I wonder if it is finally dawning on them how

• I wonder if it is finally dawning on them how

we have managed to produce such depravity?

Yesterday, the Government and Opposition, in condemning the incidents, made a concerted call for Jamaicans -- regardless of their political affiliation -- to unite in the fight against crime.
    "I cannot fathom how someone can be so animalistic, to cut the throat of a five-year-old child. When are we going to stop shedding the blood of our innocent children, the blood of our babies in this country?" lamented National Security Minister Dwight Nelson, who was guest speaker at the launch of the People's National Party's (PNP) 'Making our Communities Safer, 2010 Project' at the Mico University College in Kingston.
    Opposition leader Portia Simpson Miller, who also addressed the function, described the child killers as "brutal animals".
    "A good dog is protective of his family; a good brother or sister is protective of their family; if you have a pet bird, that bird is protective of the family in the house. Then how come sons of God, sons of men and women, can find it in their hearts to become so brutal, so wicked?" she said.
    "Minister, we have to find a way, because there has to be another way; a better way. We have to explore all possibilities.... 'cause the level of murder and mayhem we cannot condone," she said, reiterating her willingness to work with the Government in finding solutions to the crime problem.

Re: I wonder if it is finally dawning on them

I wonder if it is finally dawning on them how we have managed to produce such depravity?
    Willi: Maybe it’s wishful thinking on our part to even dare to hope that it’s finally dawning on them! In my case, I still hold steadfast to the view that until one or two prominent politicians start getting killed, or members of their immediate family are wiped out, we won’t begin to see the urgency of response that one would find in a “normal” country!

Why do I say this? Well, there has been case after case after case of depravity towards children, women and the elderly (going back even to 1976 and the Orange Street fire), but what has changed today? What on earth has changed? No doubt the words of both politicians quoted in your post are coming from the heart, and so the question is will these feelings last longer than a day? In fact, how often have we heard similar sounding utterances from our leaders?

I can recall a particular news story that literally made me cry several years ago. This was a case where gunmen barricaded a family inside their home, somewhere in Kingston, and set the place afire. Soldiers in the vicinity heard the desperate screams from the little girl and the other members of the family, but because of the curious Jamaican “rule of engagement” governing combined police and military operations, the soldiers were not allowed to respond (because no police officers was with that particular group of soldiers at the time)! So, the soldiers simply stood and listened until the cries became fainter and fainter and finally disappeared.

Has anything been done to make this “rule of engagement” in combined military/police operations more relevant to Jamaica’s present realities? There are a dozen more questions that I would love to ask these sorrowing politicians, but I won’t, ‘cause I’m determined that nothing, not even a Jamaican politician, is going to spoil this Monday morning for me!! But I believe firmly in what I stated in the second sentence of this post!!

Whatever came of that incident where 26 civilians were killed and left to rot in the streets ?

I mean, I am trying to fathom this happening in a democratic country with the rule of Law and absolutely no-one held accountable.. no fines, not convictions.. just moving right along..

Dudus ? Anybody going to see the new Robin Hood movie ?

"Although both lawyers for the Public Defender have been trying their best, it is obvious that the burden is far too much for the two men. They are up against a battery of well-qualified lawyers representing the Jamaica Constabulary Force, the Jamaica Defence Force and the People's National Party who seem to have found common cause so far."

Dudus wear tights?

Yeah,
          Windward road fire...

People dont just become monsterous just suh...1 or 2 maybe, but not wholesale suh. It means that massive ongoing childhood abuse has been and is continuing in Jamdung as we speak.

Evil propogating itself.

Sorry.. yuh haffi sekkle for Russel Crowe..

No one could get to the 26. Whenever anyone approached, they were shot at, because some people didn't believe they were really health workers.

So, let's kill this lie and move right along.

"Some of the dead had to remain rotting on the streets for four days, providing meals for dogs as any attempt to remove them was met by gunfire from the security forces"

That sounds more plausible than your propoganda..

"...................."

Appropriate choice of words...
                Last edited by Mosiah; May 3, 2010, 10:23 AM. Reason: Being unable to sue for libel, I am doing the next best thing available to me.

you are a liar! and i am telling you to remove this post with those lying words you have attirbuted to me...OR ELSE!

I'm waiting, Maudib!

Yeah,
                      Windward road fire...

People dont just become monsterous just suh...1 or 2 maybe, but not wholesale suh. It means that massive ongoing childhood abuse has been and is continuing in Jamdung as we speak.

Evil propogating itself.
                      Windward Road or Maxfield Park?

Unfortunately your penchant for declaring people liars has risen to a point where it is no longer of any effect..

Is nuff people inna di kill and move along mode..

When you remove your post calling me a liar then wi can talk.. yuh tink is only Bruce can stan up to Babylon ?

Gwaan wait.. wheh yuh ah guh duh.. revoke mi Visa ??

nuh worry bout it. mi fix di offending post.

thanks!

it sort out.