What is the best decade in popular music?

den yuh nuh si mustang a bring back the 70's shape?

70's boss ...... 80's is when people start sample 70's music!!! 70's was also the golden era of reggae!
    If noone should break the 9.58 barrier Bolt will forever be the greatest. Since the 90s the standard has crumbled. The 80s were better than the 70s and the 90s took it to the next level.

huh?!?

first of all :If noone should break the 9.58 barrier Bolt will forever be the greatest - DUH!!!!!

second of all the 80's were NOT better than the 70's. people STILL sampling from the 70's! ike hayes, curtis mayfield, barry white, bobby womack ...

first of all :If noone should break the 9.58 barrier Bolt will forever be the greatest - DUH!!!!!

second of all the 80's were NOT better than the 70's. people STILL sampling from the 70's! ike hayes, curtis mayfield, barry white, bobby womack ...
          Thats what you're using to support your argument? Sampling? Aren't music from the 80s and the 90s sampled today?

yup AND from the 70's ... 70's neva sample from nuhbody!

Yuh certain bout that? How yuh know something from the 60s, 50s or from the 1700s wasn't sampled. If thats all yuh using to back up yuh claim, wheel and come again.

The BMW 740 was improved to the 745 then to the 750. What that tell you about the 750?

70s music was improved in the 80s then improved in the 90s. If there was no improvement after that ... what that tell yuh? People seem to be thinking about the great groups of the 70s, I more looking at the hits over the decades. The 90s may have many 1 hit wonders, but those 1 hits still have an impact today.

If one don't like the music after the 70s thats fine, but how can you judge what yuh don't listen tuh?

I certainly love the music after the 70s. I listen to it all! Indeed, I love me some 2000 dancehall music, but if wi talking about the best era or decade, it is the 70s for me.

Fine ... not knocking one's choice. From it name music I listen to it ... and for me the 90s was the best. Not saying I don't love music from the other decades but when yuh cannot do no better that means its the best.

F...but when yuh cannot do no better that means its the best.
                    Not sure what that means.

Lazie, yuh think 40 years from now we'll be looking at a 1989 Nissan Maxima and Honda Accord as a classic car? Some eras just poor bredren. Style and aesthetics just vanished for a generation and had to be rescued by another. That's what happened with music in the 70s. It rescued us from a rock and roll period where nonsense lyrics and dance-a-jig chunes were the order of the day. The Beetles came along in the mid sixties with a completely different sound which was developed further in the 70s resulting in the best music...MUSIC...up to now! Lyrics and rhythms came together for the perfect harmony!

I am surprised by your choice still. The nineties was light. Very little innovation.

Which music genre even had its genesis in the 90s?

new jack swing? really started in the 80s, but for Lazie's sake...

still not sure what exactly new jack swing is about?!?

i do listen to music from the 80's and i would bet you that my 80's music collection is at least on par with or exceeds yours.

90's were not impressive to me but I still have some stuff from that era. not near my 80's or 70's collection though.

i do listen to music from the 80's and i would bet you that my 80's music collection is at least on par with or exceeds yours.

90's were not impressive to me but I still have some stuff from that era. not near my 80's or 70's collection though.
                            Well it depends on what yuh have in yuh collection nuh true?

80's music. isn't that the category?

difficult to say definitively since there is often some overlap of quality... still, i would say the 70s was the best decade for popular music, both r&b and reggae...