We want whistle-blower cop - GOJ

• We want whistle-blower cop - GOJ

According to Attorney General Dorothy Lightbourne, the anonymous police officer broke the law by sharing information gathered in wire-taps placed on Christopher Coke's phone calls.
    She says the Jamaican government is therefore demanding that the U.S. government disclose his name so that he can be charged and tried for the offence.
    Furthermore, if the unnamed policeman is in the United States, Jamaica

is demanding that he be sent back here for prosecution.

This intriguing twist in the extradition dispute between Jamaica and the United States forms a crucial element of the affidavit filed by the Attorney General in her action in the Supreme Court.
    She is seeking a declaration in the court regarding her authority to authorise the commencement of the extradition process with respect to Christopher Coke.

Who is John Doe?

On February 2, 2007 the Supreme Court issued a warrant to intercept calls made by or to Christopher Coke on a particular telephone number.
    Under the Interception of Communications Act the information gathered by this means was to be disclosed only to the Commissioner of Police, a Superintendent of Police and the Head of the Military Intelligence Unit of the Jamaica Defence Force.
    An unidentified police constable, named as "John Doe", is cited by the US in its request for Coke's extradition as being the officer who confirmed the legitimacy of the information which it used to support its request for Coke's extradition.
    The Jamaican government has so far refused to allow the extradition hearing to proceed through the courts, arguing that the information furnished in support of the request was obtained illegally.
    Furthermore, the Jamaican government is seeking to turn the tables

on the Americans and is demanding that if the unnamed officer is now in the United States he should be extradited to Jamaica for trial here.

If the police officer is prosecuted in Jamaica and found guilty he could be imprisoned for up to three years and/ or fined as much as three million dollars.
    At the heart of the dispute is the American charge that Christopher Coke conspired to distribute one thousand kilogrammes of various drugs and also conspired to traffic in firearms without a licence.
    Prime Minister Bruce Golding last week challenged the United States to do more to assist Jamaica in its ongoing efforts to stem the flow of illegal guns into the country.
    Last year more than 16 hundred Jamaicans were murdered, mostly through the use of guns.
    So far this year more than five hundred have been similarly murdered.

http://www.radiojamaica.com/content/view/26955/26/

Isn't this a clear contradiction to the whisteblower legistation the gov't is supposed to be pushing? Why is the police man being targeted? The fact that the evidence hasn't been used to arrest and charge Dudus todate.

The Chestmaster not reading the game well at all. Sound as if the gov't is running scared, that always leads to unsound judgement, poor leadership, would you say?

5 years isn't what he faces, a death sentence is.
        They already know the identity of the police officer.why dem acting like dem don't.

Blessed

"The fact that the evidence hasn't been used to arrest and charge Dudus todate...."

Scratch dat!

I refuse to believe this ?

The JLP GOV is expecting the most powerfull nation in the world , that sits on its doorstep to hand over its source to Jamaica to be charged and murdered?

Is this government sane , to think and make such a request is a clear indication of madness.

But alas I havent seen it on any government letter head , so its wild speculation.

Right Lazie!

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I refuse to believe this ?

The JLP GOV is expecting the most powerfull nation in the world , that sits on its doorstep to hand over its source to Jamaica to be charged and murdered?

Is this government sane , to think and make such a request is a clear indication of madness.

But alas I havent seen it on any government letter head , so its wild speculation.

Right Lazie!
              People try to mock me on that, but I stand by it. Now it is out that the gov't didn't have a contract with the firm.

whoa whoa whoa....the SAME information that the us government has the jamaican government has and the americans think that it warrants dudus being extradited however no crime was committed in jamaica based on the SAME information?

i am lost....can someone help me out here??

it certainly seems that way...but that a di least! not only that given the involvment of the party and the fact that the party forms the government, well is not exactly a stretch.

Errrr Barristor G it's a stretch for Lazie. Connect the dots for him if you have the strength.

i have said it all along - forget the usa! jamaica needs to get serious about crime!

but this latest from the govt, about extraditing the dangerous cop, is embarrassing.

Isn't this a clear contradiction to the whisteblower legistation the gov't is supposed to be pushing? Why is the police man being targeted? The fact that the evidence hasn't been used to arrest and charge Dudus todate.
                        No. What he did was illegal so how could that contradict whistleblower legislation?

that's right, lazie, don't let anyone get between you and your madness!

i don't know how yuh nuh shame.

so, yuh telling me that the jlp contracted brady to do a job on their behalf and brady tek it upon himself to tell manatt dat him working for the GOVT, not the PARTY. is fool him fool suh?

unnu tek people fi eediat.

unnu need fi step!

true! send the cop back to jamaica.

by the way, the govt is requesting his extradition and they have no clue if he is in the usa or not. what sense dat mek?!? he could be rolling a spliff right now in rollington town, and we a aks di us govt fi send him back for trial.

ra$*$ bwoy!

anyway, send back di cop! mek him go pon trial fi him wrongdoings! and if found guilty, he should get nothing more than a suspended sentence!

whoa whoa whoa....the SAME information that the us government has the jamaican government has and the americans think that it warrants dudus being extradited however no crime was committed in jamaica based on the SAME information?

i am lost....can someone help me out here??
                              I don't understand all the legal mumbo jumbo, but it is stated that the court order for the wire tap was to do one thing. What it is being used for, it is claimed that another court order was needed. Can that be correct?