Who is more popular, Bob Marley or Michael Jackson?

• Who is more popular, Bob Marley or Michael Jackson?

Interesting responses to this blog. http://gleanerblogs.com/entertainment/?p=53

Last Saturday was the 30th anniversary of Zimbabwe's independence. A day before, BBC carried the story of a man who was there when Bob performed at the Independence Day celebration. He tells us of how he scaled a fence and ran from security guards with batons before disappearing into the crowd. Despite the rush on the venue, they did manage to keep things in check.

Seemed like a big deal. Everyone wanted to catch a glimpse of Bob Marley and when he ascended the throne..sorry, the stage (got a bit carried away there), there was just mayhem. The fellow said he had never heard a sound system as loud as that one. BBC chimed in with Zimbabwe right there. What a powerful and moving song!!!

The whole account sent chills down my spine, and I am happy to know that I saw Bob at the Peace Concert and perhaps another venue (Sunsplash?). My father and I went to the Stadium for the Peace Concert, my father being a big fan, despite his nerdy and very proper self. Historian reminds me of my father, in a way! How embarrassed my father must have been when Peter Tosh proceeds to unleash badwud after badwud pon top a badwud! I remember him, feeling embarrassed for me, no doubt, and trying to break the uncomfortable tension, saying something like, Is that French? I was like, huh?

Mind you, I have never seen MJ in concert. Who knows what impression that could have left on me?!?

But to get back to my point, the question for me would not be who was more popular, but who was more important in my mind. That would clearly be Bob. I think 20 years from now, you will still see thousands more t-shirts of Bob and Che than you'll see of MJ.

Best of all, Bob remained black, even while being half!

Interesting responses to this blog. http://gleanerblogs.com/entertainment/?p=53

Last Saturday was the 30th anniversary of Zimbabwe's independence. A day before, BBC carried the story of a man who was there when Bob performed at the Independence Day celebration. He tells us of how he scaled a fence and ran from security guards with batons before disappearing into the crowd. Despite the rush on the venue, they did manage to keep things in check.

Seemed like a big deal. Everyone wanted to catch a glimpse of Bob Marley and when he ascended the throne..sorry, the stage (got a bit carried away there), there was just mayhem. The fellow said he had never heard a sound system as loud as that one. BBC chimed in with Zimbabwe right there. What a powerful and moving song!!!

The whole account sent chills down my spine, and I am happy to know that I saw Bob at the Peace Concert and perhaps another venue (Sunsplash?). My father and I went to the Stadium for the Peace Concert, my father being a big fan, despite his nerdy and very proper self. Historian reminds me of my father, in a way! How embarrassed my father must have been when Peter Tosh proceeds to unleash badwud after badwud pon top a badwud! I remember him, feeling embarrassed for me, no doubt, and trying to break the uncomfortable tension, saying something like, Is that French? I was like, huh?

Mind you, I have never seen MJ in concert. Who knows what impression that could have left on me?!?

But to get back to my point, the question for me would not be who was more popular, but who was more important in my mind. That would clearly be Bob. I think 20 years from now, you will still see thousands more t-shirts of Bob and Che than you'll see of MJ.

Best of all, Bob remained black, even while being half!
    With his great talent as a showman and the American media machine behind him Michael Jackson is more popular....

Bob being a political messenger is far more powerful, influential & enduring

MJ is by far more popular. His record sales are more than enough proof of that. Plus he hit the peak of his career at a time when cable TV, etc was becoming accessible to a much larger audience.

Who is more important? Totally different thing. I don't know of any freedom fighters who talk about listening to MJs music while preparing to fight the oppressors. Remember is Bobs music them was singing when the Berlin Wall come down!

still not sure about this popular thing, if evidenced by record sales. if you go up to the most remote bar in the Himalayas, the patrons will probably know about Bob and not MJ! Chuss mi on dat!

bob is more popular with me.

Maybe so, but how many people live up there?

Judging from the Asians that I have met, it seems to me that MJ is more well known in the large urban areas.

bob is more popular with me.

...me too!

True dat, proportionately he really is too.

Bkessed

michael jackson is more popular, imho... as to who is more inspiring, that is another issue... in that case, i would guess bob marley because of his messages...

as to popularity, know in the 'four corners of the world', without question michael jackson, even if many do not identify with him...

lol... mosiah, it has been revealed that michael jackson had an extreme case of vitiligo among other medical conditions...

we can put to bed the idea that he was trying to be white... even the american media has gotten off that horse... in fact, since his death and his numerous medical issues have been revealed, many in the media have felt ashamed that they had treated mj that harshly... their excuse is, they did not know...

sorry, not buying it. it's one thing to apply make up to cover vitiligo effects, quite another to have a nose that is whiter than farrah fawcett's!

ok sah... afta mi nah sell nutten...