• Drivah blames US for guns, as the #1 gunrunner is protected

Golding blames US for illegal guns

CMC

Wednesday, April 21, 2010

KINGSTON, Jamaica – Prime Minister Bruce Golding has said the importation of illegal guns from the United States is contributing significantly to the country’s worsening crime situation.

"The security forces recover, on average, 600 guns each year. We suspect that a greater number enter the island each year, creating an ever increasing arsenal of illegal weapons snuffing out lives with callous brutality,” Golding told Parliament as he made his contribution to the debate on the 2010 national budget yesterday.

He told legislators that the majority of the illegal weapons were made in the United States. Last year, more than 1,600 persons were murdered in Jamaica.

"A resolution before the United Nations for an international convention to restrict the illegal trafficking in small arms is still the subject of negotiations. In the meanwhile, we intend to renew our efforts to strengthen bilateral cooperation with the US with a view to addressing the flow of illegal guns from the US to Jamaica with the same vigour that we seek to apply to the flow of illegal drugs from Jamaica to the US,” Golding said.

The prime minister said that his administration would be bringing to Parliament anti-gang legislation to enable law enforcement agencies to move more effectively against criminal gangs.

"Today's criminal networks did not exist when the existing law enforcement powers were created. The spanner we have was never made to fit the nut we have to crack,” Golding said.

“The regulations to allow for the use of plea bargaining have been reported on by the Regulations Committee and it is for the House now to confirm those regulations so that this important tool can be brought to bear in solving crime. This will play a significant role but the suspect has to be apprehended before he can be invited to bargain a plea" he added.

Chess Master showing a likkle bit of him hand..

Unnuh tink Drivah easy.. him ah operate pon a diffrant level.. wi likkle but wi tallawah..

Lets make a deal..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZyONs...ext=1&index=65

The US seh henny ting bout Dudus an im import business? ...an PM Bruce Golding?

I was waiting for someone to mention the irony in the PM's gun assertion. The man represents the an area with more guns per square foot than anywhere else in Jamaica. Classic. If nothing else he has Chutzpah.

so what you are saying is that he has firsthand knowledge of what he is alleging? who better?

You're right he has 'first hand 'knowledge of where the largest arsenal on the island is located so based on his stated concerns 'who better' to take action and do something about said arsenal. Afterall he is concerned about all the lives being "snuffed out" by the guns on the island.

I think he is talking about illegally imported Guns.. not those for the Presidential Guard...

Babylon haffi wuk fi dem dinnah..

"The US Government has since drafted a new indictment outlining further charges against Coke and is expected to forward the new indictment to the Jamaican government soon."

How yuh mean.. wheh dem check seh.. wi nuh have citizen rights tuh ?

Dem facety and bright !

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
                  The man represents the an area with more guns per square foot than anywhere else in Jamaica.
                  Your opinion is based on what evidence? I don't follow Jakan politics as closely as Mo & company and thanks for your input.

Evidence ?

Those inconvenient requirements are the bugbear of White-Man Law dat mek fi White people.. who yuh tink yuh be ?

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                      Your opinion is based on what evidence? I don't follow Jakan politics as closely as Mo & company and thanks for your input.
                      evidence! woiee! Hortical say him want wah? Evid... mi belly! woiee! mi almost lose mi false teeth! now, do you want that evidence on letterh... mi cyaan tek it nuh more!! mi tiyad.

You're always welcome where the input is concerned. Evidence? obviously you would prefer to see a copy of the certificate of clearence stamped by the wharf for the benefit of the Presidential guard. Ben can you help this felloow out please?

Mo, the rum bar open early after lunch mi see.

No worries bredrin, have one on me and relax.

yuh reach arready? order a flas' a rum fi mi. mi deh pon mi way!