St Lucia Bans Vybz Kartel |
Originally posted by Gamma View Postcan he go there as a tourist on a tourist visa if he decides to take a holiday there?
The answer anyway is a 100% certain "Yes". Firstly he doesn't need a visa to go to St. Lucia (no Jamaican does). He can still go there on vacation and whistle and sing a capella whilst walking down the street if he wanted. What he can't do is perform at that specific event (the article makes it quite implicit that should he apply to stage an event in the future then that would be reviewed as an entirely different case - who knows, maybe if his songs change they might endorse it).
them trick we? How you need a work permit fi work inna your own country? If you a Caricom citizen shouldn't you be able to work in it?- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View Postthem trick we? How you need a work permit fi work inna your own country? If you a Caricom citizen shouldn't you be able to work in it?
No, that's because Caricom is still an association of sovereign states (just as most Jamaicans including Seaga and many current politicians from both parties wish it to be). Remember the hulabaloo over the single domestic space and the single visa by the hoteliers out here? I was amazed that the hoteliers didn't try to the turn the situation to their advantage so as to encourage visitors who may normally prefer going to Barbados and Antigua to make use of the visa and take in Jamaica as well. It was also surprising that they didn't just advocate for a minimalist visa regime which would see the visa only being applied to nationals which would require visas to visit all the Caricom states anyway (such as...Belarusians, Romanians and Chinese I think) and then for nationals who may require visas for some Caricom states but not others institute something like the Schengen visa and allow them to either apply for a Caricom visa specific to a single country or maybe a few countries or to apply for a Caricom-wide visa.
In any case Kartel can still work in St. Lucia, just not at that show. If he wanted to produce music instead of sing it over there he would be entirely free to do so. It's the same thing with the show that was cancelled in Bim. Movado et al could work in Bim and produce music if they wanted, but public events such as marches, stage shows, etc usually require some form of government approval (especially if they are going to require government resources such as policemen). What Bim and St. Lucia did could easily be replicated in Jamaica, all the government would have to do is refuse permission for Kartel or Movado to hold a stage show on grounds of security. However Jamaica has a laissez-faire attitude to a lot of things which is why for so long buses and radio stations could play music that went beyond being "edgy" and why Sting could happen year after year despite some years being more noted for bottle-throwing and violence than the actual performances. Sting is an example of a show that could have been refused permission to be staged long ago and the effect would be the same as what has happened in Barbados or St. Lucia.
By the way, I seem to remember a story about some show being denied permission to be staged out west (in Negril I think) and the promoter (or performer) concerned alluded to the denial being related to some grudge against him held by a ranking policeman in the town. Does anyone else remember this? I think it was this year.
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostI thought it was somewhere in the corporate area. The police said they had some intelligence that there was going to be violence and cancelled Mavado's (?) show.
So if Movado has had a showed cancelled in the corporate area due to police fears for security then that means Movado has already been 'banned' in Jamaica as he was in Barbados! And probably 'banned' before he was banned in Bim at that!
Hey, who was the artiste whose Havendale studio was shut down recently? Was it one of those who were denied permission to stage concerts recently in Barbados or St. Lucia? Wasn't it Kartel? If so could it be that reports of....umm...."well armed men/friends" being at the studio might have swayed opinion against granting them permission?