What is the best decade in popular music?

den share some a it nuh!
    C&C Music Factory with Martha Wash sounding off .. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zCTBD...eature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b2PbCRgk-SE

Robin S .. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lwaxy3KCfgQ

This poll is biased Jangle. How yu fi leave out the 1890's and lock Karl out of the voting iyah? - T.K.

I am gobsmacked (hehe) at the way the voting is going. I am very surprised the the 80's decade has gotten only 2 votes. Tilla, is only me and you have sense pon this forum. Lazie yuh really disappoint me with your choice. HL, tsk, tsk, tsk. I can't wait to see Historian's choice. I can understand the dinosaurs like Mosiah, TDowl and Islandman, but Gamma, c'mon man. Ok, for the uneducated, let me take you on a journey through the 80's

The 80's were very important years in music history. Known as the "decade of excess," the 80's brought a more visual experience to music. From fireworks at concerts to MTV, the 80's made sitting next to the radio a thing of the past. Musicians became more into their image then ever before. The 60's were the natural, feel good music era. The 70's were the dance crazed disco era. By the time the 80's rolled around, people needed something new and crazy. People's hair was outrageous, and the 80's got the name, "the big hair decade" from this. Bright colors and flashy clothes were also the craze. Hair and clothes were a direct reflection of the music people listened to.
        "I WANT MY MTV!!" was the cry from thousands of teens during the 80's. MTV, otherwise known as music television, brought videos along with music to TV. MTV brought the artist closer to their fans by being in their homes and showing how they lived.

Later on during the 80's Pop music became popular. Pop was music that everyone could enjoy with its catchy beats and tunes. Michael Jackson paved the way of Pop music, and earned the name, "King of Pop." His amazing dance moves and singing ability made him one of the best known artists in the world. His albums and songs broke many music records and set Pop music as a strong force in the industry. Artists today like Nsync, Backstreet Boys, Brittney Spears, and others became popular of the same music Jackson made 10 years before. The music video brought a new style of life to people's homes. Hair and clothing were very much effected but also cars, sports, and other subjects were effected. After seeing rock stars drive American muscle cars in their videos, people went and bought Mustangs, Nova's, T-birds, and Corvette's. Even sports stars wanted a part of music.
        Here are some of the most popular songs of the 80's:

Def Leppard - "Pour Some Sugar on Me"
        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6652YIBzByk

Cyndi Lauper - "Time After Time"
        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CVS5rS_da9E

Eurythmics - "Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This)"
        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qeMFqkcPYcg

REO Speedwagon - "Can't Fight This Feeling"
        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YYoh_sV35eA

The Police - "Every Breath You Take"
        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OMOGaugKpzs

Prince & The Revolutions- "When Doves Cry"
        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iBd_s_9mqHQ (I chose this one purposely)

Michael jackson - "Thriller"
        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sOnqjkJTMaA

A-Ha - "Take On Me"
        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_EXxMlIExpo

Simple Minds - "Don't You (Forget about Me)"
        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nAdaQhitdKg

Journey - "Don't Stop Believin"
        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uDY2I5pni90

And that, folks, is just the tip of the iceberg. I have even touched R&B as yet or the other genres. Come on people, the music got better during the 80's.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I am gobsmacked (hehe) at the way the voting is going. I am very surprised the the 80's decade has gotten only 2 votes. Tilla, is only me and you have sense pon this forum. Lazie yuh really disappoint me with your choice. HL, tsk, tsk, tsk. I can't wait to see Historian's choice. I can understand the dinosaurs like Mosiah, TDowl and Islandman, but Gamma, c'mon man. Ok, for the uneducated, let me take you on a journey through the 80's

The 80's were very important years in music history. Known as the "decade of excess," the 80's brought a more visual experience to music. From fireworks at concerts to MTV, the 80's made sitting next to the radio a thing of the past. Musicians became more into their image then ever before. The 60's were the natural, feel good music era. The 70's were the dance crazed disco era. By the time the 80's rolled around, people needed something new and crazy. People's hair was outrageous, and the 80's got the name, "the big hair decade" from this. Bright colors and flashy clothes were also the craze. Hair and clothes were a direct reflection of the music people listened to.
          "I WANT MY MTV!!" was the cry from thousands of teens during the 80's. MTV, otherwise known as music television, brought videos along with music to TV. MTV brought the artist closer to their fans by being in their homes and showing how they lived.

