What is the best decade in popular music?

After a week of having this poll up, the results, so far, have proved one thing to me.....there are some really OLD folks here on the forum. I really thought that the race between the 70's and the 80's would have been much closer. Lazie, as usual, stands alone, because "him back broad". Initially, I was very conflicted with making my selection, because the 70's had some damn good music. However, I made my choice because with the dawn of the 1980's, the music across all genres changed and went through a rebirth. In my opinion, the music got better. However, I'll admit that I am being prejudice because the 80's was during my teenaged and early 20's years, just as the 70's were for most of the older folks, and that was the heights of my partying years. I still cannot get over Lazie's choice for a man older than myself.

Anyways, Mr. Lazie, in one of his posts, chose to use the genre of dance to defend his position. Therefore, I am going to select that genre along with country & western to defend my 80's. I am afraid to use R & B/Soul because there were some really heavyweights R&B/Soul songs during the 70's, but if someone is willing to put them up, then I'll "attempt" to counter with my own choices. Now my selections are based on the indelible mark that these songs left and on songs that are still being played with frequency today. Here goes:

1. Shannon - Let the Music Play - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=um0My...x=0&playnext=1
    This song came out in 1983 and the beat was so far ahead of its time that even in today's music world, it still sounds current. Here's another one: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KXFdz...ext=1&index=14 I had difficulty finding an original version because it has been remixed so often.

2. Teena Marie - Square Biz (check her rapping) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o9wotiDai5U

3. Nu Shooz - I can't wait - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v_Yx0X-eHn8

4. Expose (They had a number of hits) - Point of No Return - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5nGZnB41v54 and http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ctCNI7dgLcs

5. Marrs (How could you forget this one. Who remember The Club or Epiphany?) - Pump up the Volume - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eGPhUr-T6UM

These are just a few of the iconic dance tunes of the 80's and trust me, that list is very long, so Mr. Lazie, be careful how you challenge me.

C & W

1. Crystal Gayle - Don't it make my Brown Eyes Blue
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LGrmR...eature=related

2. Kenny Rodgers - Coward of the County - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P4ZSds0GT64 -

3. Kenny Rodgers & Dolly Parton - Island in the Stream - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lixDK...eature=related

4. Dolly Parton - I Will Always Love You (Of course this WAS improved upon) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_utP1...eature=related
    Working 9 to 5 - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mpKAA2VxWY8

5. John Denver - Country Roads http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MWzeInQaUk4

Now Mr. Lazie, these are just a few. Match me.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Just so you know, I was a teenager during the 80s as well. Not all of it, but who's counting!

I can understand when certain songs bring back memories of your first parties or first kiss or all those Grease-like moments, but I can look back and know when junk was junk.

most of the 80's i was a teenager too...mi younger dan unnuh think!!

Mosiah, yuh mean yuh third yute was a teenager in the 80's!!! Yuh coulda be me granddaddy to rhatid!!!

Which music yuh a call junk?
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

and yuh know yuh woulda wrenk fi a grandpickney!

much of 80s music was just not classic. sound good, but not classic. Graceland now - one of my all time best albums!

Same here. My heart says the 80s but my brain says the 70s!

But I believe it close enough for reasonable people to disagree.

As for the 90s....well Lazie lose a few stripes for that.

Same here. My heart says the 80s but my brain says the 70s!

But I believe it close enough for reasonable people to disagree.

As for the 90s....well Lazie lose a few stripes for that.
                No problem with that bossman.

Everybody will just select the era they grew up in

Well that means I'm the exception then ....

as far as i am concerned i "grew up" in the 70's, 80's and nineties ...sooooooo....what is the relevant age or time period?

You had a looong childhood. LOL!

Well then again, sometimes I am told that I STILL haven't grown up.

there you go...i was told that last week!