I was giving the hint but

• I was giving the hint but

I don't think she took heed . It appears as a gift but really a kiss of death or a time bomb. The lions are also Foxes, I don't think they want lamb meat just now but the minute you got the gift I knew the outcome of the case. Read on:

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...yright-lawsuit
    Last edited by Jawge; May 3, 2010, 02:13 AM.

It seems that no one cares to see the significance of this case. It kills all creativity and entrepreneurial skill in IT. One can forget the talk about Ja's version of Silicon valley. What's the point of having an IT dept? What if company hired a consultant here to develop an application
    for say music, then Ford hires the said developer to make the same app. then get in the music business and called it theirs?

The court would not give it to ford as Ford would literally own the other company who relies soley on the app. Why do you think that corpporations give certain dept. laptop, cell phones et al? because come the day if you create anything it's theirs, its not because they love you and see you above other emploayees. Most times I would laugh; when employees would say "this is my computer, my files, my laptop my blackberry etc. No it's not yours it's the property of the corporation. As admin do you know how many times I've been asked to look in or open emplyees files or mail (by upper management)? The mere fact that you were hired to do work for a corporation and use their property to do the work; all and sundry is theirs. This is why some employees on leaving certain corps. cannot even create or develop anything new for two years (it will belong to the former corporation)

Obviously Ja doesn't know or want to know jack about intellectual property. It clearly shows that whatever you make or develop can be taken away. Ja and its policies are at odds with creativity, productivity and growth. It's all about "hustling".

??

The programmer was an employee ??

Huh?

An employee is not the same as a consultant.

Also, where is the contract here? I am unclear as to the relationship between PM and the programmer.

BTW, the ruling claims to be in line with all WIPO type intell. property decisions, so I am lost as to whay you made that post.

seeit mi know mi would ah ketch unnuh man. which consultant can come in, use the cpmpany's equipment setup an application then walk away to give the said app to the competition? It's as if you are telling that a security consultant could come in and setup security at Ge then go give the same protocols to a foreign competition. Okay the consultants at apple (which I know there are) gave itune to General mills so they can enter the music business.

Keep acting blind.

Gwaan guh hire a consultant and nuh sign nuh contract governing IP and si what happen tuh yuh...

I was hoping you would say a consultant is also an empoyee but on a contract or temporary basis. No?

PM probably adopted your approach...

Is nuff programmer get used and abused inna yard.. well.. dem days deh dun..

consultant is an INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR....

Not blind at all. I asked for clarification as I am not au jour with this case.

HOWEVER, where I work and have worked all consultants sign standard engagement contracts that prohibit this behaviour. Was this done with Lowe? If not, who tek di blame?

Not at all.

There are all types of consultants.

Caveat emptor.

Well I'm sure marks had some kind of contract with the developer, considering it's the bane of the business. Otherwise she would just be in court to collect compensation for time and use of property.

BTW had Grace funded research at UWI or CAST they would have had afar superior application. Duppy know who fi frighten: Siemens invest millions over NCU, "tell dem fi play pirate an go soak round di man dem tings".

semantics, see my answer to willy.

If she had such a contract she could not have lost unless it was found to be invalid.

In law, it is NOT semantics.