• No golden parachute for Air J incompetents, please

OBSERVER EDITORIAL

No golden parachute for Air J incompetents, please

Wednesday, May 05, 2010

Caribbean Airlines Limited (CAL) purchased Air Jamaica to become the region's largest airline, with the Trinidadian Government injecting US$300 million to streamline the operation, following CAL's designation as the national carrier of Jamaica.

This is a sign of the times as the global economic crisis has left very few profitable airlines. Indeed, United Airlines and Continental Airlines have merged to create the world's largest airline.

An airline of the size of Air Jamaica will find it very difficult to realise the economies of scale and scope which would make its operations cost-effective. In the quest for viability, the excellent work of the pilots and cabin crew was let down by poor management and ineffective boards of mostly political appointees. Some board members were repeatedly reappointed, despite the unprofitability of the operations.

Air Jamaica, one of the finest airlines in the world in terms of its flight operations, suffered because it had too many locals who were not specialists in airline management, or foreigners casted off by foreign airlines.

Management consistently refused to consult the pilots and crew and ignored their suggestions about improving the efficiency of the airline.

How routes were chosen, how they were operated and how they were mismanaged remain an enigma. It is to be hoped that those who presided over the demise of Air Jamaica will not be getting a 'golden parachute'.

Successive governments of Jamaica (GOJ) did not spend their travel budgets with the airline that it owned, although it was Jamaica's designated national carrier. US Government officials are required by law to travel only on American-owned airlines. Imagine the amount of money spent by the GOJ on air travel on other airlines on routes which were flown by Air Jamaica.

The failure to use Air Jamaica must also be blamed on the travelling public and the worst offenders were the ministers of the GOJ. The most egregious conduct and a lasting indictment is that of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade.

Air Jamaica was deprived of hundreds of millions of US dollars over its entire history. Many Jamaican travellers abused the privilege of having a national airline by being late and travelling with too many bags.

The establishment of a single Caribbean airline has been much discussed since the days of the West Indies Federation. But like everything else in the Caribbean Community (Caricom), the critical decisions were postponed by
    lack of political leadership and narrow nationalism.

We acknowledge the pain which all Jamaicans feel over the sale of the airline. Time will pronounce on the wisdom of this most unpopular of expedient financial decisions that the Bruce Golding Government has had to take.

Prime Minister Patrick Manning is taking flak at home for what is seen elsewhere as the action of a true regionalist committed to Caricom and helping to realise the single Caribbean airline dream. He has had to close down BWIA and merge it with Air Jamaica and avoid the permanently bankrupt LIAT.

Bottomline, we are all to blame for what has happened to Air Jamaica. For a brief decade -- 1994 to 2004 under Mr Gordon 'Butch' Stewart -- we saw a flicker of hope, a sign of the possibilities of a profitable, well-run Air Jamaica. Alas, that too did not last, thanks again to our politicians.

Now, because of our profligacy, pragmatism must prevail and we are forced to swallow our pride.

Air Jamaica, one of the finest airlines in the world in terms of its flight operations, suffered because it had too many locals who were not specialists in airline management, or foreigners casted off by foreign airlines.
    Finest airlines in the world because of it's flight operations?!? What, because there were no accidents? Okay fine, but flight operations?!? Yuh mean the regularly postponed and cancelled flight operations?!? Please!

It is to be hoped that those who presided over the demise of Air Jamaica will not be getting a 'golden parachute'.
    I agree!

Successive governments of Jamaica (GOJ) did not spend their travel budgets with the airline that it owned, although it was Jamaica's designated national carrier. US Government officials are required by law to travel only on American-owned airlines. Imagine the amount of money spent by the GOJ on air travel on other airlines on routes which were flown by Air Jamaica.

The failure to use Air Jamaica must also be blamed on the travelling public and the worst offenders were the ministers of the GOJ. The most egregious conduct and a lasting indictment is that of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade.
    That trip by the Montague and the parish councillors, it alone could have saved Air Jamaica!

Air Jamaica was deprived of hundreds of millions of US dollars over its entire history. Many Jamaican travellers abused the privilege of having a national airline by being late and travelling with too many bags.
    Are we going a little too far?!? Who can late for an Air Jamaica flight when it most likely cancel or postponed for 8 hours?!?

