What is the best decade in popular music?

• What is the best decade in popular music?

Now I know there are many Father Times here on the forum, and many span over 4 decades, however, before you jump into this debate, I want you think about your response and support your points with a few Youtube videos. I am going to limit the time era to the 1960's to 2009. Of course we all agree that the standard of music has changed over the years, and I don't expect the 2000 decade to get much votes, but I wanted to prevent Mosiah and Karl to start naming freedom songs from their time and give people like Lionpaw a chance to participate. I am also EXCLUDING popular Jamaican music - we have been down that road before.

So here goes. For me, I can appreciate music from the 60's, but my musical appreciation really started in the 70's. However, I believe that the 80's was the greatest decade in music across all genres. I will giving my supporting evidence later.
    1960's
    7.14%
    1970's
    64.29%
    1980's
    21.43%
    1990's
    7.14%
    2000's
    0.00%

The poll is expired.

Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I am an 80s man too and thats where my musical heart is, but bwoy the 70s produced some great music across all the genres that I listen to. It neck and neck but I gave the 70s my vote (I am reconsidering already though).

BTW anybody saw the Stacie Lattisaw feature on Unsung recently? That likkle girl coulda sing back in the day.

I just spoke about it.
      the little girl was good

Lazie I am shocked at your choice???!!!
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=apFm6hKnBWw

zas crise, gamma! give lionpaw dem a chance nuh man!!!

cho rahtid man!

ok, since wi plan fi slew dem - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=etITOxv9x4w

The 70s...Donna Summer, Rod Stewart, Commodores, Teddy Pendergrass, Stevie Wonder, Bee Gees, KC and the Sunshine Band.

Wicked Pickett in Ghana: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J-t_X...eature=related

Lazie I am shocked at your choice???!!!
                  No dis to the other eras, however, think about it ...

support your claim man.

Personally I think the best time in Music span two decade 1976 to 1985

yuh just had to be difficult. choose one!

bwoy it hard. Cause the grand decade start with the chilites etc and end with Boy George and freaky Rick James etc.

Oh Yea: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hh20I...eature=related

support your claim man.
                              The 80s disco was it, but the 90s dance music took it to the FINAL frontier.

The 90s gave you hits from Madonna, Robin S, C&C Music Factory. Of course my choice isn't popular as the masses gonna go for music of prehistoric time.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DNFRuP4zHlE.