Originally posted by Gamma
View Post
What is the best decade in popular music?
first of all :If noone should break the 9.58 barrier Bolt will forever be the greatest - DUH!!!!!
second of all the 80's were NOT better than the 70's. people STILL sampling from the 70's! ike hayes, curtis mayfield, barry white, bobby womack ...
Originally posted by Gamma View Postfirst of all :If noone should break the 9.58 barrier Bolt will forever be the greatest - DUH!!!!!
second of all the 80's were NOT better than the 70's. people STILL sampling from the 70's! ike hayes, curtis mayfield, barry white, bobby womack ..."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Gamma View Postyup AND from the 70's ... 70's neva sample from nuhbody!
The BMW 740 was improved to the 745 then to the 750. What that tell you about the 750?
70s music was improved in the 80s then improved in the 90s. If there was no improvement after that ... what that tell yuh? People seem to be thinking about the great groups of the 70s, I more looking at the hits over the decades. The 90s may have many 1 hit wonders, but those 1 hits still have an impact today.
If one don't like the music after the 70s thats fine, but how can you judge what yuh don't listen tuh?"Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Lazie View PostIf one don't like the music after the 70s thats fine, but how can you judge what yuh don't listen tuh?
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostI certainly love the music after the 70s. I listen to it all! Indeed, I love me some 2000 dancehall music, but if wi talking about the best era or decade, it is the 70s for me."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Lazie View PostF...but when yuh cannot do no better that means its the best.
Lazie, yuh think 40 years from now we'll be looking at a 1989 Nissan Maxima and Honda Accord as a classic car? Some eras just poor bredren. Style and aesthetics just vanished for a generation and had to be rescued by another. That's what happened with music in the 70s. It rescued us from a rock and roll period where nonsense lyrics and dance-a-jig chunes were the order of the day. The Beetles came along in the mid sixties with a completely different sound which was developed further in the 70s resulting in the best music...MUSIC...up to now! Lyrics and rhythms came together for the perfect harmony!
i do listen to music from the 80's and i would bet you that my 80's music collection is at least on par with or exceeds yours.
90's were not impressive to me but I still have some stuff from that era. not near my 80's or 70's collection though.
Originally posted by Gamma View Posti do listen to music from the 80's and i would bet you that my 80's music collection is at least on par with or exceeds yours.
90's were not impressive to me but I still have some stuff from that era. not near my 80's or 70's collection though."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)