Later on during the 80's Pop music became popular. Pop was music that everyone could enjoy with its catchy beats and tunes. Michael Jackson paved the way of Pop music, and earned the name, "King of Pop." His amazing dance moves and singing ability made him one of the best known artists in the world. His albums and songs broke many music records and set Pop music as a strong force in the industry. Artists today like Nsync, Backstreet Boys, Brittney Spears, and others became popular of the same music Jackson made 10 years before. The music video brought a new style of life to people's homes. Hair and clothing were very much effected but also cars, sports, and other subjects were effected. After seeing rock stars drive American muscle cars in their videos, people went and bought Mustangs, Nova's, T-birds, and Corvette's. Even sports stars wanted a part of music.
          Here are some of the most popular songs of the 80's:

Def Leppard - "Pour Some Sugar on Me"
          http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6652YIBzByk

Cyndi Lauper - "Time After Time"
          http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CVS5rS_da9E

Eurythmics - "Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This)"
          http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qeMFqkcPYcg

REO Speedwagon - "Can't Fight This Feeling"
          http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YYoh_sV35eA

The Police - "Every Breath You Take"
          http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OMOGaugKpzs

Prince & The Revolutions- "When Doves Cry"
          http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iBd_s_9mqHQ (I chose this one purposely)

Michael jackson - "Thriller"
          http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sOnqjkJTMaA

A-Ha - "Take On Me"
          http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_EXxMlIExpo

Simple Minds - "Don't You (Forget about Me)"
          http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nAdaQhitdKg

Journey - "Don't Stop Believin"
          http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uDY2I5pni90

And that, folks, is just the tip of the iceberg. I have even touched R&B as yet or the other genres. Come on people, the music got better during the 80's.
          Poor yuh! Even Jackson's best album, Off the Wall, is a 70's product. And when it comes to Mustangs and Corvette's, the 80s was a complete drag with the boxy crap of that era. Think Volvo and Maxima! You may have not helped your argument with that one.

MTV certainly moved music to another level, but perhaps we not so young folk appreciate having to imagine what our stars looked like. Yesterday was the first time I knew what Maxine Nightingale looked like. And I am just finding out this morning she is actually English! There might be something good about having to fantasize like that.

Don't get me wrong, the 80s had some great music too! My favorite 80s album is Graceland by a clear mile! But, Simple Minds - "Don't You (Forget about Me)"?!? Are you serious?!?! The 80s was much better than that!!

Every era has good stuff. Alicia Keys will rule the 21st century for a while and she would have been great if she played a harp back in the day.

Jangle, this piece(the writeup, not the music) is more of a knock against 80s music than an endorsement.

We talking about MUSIC or we talking about ENTERTAINMENT? MTV and music videos were a great addition to entertainment but it took the emphasis away from great music and musicians and focused it more towards appearance (hairstyles, cloothes, dancing).

Aretha for example would probably have had to stick with gospel of she had come around in the 80s.

I threw in some of those songs to emphasize the term "pop". Some of these may not be OUR cup of tea, but then, most of us were not buying albums then. White kids have always been the ones buying music which propelled these songs up the charts - NATIONALLY and INTERNATIONALLY. My preference is more R & B stuff, but I did say "popular" songs.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Aretha did have a couple of hits in the 80's

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xuuay...eature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ip_pjb5_fgA

Jangle, forget about yuh favourite singers .... the 90s many have had many of whom that maybe considered one hit wonders, but the hits of the 90s make the 90s the best.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IwtAGWWC9y4

90s hits ...http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UHiff...eature=related

One of the BIGGEST hits ever .. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HGC003Xz3CY

Wha unuh know bout Lonnie Gordon? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p0buv...eature=related

As mi say, 80s Disco was full of hits, but the 90s was the final frontier. Guh check how many hits Janet had in the 90s, how many Madonna had, Boyz II Men, House of Pain?

Get serious bredren.
                    Last edited by Lazie; April 21, 2010, 11:26 AM.

80,s - 90's a di wickedes an nicesess time inna chune businees easy.

pick one and vote

dem not convinced das why dem cyaan vote

Wi should'n eben need a poll fi dat, kah dah era deh pick itself widout eben try.

den yuh nuh si mustang a bring back the 70's shape?

70's boss ...... 80's is when people start sample 70's music!!! 70's was also the golden era of reggae!