Interesting responses to this blog. http://gleanerblogs.com/entertainment/?p=53
Last Saturday was the 30th anniversary of Zimbabwe's independence. A day before, BBC carried the story of a man who was there when Bob performed at the Independence Day celebration. He tells us of how he scaled a fence and ran from security guards with batons before disappearing into the crowd. Despite the rush on the venue, they did manage to keep things in check.
Seemed like a big deal. Everyone wanted to catch a glimpse of Bob Marley and when he ascended the throne..sorry, the stage (got a bit carried away there), there was just mayhem. The fellow said he had never heard a sound system as loud as that one. BBC chimed in with Zimbabwe right there. What a powerful and moving song!!!
The whole account sent chills down my spine, and I am happy to know that I saw Bob at the Peace Concert and perhaps another venue (Sunsplash?). My father and I went to the Stadium for the Peace Concert, my father being a big fan, despite his nerdy and very proper self. Historian reminds me of my father, in a way! How embarrassed my father must have been when Peter Tosh proceeds to unleash badwud after badwud pon top a badwud! I remember him, feeling embarrassed for me, no doubt, and trying to break the uncomfortable tension, saying something like, Is that French? I was like, huh?
Mind you, I have never seen MJ in concert. Who knows what impression that could have left on me?!?
But to get back to my point, the question for me would not be who was more popular, but who was more important in my mind. That would clearly be Bob. I think 20 years from now, you will still see thousands more t-shirts of Bob and Che than you'll see of MJ.
Best of all, Bob remained black, even while being half!
Last Saturday was the 30th anniversary of Zimbabwe's independence. A day before, BBC carried the story of a man who was there when Bob performed at the Independence Day celebration. He tells us of how he scaled a fence and ran from security guards with batons before disappearing into the crowd. Despite the rush on the venue, they did manage to keep things in check.
Seemed like a big deal. Everyone wanted to catch a glimpse of Bob Marley and when he ascended the throne..sorry, the stage (got a bit carried away there), there was just mayhem. The fellow said he had never heard a sound system as loud as that one. BBC chimed in with Zimbabwe right there. What a powerful and moving song!!!
The whole account sent chills down my spine, and I am happy to know that I saw Bob at the Peace Concert and perhaps another venue (Sunsplash?). My father and I went to the Stadium for the Peace Concert, my father being a big fan, despite his nerdy and very proper self. Historian reminds me of my father, in a way! How embarrassed my father must have been when Peter Tosh proceeds to unleash badwud after badwud pon top a badwud! I remember him, feeling embarrassed for me, no doubt, and trying to break the uncomfortable tension, saying something like, Is that French? I was like, huh?
Mind you, I have never seen MJ in concert. Who knows what impression that could have left on me?!?
But to get back to my point, the question for me would not be who was more popular, but who was more important in my mind. That would clearly be Bob. I think 20 years from now, you will still see thousands more t-shirts of Bob and Che than you'll see of MJ.
Best of all, Bob remained black, even while being half!