We acknowledge the pain which all Jamaicans feel over the sale of the airline. Time will pronounce on the wisdom of this most unpopular of expedient financial decisions that the Bruce Golding Government has had to take.
    Wisdom and Bruce in the same sentence?!? Journalistic licence, I guess! Anyway, I agree with this decision, perhaps for different reasons than others, but still, it had to go!

Prime Minister Patrick Manning is taking flak at home for what is seen elsewhere as the action of a true regionalist committed to Caricom and helping to realise the single Caribbean airline dream. He has had to close down BWIA and merge it with Air Jamaica and avoid the permanently bankrupt LIAT.
    Manning did not do this because of any love, respect or dream for Caricom. That is the dumbest assertion the editor could have come up with!

Bottomline, we are all to blame for what has happened to Air Jamaica. For a brief decade -- 1994 to 2004 under Mr Gordon 'Butch' Stewart -- we saw a flicker of hope, a sign of the possibilities of a profitable, well-run Air Jamaica. Alas, that too did not last, thanks again to our politicians.
    Hell no! I did nothing to cause Air Jamaica to fail Where do we get these "mea culpa" declarations from??! I tried with Air Jamaica for years and coud take the crap no more. When I need to get to somewhere on a certain day, that's what it is!!! And that was a cheap effort to curry favour up to the boss. What exactly did Butch do to put the airline on sound footing for the future?! NOT ONE GODLY (or ungodly) TING!!!

You killed what semblance of rationality existed in your 'commentary' with the last sentence..

Butch step pon yuh toe tuh ?

ah wha suh !

lol !

answer the question then.

asked and answered.

just as i thought!

"Air J's new management had immediately set out to improve the airline's productivity and image. New logos and livery were introduced. The airline plied customers with free champagne, Red Stripe beer, and rum punch. It was able to survive a price war with American Airlines.
              Just a year after its partial privatization, Air Jamaica was again profitable, at least on an operational level."

"Expanding After 2000
              By this time, Air Jamaica was regularly achieving winning rankings for on-time performance and in-flight service."

I know I went overboard showing 2 things.. but since as is you...

Try oxicodine fi di pain.. it might help you to think coherently..

You killed what semblance of rationality existed in your 'commentary' with the last sentence..

Butch step pon yuh toe tuh ?

ah wha suh !

lol !
                Yuh luk pan di di 'olely 'olely bucket battam...sorry! ...the bottom-line during Butch's hand on the tilla?

Well?

I miss the Air Jamaica flights out of Heathrow, London. Very convenient and to be honest, I never had any problems with delays or bad service. However, Jamaica can't afford it. You can't have decades of no growth and then expect to subsidise an airline thats hemorrhaging money. Air J's customers can't be blamed for that

"Air J's new management had immediately set out to improve the airline's productivity and image. New logos and livery were introduced. The airline plied customers with free champagne, Red Stripe beer, and rum punch. It was able to survive a price war with American Airlines.
                    Just a year after its partial privatization, Air Jamaica was again profitable, at least on an operational level."

"Expanding After 2000
                    By this time, Air Jamaica was regularly achieving winning rankings for on-time performance and in-flight service."

yuh tink dem creditors did bizniz how di plane dem pretty and how much (cheap) champagne dem serve?

The airline's debt exploded under Butch... it was NEVER close to profitability although service was tremendously improved.

Air Jamaica under Butch (and largely underwritten by taxpayers) was a victim of a flawed business model and inadequate capital to withstand the shocks of the airline business.

Time to put your hagiography of Butch's airline caper to rest.

suh bruce did the right thing and you agree but it was not a wise move? hmmmmm ......

This is a pretty bad editorial.

Is what "flicker" dem a talk bout when Butch ran the airline? Him was using it as a taxpayer-subsidised taxi for his all-inclusives.

Blame the politicians if you want, but this "national airline" thing outlived its purpose from the 80s when the airline industry changed. We should have bailed out from that time if we were not up to competing.

Blaming people for travelling with too many bags? How ridiculous is that? Just charge them enough so you either profit from it or they stop taking so many bags!

What's bag got to do, got to do with it....

Quote from I-man

Blaming people for travelling with too many bags? How ridiculous is that? Just charge them enough so you either profit from it or they stop taking so many bags!
                            Quite so bredren.

That is just Xcellent, xcellent rubbish argument. You run a business, so you charge for excess baggage/luggage, and you charge for oversized too.

i asked him about "sound footing". him could wid dis! if a laff a wet up!