• Contrasting views on drug-testing in schools

Contrasting views on drug-testing in schools

McCook... in order to protect yourself, you should prepare to be tested

TWO of the country's leading athletics officials have weighed in on the debate over whether or not athletes should be drug tested at the Boys & Girls Athletic Championships. North America, Central America and Caribbean president and International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) Area Representa ...more

My question is what are they testing for and further how do you test 13 and 14 year-olds ... then again after seeing 14 year-old Diana Johnson maintain her composure under a serious rush from 19 year-old Antonique Campbell at Penn Relays last weekend in the COA 4x100m final...they should hook them up to any testing machine they can find.....LOL

I cannot see why the opposition to drug testing. Back in the days when I went to school, people smoked the herb, which under IAAF rules is banned. Many students would also take anything they could get their hands on if they thought it would make them beat a Bert Cameron, Merlene Ottey or any of the other big names at the time.

Are today's students any different from when I was in school? I do not think so.

Also, why do we only focus o 13 & 14 year olds in our argument? The last time I checked, the age limit goes up to 19 years, so they are worthy of being tested too.

Considering that the testing could be cost prohibitive for the ISSA, then they could focus on mainly class 1 athletes for a start. These are the people who are on the verge of international competition and need to be watching what they take or what they put into their bodies.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I have no problems with Class 1 athletes being tested go ahead test them but what are we saying about our programme when we start testing 13 and 14 year-olds?

We have long heard not so quiet whispers about certain coaches giving athletes 'vitamin' pills in high school and I have no reason to believe they woudnt try underhand things to get a upper hand come Champs.

I cannot see why the opposition to drug testing. Back in the days when I went to school, people smoked the herb, which under IAAF rules is banned. Many students would also take anything they could get their hands on if they thought it would make them beat a Bert Cameron, Merlene Ottey or any of the other big names at the time.

Are today's students any different from when I was in school? I do not think so.

Also, why do we only focus o 13 & 14 year olds in our argument? The last time I checked, the age limit goes up to 19 years, so they are worthy of being tested too.

Considering that the testing could be cost prohibitive for the ISSA, then they could focus on mainly class 1 athletes for a start. These are the people who are on the verge of international competition and need to be watching what they take or what they put into their bodies.
          Test the teachers and the coaches!
          ...not the kids!

...if it came to testing my kid...end of Champs and all sports in schools for all I care!

I agree.

Drug testing is very invasive, a same sex witness has to be present while the athlete urinates...and when i say witness, I mean they have to see exactly where the urine is coming from. This might be traumatic for junior athletes especially girls and I don't know how the parents would react to this.

Its also quite expensive around 500 US per test.

suh mi seet tuh...for the kids 18 and above...NO PROBLEM! for minors no way! how often would they be subject to these invasive procedures? they are students, NOT professional athletes.

I see some volunteering for this.

Sick persons, of course!

See it deh!