV? huh?

don1, thank you for this list... last year when we had a debate about failed states i was about to post this list and didn't get around to it...

people hear the term 'failed state' and start throw it around without a true understanding of what it means to be a failed state...

there are many things wrong with jamaica but as uncomfortable as we all are with the negatives in our jamaican society, we have a far way to go before we are in the failed state category... that said, we are trending towards it and that is a cause for concern...

our leadership has to make some bold decisions to arrest this social decline...

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
          don1, thank you for this list... last year when we had a debate about failed states i was about to post this list and didn't get around to it...

people hear the term 'failed state' and start throw it around without a true understanding of what it means to be a failed state...

there are many things wrong with jamaica but as uncomfortable as we all are with the negatives in our jamaican society, we have a far way to go before we are in the failed state category... that said, we are trending towards it and that is a cause for concern...

our leadership has to make some bold decisions to arrest this social decline...
          List? The reality is we (as a country) are unable to provide the needed security for the citizens. As a result it is impacting the education of the kids, see the story of the basic school in Clarendon. One school lost out on computers promised by the EU because they couldn't meet the deadline. It is impacting on the financial sector, it is impacting the healthcare sector etc.

PPLcan get comfortable hiding behind a list, doesn't hide the reality.

Well if you live where I live where not even dogs want to walk on the road, where the police station doors are locked before the street lights are on, where being a menace to society seems to be the norm, can you blame me? Cable TV? huh?
            Well to be honest, in all my travels around Jamaica I've never experienced this side of Jamaica so I understand why you feel the way you do. However, from a global perspective, Jamaica isn't anywhere near a failed state yet. Of course, that doesn't mean we can't reach there some day.

List? The reality is we (as a country) are unable to provide the needed security for the citizens. As a result it is impacting the education of the kids, see the story of the basic school in Clarendon. One school lost out on computers promised by the EU because they couldn't meet the deadline. It is impacting on the financial sector, it is impacting the healthcare sector etc.

PPLcan get comfortable hiding behind a list, doesn't hide the reality.
              lazie, i don't see anyone getting comfortable hiding behind the list... we all can agree that much has gone wrong and the society need to be brought back to an acceptable level of civility and social order... all i'm saying sans emotion, the island has not yet reached the level of the much bandied 'failed state' status...

The priority of any state should be the security of its citizens and if they're unable to do so then, Failed State. You and I can disagree, no problem with that, at least remember that the 566 the gleaner homepage mention would agree with me, pity they're silent.

hi miss london, welcome to the forum... if you have not yet gathered, you'll soon learn that lazie can get a little emotional at times... he means well though... and i agree with you that jamaica isn't near a failed state, yet...

Yuh move back to Jamaica, Lazie? When dis happen?!?

wrong, baddaz. that "emotional" label belongs to me. ascording to lazie, of course.

lol!

hi miss london, welcome to the forum... if you have not yet gathered, you'll soon learn that lazie can get a little emotional at times... he means well though... and i agree with you that jamaica isn't near a failed state, yet...
                        Huh? Last I checked I was the only Lazie on this forum. Yuh a confuse me and Mosiah.

lazie, if yuh average at economics, math, english, biology, chemisty and physics and yuh fail social studies and geography are you a poor student...

The priority of any state should be the security of its citizens and if they're unable to do so then, Failed State. You and I can disagree, no problem with that, at least remember that the 566 the gleaner homepage mention would agree with me, pity they're silent.
                            Lazie could you leave this topic please. It makes me feel very uncomfortable when I happen to agree with you 100%. A state of emergency is needed. The uptown people have their guards and security while the ordinary Jamaican is in a constant state of insecurity. Problem is if na SOA was called and certain corns get crushed then the interferance would rear its usual head.

stop haranguing about security of citizens!! how dare you bleed concern all of a sudden when you support criminality, garrisons and thuggery as evidenced by your recent stance on certain critical issues. you are the one doing your best to bring about failed state status of jamaica!

time to STFU and stop talk thru two side a yuh mouth! it is all related!!!

lazie, if yuh average at economics, math, english, biology, chemisty and physics and yuh fail social studies and geography are you a poor student...
                                Wasn't aware that passing economics was dependent on me passing geo. Yuh wanna try again?