Yesterday, the Government and Opposition, in condemning the incidents, made a concerted call for Jamaicans -- regardless of their political affiliation -- to unite in the fight against crime. "I cannot fathom how someone can be so animalistic, to cut the throat of a five-year-old child. When are we going to stop shedding the blood of our innocent children, the blood of our babies in this country?" lamented National Security Minister Dwight Nelson, who was guest speaker at the launch of the People's National Party's (PNP) 'Making our Communities Safer, 2010 Project' at the Mico University College in Kingston. Opposition leader Portia Simpson Miller, who also addressed the function, described the child killers as "brutal animals". "A good dog is protective of his family; a good brother or sister is protective of their family; if you have a pet bird, that bird is protective of the family in the house. Then how come sons of God, sons of men and women, can find it in their hearts to become so brutal, so wicked?" she said. "Minister, we have to find a way, because there has to be another way; a better way. We have to explore all possibilities.... 'cause the level of murder and mayhem we cannot condone," she said, reiterating her willingness to work with the Government in finding solutions to the crime problem.
A dem yah collaborations wi need fi di good a di place, it did needed from long time, but it nevah too late.
Like the 1976 Peace Treaty, right?
In case you weren’t born yet or haven’t already seen the often published photos, on that occasion it was the LEADERS of both major political parties who Bob was able to get to hold hands in a symbolic show. Back then, only a couple hundred people were being killed annually....
Oh to be young and innocent and optimistic! Seriously though, MyYout, I agree with your sentiments (I’m sure everyone here does), but….
It was.....at least a heartfelt gesture by The Gong to unite the two fronts. What we have now is a quantum leap from what existed then.
A man said on a Miami call-in radio program di odda day that the only immediate hope he sees for Jamaica is for us to become the 51st state of the USA, or for England to take back the reins she lost in 1962.
At any odda time mi wudda cuss out him blouse-n-skirt but, fi wha mi see agwaan right yah, now mi just kibba mi mouth and gwaan listen!
"The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better."Mi bredrinSass Jan. 29,2011