you have no idea how embarrassed i am admitting to sitting among the proletariat! i shoulda just lied, like...won't go there, but mi nuh know if any a unnu did see mi arready sitting ova dere! all now mi kin a cratch mi!
Booed in absentia!
Originally posted by Historian View PostIt’s obviously very easy to understand why there would be a “faint, but audible enuff, round of boos” for Golding.
What I do NOT understand, however, is why were the cheers for Portia “loud (and) contrasting”? In other words, why members of the audience would cheer so enthusiastically for this particular Opposition Leader makes very little sense. It’s hard to find the logic here.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Lazie View PostNuh worry yuhself ... there are many things in Jamaica that will leave you confused.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostIt reminds me when then PM Michael Manley was booed at the WCT tournament in Montego Bay and the subsequent discussions on the call-in programs back in the 70s. I happened to be in that crowd when it happened. Now this was nothing like that one, but one wonders what would have happened if Brucie was there.'to get what we've never had, we MUST do what we've never done'
It was a nationally reported incident at the time and has been referred to by many journalists over the years when discussing Manleys legacy."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass