• Little-White mugged

Little-White mugged

Published: Monday | April 19, 2010 0 Comments and 0 Reactions

Little-White

Nedburn Thaffe, Gleaner Writer
    Frustration now hangs over the head of popular nutritionist and Gleaner columnist Heather Little-White, who was robbed of an undisclosed sum of money while conducting business on the weekend.

"Sometimes you feel, 'Why even bother with Jamaica?'" Little-White told The Gleaner yesterday afternoon. "The monster of crime has overrun most of the good we have come to know about Jamaica."

She said after having withdrawn money from a bank in the Corporate Area on Saturday, she was attacked at Jo-Jo's, a popular grocery shop and jerk pit on Waterloo Road, St Andrew.

"No sooner had I stopped ... I felt a neckhold and a pull on my arm to release the handbag," she said, noting that the culprit then sped off on a motorbike, taking her handbag with the cash. Documents including her passport were also stolen.

The matter was later reported to the police, who she said arrived on the scene some 15 minutes later.

While highlighting that the crime and violence had got way out of control, Little-White said it was time for Jamaicans to fight back.

"We have to stand up and find a way to kill this scourge of violence that is plaguing our country," she said, adding that "through prayer and right action" Jamaicans should come together and reclaim the country.

She said her experience as a victim of violence has spurred her to embark on a campaign, 'Jamaicans United Against Crime'.

Saturday's attack is just one in a series of horrific encounters Little-White has faced in the last 14 years. In 1996, she was carjacked and shot by her assailants. The attack has since rendered her paralysed.

Two years ago, her home was also broken into and valuables stolen.

Bwoy - Heather really salt. Thank God she wasn't physically hurt.

yuh mean no ADDITIONAL physical harm...after all she is paralyzed!

as for the trauma i cannot begin to even contemplate what that must be like for her...

These thugs have no conscience robbing a person who is paralyzed.

And that is why all praises must be gven to Peter Phillips who refuses to backdown off the most important issue affecting Jamaican society, and politics, for decades!

It is time we the public fight back, but it is full time the govt lead the fight, starting with the minister of national security and the prime minister. But instead of that, we have the Extradition crisis.

Jamaicans United Against Crime - good idea? Would like to see what she really has in mind. Cause it can't continue like this. Maybe we can get some ideas from that Mandeville group that formed a few months ago.

sigh!

And that is why all praises must be gven to Peter Phillips who refuses to backdown off the most important issue affecting Jamaican society, and politics, for decades!

It is time we the public fight back, but it is full time the govt lead the fight, starting with the minister of national security and the prime minister. But instead of that, we have the Extradition crisis.

Jamaicans United Against Crime - good idea? Would like to see what she really has in mind. Cause it can't continue like this. Maybe we can get some ideas from that Mandeville group that formed a few months ago.

sigh!
            Prasie to Peter Phillips, Mo ? come on !!!
            this scourge did not exist while he was in charge too ? what was he doing to kill it ?
            Now that he is " on the outside" we must give him praise ? these ppl talk and talk when they in the safe zone i.e being the OPPOSITION. When they get the chance to make an impact, they ALL become lame ducks, and we , the Jamaican populace suffer the consequences.

Okay! Let's not. Instead, let's keep up the tribalism. If Bruce say it illegal, den it illegal. And all is well!

Carry on!

WHAT?!!!! "all praises"

the former minister of national security?!!! yuh sick!

WHAT?!!!! "all praises"

the former minister of national security?!!! yuh sick!
                  Maybe Mass Mo - just having a senior moment

Yes, the former MONS who put away the other big don and did more than any other in recent memory to address some serious crime issues.

But hey, let's just retreat into our tribal camps, behind our burglar bars!

funny stuff, huh?

is that the only option? all praise to peter phillips or tribalism? yuh mad to ****************!!!

"all praise to peter phillips" .... mi cya'an believe whey mi a si to rahtid!

is di "all" get under yuh skin?

let me rephrase - phillips should be "bigged up" for keeping the issue on the front burner where it should be, and for pushing the govt to clear up this Bradygate mess.

dat better?

I had to read that paragraph twice to see if my eyes were playing games this morning.

and why should we not support Phillips on this?