Outside help needed to fight JA’s crime wave – Smith

• Outside help needed to fight JA’s crime wave – Smith

With wide scale condemnation still being expressed at Thursday's killing of a 5-year old girl in Glendevon, St. James, there is a call for more to be done in response to the escalating crime in the parish.

Lloyd B Smith, Immediate Past President of the Montego Bay Chamber of Commerce, says the time has come for the authorities to seek external assistance in tackling the crime wave in St. James.

"I am one of those persons who now strongly believe that we need to get some help from outside our borders. We have to look at the psychology of crime in Jamaica ... why is it that so many of our young men have turned to this brutal kind of criminality," asked Mr. Smith.

Five year old Christina Solomon was killed while her father and 8-year old sister were injured when armed men stopped the vehicle in which they were traveling and opened fire.

http://www.radiojamaica.com/content/view/27036/26/

Stubborn Leaders

Many people have been making similar suggestions for several years now! Those are valid calls, in my view, and I will also add that surely things should not have been allowed to reach this state in Jamaica!

One problem with our leaders in Jamaica and in the region (Haiti excluded) is that any suggestion of having outside forces is immediately met with the age-old arguments of “sovereignty” and “independence”! The irony is that this “sovereignty” that they like to blabber on about in their cabinet meetings and at regional meetings has been long compromised by powerful drug interests!

As far as any notion of sovereignty is concerned, no one is calling for lawmaking to come from outside the local parliaments of individual countries!! All that Lloyd Smith and many others before him have been calling for is to seek outside military assistance on a temporary basis until the “killing fields” status that Jamaica now holds is no more. This will take several years, to be sure, but at the end if it will make us once again a “normal” society, then surely nothing can be wrong with such suggestions!

PS: It might be useful if a member of this message could post a per capita comparison of homicide in Jamaica with that of Iraq over a similar period in either 2009 or 2010 (I am specifically interested in Iraq in asking for this comparison).

With wide scale condemnation still being expressed at Thursday's killing of a 5-year old girl in Glendevon, St. James, there is a call for more to be done in response to the escalating crime in the parish.

Lloyd B Smith, Immediate Past President of the Montego Bay Chamber of Commerce, says the time has come for the authorities to seek external assistance in tackling the crime wave in St. James.

"I am one of those persons who now strongly believe that we need to get some help from outside our borders. We have to look at the psychology of crime in Jamaica ... why is it that so many of our young men have turned to this brutal kind of criminality," asked Mr. Smith.

Five year old Christina Solomon was killed while her father and 8-year old sister were injured when armed men stopped the vehicle in which they were traveling and opened fire.

http://www.radiojamaica.com/content/view/27036/26/

It takes cash to care...

Get yuh economy in order first.. demonstrate that you are serious and will be able to pay the bills and sustain systems. then guh seeking help... (unless yuh look for 'sorry fi yuh, feel good' assistance)

So far so good....

Historian, sorry to burst your bubble, but John Public don't care. As long as them can go back to passa passa, what do you think.

The selector was screaming obscenities again. "All ah di gunman dem weh mek duppy regular seh boi boi!" he shouted

The quote above is from the scene of a street dance.

It needs INSIDE help not outside. Too many people in Jamaica put up with crimes and criminals. Until people start talk and get fed up with crime in their neigbourhood then nothing will happen. It no matter where the police come from. I thought they had gotten overseas cops to help with crime fighting already.

The best help they could get is ATF and other US agencies doing a better job of fighting the export of guns to Jamaica and states like Georgia, Virginia etc. clamping down on their gun laws. There is no criminal enterprise that can stand if people decide to take action, not one order, not Jungle, not Tivoli.

read below.

Why there is no crime in Maroon town? Is it because they are poor? or because they are their brother's keeper?

Dem nuh trap innah di Babylon System..

Our proximity to the center of capitalism should not be overlooked when analyzing cultural behaviour within the context of the English Speaking Caribbean..

Actually our stategic coordinates have been a bane.. we have not taken advantage of it.. starting with Quixotic activities in the 70s...

Signs are we are finally on the right course..

Drivah.. don't stap at all..

Is crime actually on the right track too?

The crime problem is an economic one so... connect the dots..

Crime is not just economical. Poor people don't have to commit crimes.
                    Are the maroons rich? Them nuh have road full a pot holes and no water too? So how them nah pick up their nines and bazooka?

And compare it to Mobay the tourism capital and lotto scam capital.

The irony is that (I would guess ) it's <1% of the population that is causing the crime problem.

NOTE: Please include the current and past Jamaican government in that <1%.

Conclusion: It is difficult to solve crime if the leadership is involved.

(Damn I'm sooo clever!!!)

Brethren if the people really serious they can make the difference. Man a vote fi thief because him a JLP or PNP, just fi win election. Leadership is a problem and I would think is more than one percent but the major problem is too many look aside and let the 1% do the crime. One man commit a crime in a district and the other 300 people know or suspect him commit the crime and say or do nothing about it. I understand some feel threathened but at some stage as Jamaicans we have to stand up.

Yet we play "get up, stand up" everyday.

Look like yuh like di fantasy ting...

When yuh ready to talk bout Jamaica Urban reality and the ONLY solution in the medium term.. lemme know..

if that is your only solution we have none. The more ordinary people make the more the leach will hang on for more.

more investments and development = more jobs = more taxes = more budget allocation for STATE responsibilities..

Mi cyaan connect di dots more dan dat.. iffn yuh try anyting without dat formula inna yard reality.. well.. yuh whistling in the wind..